We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bounty Motel

Show Prices
#15 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Bounty Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

169 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 162: English reviews
Yellowknife, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Stayed here four nights and loved it. One block off the beach and a short walk to the main drag, close to everything yet just far enough to enjoy the quiet at night - I swear I heard tree frogs one night. I was in the one-storey section of the motel - big room, comfy king bed and seating area....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen047047
Vina del Mar, Chile
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We chose this motel as one of the cheapest available, but it didn't feel cheap, and our experience didn't correlate with some of the negative reviews re cleanliness. I must admit I found the creaking Lockwood building sounds really strange even though I'd read about them previously, and Paul put us in the picture when we arrived ... weird! Bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zizzles
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 5 nights here. We knew it was a budget motel but for over $1200 for 5 nghts we expected a little more. The location was fabulous, no complaints there. Free WIFI. The owner was very obliging. The cleanliness - not so great. Staff were friendly but we did have to ask for basics such as clean towels and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christine l
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments and review.I am sorry you were not happy with the service etc. However in your five day stay nothing was mentioned to me about certain aspects of the unit.I accept that the cleaning staff were a bit remiss on replenish supplies.With a shortage of staff and full houses its been a trying time.So we apologize for...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the second time I have stayed at Bounty Motel and both times have been great. Definitely value for money and located in a very convenient spot in terms of Paihia township and various swimming spots. Clean rooms, great staff (especially Paul the Manager!!). I will definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
springfield9, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Yes thanks for the review,much appreciated.Glad I made you stay pleasurable. All the best Paul

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Central location close to restaurants. Clean and tidy rooms. Lovely gardens and friendly staff. The free Wi-Fi is always a bonus. Will defnitely stay there again. Took family from South Africa to The Bay of Plenty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elise O
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thanks Elise for the kind comments.It was great to have your family stay. All the best Paul

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My family was stayed there for one night two rooms were booked , one was budgeted family, the other was king studio . My room was king one . Budget one had BBQ facilities. Due to no gas bottle providing so we unable to cook all our food at outdoor . (It doesn't mentioned on advertising) forcing us to cook...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cozzi W
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments.Yes on checking the unit on your departure it was a shambles not only with deep frying that had been done and grease and fat was all over the place (including light fittings)plus rice cooking.It took a good 2 hours to clean the apartment,and YES we had to send all the blankets to the laundry to be...

Kandy, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a nice motel, nothing special really, though the service was superb. Paul, the manager, was super helpful, offered a croissant for breakfast before we had even finalised our stay, and offered an afternoon beer as we arrived. Certainly worth the stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thanks Rob appreciate the comments.It was a pleasure to have you. All the best Paul

Hervey Bay, Australia
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Right in the heart of Paihia and one block from the beach, this friendly, smart motel is a great choice for a relaxing holiday. The manager Paul kindly allowed us to book extra nights at short notice and even gave us an upgrade to a first floor unit with a view.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank penhen33
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Great to have nice comments.Glad you had a great stay and look forward to seeing you and family again sometime. Paul

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Within two hours of arriving at this motel we received a call from the very angry manager accusing my husband of backing our boat into a ladies pot plant and destroying the contents. Went to see manger and then lady who owned the pot plant and she explained that the manager had told her it was DEFINATELY our boat and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MARIE F
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments.When I contacted you said you had a boat and as it was the only boat here at the time I presumed it was you husbands. There seemed to be some miss understanding and I apologised and I said it was a ladies plants on the premises attached to the garden and you seemed in your...

Wasilla, Alaska
Reviewed 22 November 2016

As much as I liked the owner and manager, I hate that I have to give the property such a low rating. I ignored other reviews that mentioned the cracking sounds of the building in the morning and evening. The first night I had to pull out the earplugs, but by the second night, I started getting used to it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank inluvwithAK
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review.Yes we did fix the latch as soon as you reported it.As to the reference to the cracking it was due to very high winds we were experiencing at the time. The contruction of the building (Lockwood design) is such that any condition it can stand the rigours of any weather or storm conditions.So its totally unique...

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.1 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.4 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.9 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
568 reviews
2.6 km away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
896 reviews
0.3 km away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bounty is a Kiwi owned and operated property, located in a quiet suburb approx 100 meters from the Paihia Beach, shops and restaurants. It is a 3 minute walk to the wharf for dolphin watching, fishing trips, sightseeing and ferry to Russell. Tours to 90 mile beach and Cape Reinga pick you up at the motel entrance.We have a conference area for small groups up to 60 with catering facilities and kitchen. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bounty Motel

Address: 42 Selwyn Rd | PO Box 170, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Paihia Central Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range: €64 - €146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bounty Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Bounty Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bounty Hotel Paihia
Bounty Motel Paihia, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#19 Family Hotel in Paihia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bounty Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
over a year ago
Paihia, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bounty Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 27 has a view.”
  • Inside unit 27
  • Interior.
 of 5 bubbles penhen33, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“From motel 23 we looked out to stairs both front and back leading to upstairs so not the most private and made unit dark.”
 of 5 bubbles marief74, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I assume higher units have views. No view in our studio at ground level, but very quiet with easy access to vehicle.”
 of 5 bubbles JohnandKayleneB, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Maybe bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. We could hear every steps of the people above.”
 of 5 bubbles P5896LGbarbarag, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had a superior room which was on the front of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles gerryshut, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay