We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Princes Gate Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Princes Gate Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

690 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 662: English reviews
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is clean with a very welcoming staff. We did have a very spacious room as it was one of the estate rooms. The location is fantastic. Close to the bus, good restaurants, the spa and easy walking. But..... it's old and out dated. It has lost it's quaintness.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn R
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We turned up without a place to stay in Rotorua and booked 2 nights in mid December. It's not something we usually do (usually book online prior to arrival) and I discovered afterwards that i'd paid considerably more. That aside, we thought the hotel was lovely and made a nice change to everywhere else. The building is full of character...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clivenz84
Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is nicely located next to the old part of the city so great for walking around the park and to the museum (now closed due to earthquake damage) and easy to walk to the shops and to the Tamaki maori experience. Rooms clean, spacious, with good kitchenette and wifi. The in hotel hot pools are a bonus. Although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
Reviewed 1 week ago

I love this hotel. I find absolutely that it is heritage and luxury combined. We have stayed in an Estate Room before (perfect!) and this time around we opted for a Designer Room (again, just exquisite). I would suggest booking through a website such as booking.com or likewise as discounted room rates are great value and easy to find. If...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a gracious old hotel, which is getting a make-over from its new owner (or so we were told), but i'd booked a suite (and paid the higher price) but it wasn't really any better than a standard hotel room. Air con had been installed but not wired in yet so we couldn't use it. They advertise happy hour...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
Champlain, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This lovely old and atmospheric building promised far more than it could deliver. Our room was nicely decorated, but the t.v. didn't work, there was no ventilation (we were told to keep windows shut) and the poorly trained staff shouted as they clomped along the squeaking corridors with baggage late at night. Sauna was dangerously hot--had to use a towel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harvey M
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I might have rated this hotel more highly but for one concern - more later. The motto of this hotel is "A hotel so good they built a city around it" and is certainly is in a very grand, colonial style. The location is close to the main drag, is immediately adjacent to the Government Gardens and only a short...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bligey
Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bit of a disappointment this. I was looking forward to a combination of heritage with a touch of luxury. The heritage element is certainly there and I was willing to forgive the fact the greeting at reception was complicated by renovation work underway. I was told a recent change of ownership meant improvements were being made. Well, I hope they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dc8-63
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I hate to complain but!! Pease note this review is not for the hotel itself. We booked in for the dinner and show which we have been to before for New Years Eve. We turned up at the Princess Gate Hotel but were told it was being held in a room around the corner. Other people were dissapointed too, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kris R
Phila987, General Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kris R Thank you for your review. I acknowledge your comment regarding the change of venue and accept full responsibility for this. The Monarch Ballroom is an historic building with acoustics that the professional singers and musicians we employ, advise are far superior to our hotel restaurant rooms. However future dinner shows will revert back to the Hotel Dinner...

Middles
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped here for 3 nights on our honeymoon we checked in the staff showed us the reception, bar and restaurant which were beautiful, we got given our room key (room 5 Eaton Suite) when we walked in the room my first thought was this is cute sort of a vintage English feel, that soon changed we notice that the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kcstar86
Phila987, General Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kcstar86 Thank you for your review and I apologise for the faulty door to your room and lack of airconditioning. The new owner and management of this hotel are committed to a significant upgrade of rooms and facilities, and new airconditioning units are top priority and currently being installed. Also being actioned is new carpet, beds, furniture, and an...

260 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (205)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.5 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
622 reviews
0.6 km away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.5 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.6 km away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#26 of 93 in Rotorua
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Princes Gate Hotel

Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: €74 - €182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Princes Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Princes Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Princes Gate Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Princes Gate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The estate rooms are quiet”
 of 5 bubbles LynnR18, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are rooms in the old style hotel and rooms off to the side so if you want the olde worlde experience, be careful where you book.”
 of 5 bubbles 986karenl, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Check their website to find out which rooms are in the historic part of the hotel :)”
 of 5 bubbles , 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The suites have kitchenettes so you can be self-sufficient.”
 of 5 bubbles Bligey, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Check the air con has been installed if you like cool in summer.”
 of 5 bubbles dc8-63, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay