We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cedarwood Lakeside

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cedarwood Lakeside
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 223: English reviews
Start your review of Cedarwood Lakeside
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our wee family (2 kids age 1 & 3) really enjoyed our time at Cedarwood lakeside. The accommodation was compact but clean, beds were comfortable and the kitchen had everything we needed. Staff were incredibly welcoming, friendly and helpful. We LOVED being able to see the lake from our room and walk the 1min to the water for a paddle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johanna S
Rose and Leon H, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review

Hi Johanna S, Thank you for sharing your experience of Cedarwood Lakeside after your recent stay with us! We are pleased that you found our units to be clean with everything you need. thank you for recommending Cedarwood to other travellers and we look forward to seeing you back here on your next travels to Rotorua. Best Wishes Leon

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Place was very clean and well maintained. Peaceful location. Beds were comfy which is a huge plus! Staff were really helpful, even sorting us some paper for my daughter's homework! We were made to feel very welcome :-) Kids really enjoyed it, they used the pool, spa, playground, climbed trees and enjoyed the lake, making things really relaxing for us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ey5
Rose and Leon H, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review

Hi EY5, Thank you for sharing your experience of Cedarwood Lakeside after your recent stay with us! We are pleased that you found our units to be clean with everything you need. thank you for recommending Cedarwood to other travellers and we look forward to seeing you back here on your next travels to Rotorua. Best Wishes Leon

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have stayed here several times, and have never had any complaints. It's a great location, right by the lake, very peaceful, and handy for the airport, and only about a 5 minute drive into town. Owners and staff are friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and comfortable, and range from studio type to 2 bedroomed units, all set round...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brighteyes2013
Rose and Leon H, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review

Hi brighteyes2013, Thank you for sharing your experience of Cedarwood Lakeside after your recent stay with us! We are pleased that you found our units to be clean with everything you need. Yes, we are lucky to have great views from the property across Lake Rotorua. We are glad that there was nothing you didn't like! Lastly, thank you for...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I stayed at Cedarwood for our weekend getaway, we enjoyed our stay here very much! The room has everything you need, everything was tidy and neat. The service was great, specially for the manager, they were so helpful and friendly. I highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pecky W
Rose and Leon H, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review

Hi Pecky W, Thank you for sharing your experience of Cedarwood Lakeside after your recent stay with us! Thank you for recommending Cedarwood to other travellers and we look forward to seeing you back here on your next travels to Rotorua. Best Wishes Leon

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped for two nights at cedarwood and loved it! We could have easily spent a week here if time had allowed! The accomadation was spotless, beautiful, clean, Well furnished and a full working kitchen! Most of all it was peaceful and a Beautiful setting far enough away from the main tourist area but close enough to still be able...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Woodyrach2001
Rose and Leon H, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review

Hi Woodyrach, Thank you for sharing your experience of Cedarwood Lakeside after your recent stay with us! We are pleased that you found our units to be clean with everything you need. Yes, we are lucky to have great views from the property across Lake Rotorua. We are glad that there was nothing you didn't like! Lastly, thank you for...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It has to be said that anyone who complains about the stay at Lakeside is being unrealistic or ridiculous. The hotel is 10-15 minutes drive outside of main street Rotorua. The setting is right on the lake so it's peaceful and lovely setting. The manager is a nice guy, helpful and when we couldn't work out how to work to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheKiwiHasLanded
Rose and Leon H, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review

Hi TheKiwiHasLanded, Thank you for sharing your experience of Cedarwood Lakeside after your recent stay with us! We are pleased that you found our units has everything you need. Yes, we are lucky to have great views from the property across Lake Rotorua. We are glad that there was nothing you didn't like! Lastly, thank you for recommending Cedarwood to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spacious, clean and well equipped lodge style accommodation. Beds made and towels changed daily. Lots of room for a family and more than enough for a couple. Good bathroom and shower, basic but sufficiently equipped kitchenette and comfortable beds. Lovely veranda to sit and look out at the lake. Lovely service and hospitality from the reception staff. An ideal location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TimmyFK
Rose and Leon H, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review

Hi Timmy, Thank you for sharing your experience of Cedarwood Lakeside after your recent stay with us! We are pleased that you found our units to be clean with everything you need. thank you for recommending Cedarwood to other travellers and we look forward to seeing you back here on your next travels to Rotorua. Best Wishes Leon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful location, at the side of the lake, very quiet. Perfect to spend a couple of days to do discovery trips around. Comfortable room, with nice bathroom, small kitchen, etc I would recommend for a couple, group of friends, families, etc. It's required to have a car as it is far from rotorua city, that is, by the way, not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Salva A
Rose and Leon H, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review

Hi Salva A, Thank you for sharing your experience of Cedarwood Lakeside after your recent stay with us! Thank you for recommending Cedarwood to other travellers and we look forward to seeing you back here on your next travels to Rotorua. Best Wishes Leon

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Motel I guess you would call them are very comfortable and extremely clean. Staff truly made us feel welcome and were lucky to score the last unit facing the lake so the views were perfect. Having said that, you won't be disappointed with any accommodations as the lake is pretty well visible from all I would imagine. The Units...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alicenihaoma
Rose and Leon H, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review

Hi Alicenihaoma, Thank you for sharing your experience of Cedarwood Lakeside after your recent stay with us! We are pleased that you found our units to be clean with everything you need. Yes, we are lucky to have great views from the property across Lake Rotorua. We are glad that there was nothing you didn't like! Lastly, thank you for...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Located directly on Rotorua lakeside this property has a great relaxed feel about it. It is less than a 10 minute drive into town. The staff were incredibly helpful and efficient at check in. Separate towels are provided at no extra cost for the pool and hot tub on site. The apartment we had was number 10 which was second...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
Rose and Leon H, Owner at Cedarwood Lakeside, responded to this review

Hi Liz, Thank you for sharing your experience of Cedarwood Lakeside after your recent stay with us! We are pleased that you enjoyed everything here and we look forward to seeing you back here on your next travels to Rotorua. Best Wishes Leon

167 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (63)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
5.4 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
4.7 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
660 reviews
4.4 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
0.3 km away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
5.3 km away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#11 of 93 in Rotorua
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Quiet, tranquil lakefront accommodation and conference venue on the shores of Lake Rotorua, Cedarwood Lakeside is one of the most relaxing motels in Rotorua, and is your gateway to the very best of Rotorua's world-renowned tourist attractions and adventure activities.We are located within easy driving distance of Rotorua City Centre which is approximately 8 minutes away or 2 minutes drive to the Regional Airport, the gateway to Central Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cedarwood Lakeside

Address: 17 Holden Avenue | Holdens Bay, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: €86 - €164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedarwood Lakeside 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Cedarwood Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#9 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#14 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cedarwood Lakeside staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Cambridge, New Zealand
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cedarwood Lakeside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views, Peaceful, Quiet, Fantastic.”
 of 5 bubbles alicenihaoma, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best views are at the rooms closest to the lake”
 of 5 bubbles rah26, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms closest the lake have best views but all look great”
 of 5 bubbles jerryskc, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Any room would be good”
 of 5 bubbles caw83, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a lakeside unit”
 of 5 bubbles buds_nz, 25 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5