We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Showing 240: English reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

Well located, great service at the reception, cheap wifi. We booked a log cabin and it was really lovely. Really clean, well furnished and cozy. The pool and the hot pools were really dirty, it was seriously discusting. Hairs, dead bugs and other stuff in the water. It was really disappointing for that.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maude2405
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your response and we appreciate the feedback. It's lovely to hear the positive review on your accommodation - sorry to hear you found the hot pools dirty. We try very hard to maintain these at all times, I will pass this review on to our maintenance staff.

Brisbane
Reviewed 19 February 2016

We booked a cabin here with an ensuite. The room was fine but the cooking facilities were very ordinary. We expected plates, cooking utensils and frypans and saucepans. No, we were told we were expected to bring our own - all the way from Australia. We ended up being able to buy plates, saucepans etc in the local 2nd hand...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vikki M
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your response we certainly appreciate the feedback. I am sorry you felt the cooking facilities were less than adequate, we are in the process of upgrading our Holiday Park and will endeavour to ensure our guests are aware of what our rooms contain in the future.

Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

My family had booked a large cabin for 2 nights. We had no sleep due to terrible beds, trucks thundering past making the cabin actually shake and cleaning staff chatting loudly to each other at 7 am on a Sunday. Staff was uninterested and unhelpful. Left after 1 night, we did get our money back for the second night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we appreciate the feedback. At present our Holiday Park is under an extensive upgrade and the cabins you are referring to will no longer be available for booking. I am pleased to see that you received a refund and our staff were understanding. Apologies for the cleaning staff making loud conversation, we have reminded them...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed there for two nights and we were happy to leave at the end. Looks a bit dodgy and creepy. Bathroom and kitchen area were good. Pool was so dirty and staff weren't friendly. Would go elsewhere next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we appreciate the response - I am sorry your review was less than satisfactory. We are presently in the process of undertaking a massive upgrade over the upcoming months here at the Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park. Unfortunately, from time to time due to the thermal activity here in Rotorua we suffer minor issues with our...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 February 2016

The location is a short distance out of the main township of Rotorua. The thermal pools were a very pleasant experience. The swimming pool on the other hand did not look very welcoming due to its colour. The playground for the children seemed lacking compared with the photographs on the website. The rooms all appeared a lot larger in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bridget W
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your response and we appreciate the feedback. Our Holiday Park is having a massive upgrade over the coming months and we hope these issues will be rectified. From time to time we suffer problems with the thermal activity which can interfere with our large swimming pool as it appears in the case - apologies for this. Wifi...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 February 2016

Stayed in a 'kitchen unit'. No fridge which you might expect in a 'kitchen' place. Not wonderful, paint falling off walls, crockery and cutlery pretty ordinary. Big gap on top of door through which mosquitoes came! However I realise you 'get what you pay for' and another time I would book earlier and pay more for a better unit. But...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Altrusa
Rotorua T, Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thanks for your response, we are currently undergoing upgrades and are taking these cabins offline shortly. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 February 2016

Our extended family had booked various units and cabin for a family reunion. The website showed nice cabins, café and swimming pool. What we got was dirty cabins, filthy floors, no café, no swimming pool (excuse was that it had rained - note to motel, it rains in New Zealand!). Worst of all was the incredibly nauseating stink of rotting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZeddForZulu
Rotorua T, Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we really appreciate it, I am sorry that we didn't meet your expectations for your stay. I will investigate this further and thank you again for taking the time to let us know of your issues.

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 7 February 2016

Stayed in a cabin which had more than enough room! The communal kitchen area as well as the laundry room were prime! Would recommend this place for your base while visiting Rotorua for a few days! You definitely need a car while traveling here though as its just a few minutes out of the city center

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Camypoo
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank your for your response and we appreciate the lovely positive feedback - our Holiday Park is up for a massive upgrade over the coming months which will be very exciting to be a part of. We look forward to seeing you back one day.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 January 2016

We stayed for 5 nights. This park really is a transient campground. There are people driving around at 1am in the morning setting up camp. Sadly everyone around us only really stayed 1 or 2 nights. The facilities are clean, I didn't see any staff other than the cleaners. We stayed in a Standard Log Cabin and it was great....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lstill1970
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your response and I am sorry you felt disappointed with your stay. Our Holiday Park is having a massive upgrade over the coming months which will see a barrier arm introduced as well as numerous facility changes.

Reviewed 24 January 2016

Close to the Te Puia National Park we found this nice and quiet campground. We stayed here only one night. The amineties building was all very clean. Wifi you need to buy but worked well. There are 2 hot pools and a normal pool which the children really liked. The hot pools are warm but in-between brick walls which we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia v
Rotorua T, Front Office Manager at Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your response and appreciate the positive feedback. Look out in future for our park facilities which will be upgraded over the coming months which will be very exciting times for us here.

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
7.6 km away
All Seasons Holiday Park Rotorua
3.1 km away
Rotorua Top 10 Holiday Park
4.3 km away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Blue Lake TOP 10 Holiday Park & Motel
10.7 km away
Waiteti Trout Stream Holiday Park
3.4 km away
The Backyard Inn
The Backyard Inn
#49 of 56 in Rotorua
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A visit to Rotorua is not complete without visiting Rotorua's renowned Thermal Holiday park Rotorua's closest Holiday Park to Thermal activity, world-class level Whakarewarewa Mountain bike park. With free geothermal pools onsite to relax in at the end of the day. A heated outdoor pool and some fantastic walks through the tree-trust behind us, you won't be short of things to do. As well as being one of New Zealand's Tourism hubs for cultural and Geothermal attractions and activities. A great place to stay, with all types of accommodation including tent sites & powered caravan/motorhome sites, studio cabins, log cabins, ensuite cabins, tourist flats and superb self contained 2 bedroom motel units. Surrounded by Protected Native trees Rotorua Thermal Holiday park is the ideal place to stay. The Holiday park has a bike wash, wifi (fee), pools, a kids mtbk track, playground and an onsite sports masseuse (by appointment only). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park

Address: 463 Old Taupo Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: €46 - €175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park Hotel Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Brisbane, Australia

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rotorua Thermal Holiday Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The cabins were rustic and beautriful”
 of 5 bubbles suzannemX1297TM, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We love our log cabin but haven't stayed before so cant offer a comparrison on others.”
  • Basic but clean and character filled. Lovely deck out the front.
 of 5 bubbles cazbar62, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Check that your unit has its own bathroom facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles RossG149, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sign up with kiwi holidays VIP card before booking, get 10& off at booking if you do frequent kiwi holiday parks”
 of 5 bubbles JJnzNz, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Smell it first, and try sitting on the beds.”
 of 5 bubbles NeedGoodCoffee, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5