We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all 91 hotels in Rotorua

Princes Gate Hotel

849 reviews
Save
Traveller (283)
Room & Suite (210)
Dining (69)
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good29%
  • Average18%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“historic hotel”(25 reviews)
“hot pools”(49 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Heated pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
4.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (849)Write a Review
Filter reviews
806 results
Traveller rating
309
236
145
66
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
309
236
145
66
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelgovernment gardenshot poolsrotorua museummain buildingsmall roomnew zealandpolynesian spacentral locationeat streetcabaretsuiteyesteryearrudichandeliersfireplacefurnishings
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 806 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel and enjoyed it.We had a one bedroom appt in the annexe. It was old but decently maintained and clean. Bed comfortable but a little too jumpy !!! The restaurant was decent and the staff helpful.

Thank Maryse K
Reviewed 6 days ago

Please don't fall for the glossy images on their brochure and website . Even the narrative is deceptive......." every room is a blend of timeless elegance with modern luxury and are individually decorated " . Unfortunately i fell for this snake oil sales pitch ,booked...More

1  Thank GeeDaddy
Response from Phila987, General Manager at Princes Gate HotelResponded 4 days ago

Dear GeeDaddy Thank you for your review and we are saddened that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Both the owner and management are committed to upgrading all rooms and facilities at the hotel, and the apartment you stayed in is being upgraded...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked for 3 nights and we did not dissapointed!! It is a beautiful traditional building with such a character!! The rooms are nice and full of amenities. The breakfast a la carte is exceptional !!More

Thank Ioanna A
Response from Phila987, General Manager at Princes Gate HotelResponded 5 days ago

Dear Ioanna A Thank you for staying with us and for your review and kind comments - greatly appreciated. We are working hard to refurbish all rooms and improve guest facilities further, enhancing the historical nature of this wonderful property where possible. Safe travels and...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved this hotel our 2 bedroom apartment was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Tastefully decorated and ideally placed. Staff were very friendly and breakfast was great. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Thank scout66
Response from Phila987, General Manager at Princes Gate HotelResponded 5 days ago

Dear Scout66. Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review - much appreciated. I hope you enjoyed Rotorua and some of the wonderful activities available to see and experience. Kind regards Phil

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a hotel of varied standards To start with it looks a bit down at heel and presents itself as faded grandeur However our suite was comfortable although the bedroom was a bit small. Much to our surprise we had an excellent dinner in...More

Thank BathUKMan
Response from Phila987, General Manager at Princes Gate HotelResponded 1 week ago

Dear BathUKMan Thank you for staying with us and for your review - greatly appreciated. Since the hotel changed ownership and management late April 2016, we have undertaken a significant refurbishment programme that has included refurbishment of the main guest lounge, new carpet and dining...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
123456162
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Conference Facilities
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Minibar
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Heated pool
Outdoor pool
Hot Tub
Details
Price range
US$112 - US$278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#10 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$112 - US$278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#10 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (283)
Room & Suite (210)
Dining (69)
Pool & Beach (14)
Hotel & Grounds (232)
Bathroom (19)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (8)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
PennyW
11 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Phila987 | Property representative |
Hi Penny yes hairdryer in every room Kind regards Phil
1
Vote
teeteeSanJose
18 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Phila987 | Property representative |
Dear teeteeSan thank you for your question. The review you read occured at the time we took over the management of the Princes Gate Hotel back in April 2016. A professional pest control company fixed the problem and also... More
1
Vote
Ruth F
21 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Phil A | Property representative |
Dear Ruth Thank you for your message. I am unable to put a link in this feedback due to Tripadvisor guidelines. You can find contact details on our website however I am unable to post that here. It is easy to find online... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"stay elsewhere"
Read review
"Lovely 2 bedroom apartment in a quiet courtyard."
Read review
"Ask for a room with access to the balcony overlooking the street but note these rooms are upstairs."
Read review
"Rooms accesed from verandah"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite