We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bounty Motel

Booking.comUS$67*
View Deal
#13 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Bounty Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 181: English reviews
Start your review of Bounty Motel
 Click to rate
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for five nights over the Easter holidays. Great location, and perfect base to explore Far North. The rooms can be a bit noisy depending on neighbours, but overall a great stay and friendly hosts.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SamDF_nz
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 3 nights at the Bounty Motel in March 2017. The room was a good size and the bed was comfortable. The microwave, mini fridg and tea bags were nice. Yes, there was this odd noise from the structure of the building. But having read reviews, it was not a problem to worry about. The manager helped us to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janaroonie
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review.It was a pleasure to have you stay. All the best and hope to see you again sometime. Paul

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have stayed her several times and would forever go back. Have never had a bad experience here, it really is a lovely place. Great value for money, nice views if you get those particular rooms. So close to walk every where and the owner is a delight! Fantastic welcome and farewell, great cleaning staff. Beds super comfortable and all the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Much appreciated the great review.Always happy for you to stay at our motel. Look forward to seeing you in the future. Paul

Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this motel. My wife and I stayed for three nights. It was easy walking the town area and to the ferries. The staff was very friendly and we used them a number of times for directions and general assistance. I would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank richard J
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thank you Richard for you kind review.It was a pleasure to have you stay.Glad I was able to give you some help with directions and advise for your onward travel. Paul

Auckland, NZ
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Upstairs room with a nice outlook to the water. Very handy position to everything. Comfortable beds. Nice lounge area, but lighting quite dim. Adequate kitchen but oven and stove did not go. Microwave. Notice in kitchen advising no cooking with strong smells eg fish and curries... a bit unusual, we thought. Bathroom area quite small, but clean. Excellent room servicing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiwibluebird
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Many thanks "kiwibluebird" for your review.I wondered whether you approached the reception about the oven and stove about it not working.You may have missed a master switch that would have turned them on.Yes we have a sports channel and once again did you ask reception.Also we have a conference room which had 100 channels for specific language programmes,more sports channels...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I had a comfortable stay at the Bounty Motel. We enjoyed its close proximity to the main street and water. Unfortunately the wifi was pretty useless, which is why I couldn't give this accommodation 5 stars.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachel S
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review.As to the problems with WIFI I wondered whether you mentioned it to management.There was a time recently when we had severe weather in the area which not only affected our property but other accommodation sites.It meant having to replace burnt out equipment from torrential rain and lightning.However we do have the latest equipment and unilimited wifi....

torbay
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

stayed here 2 nights -a very warm welcome and check in from Paul-what a treasure and asset to the motel.Our room was spotless,well equipped for self catering.Towels and bedding was very good quality.The motel is well placed for the sea front,shops,and Whaitanga treaty grounds.Paul gave us sound advise and we spent several hours at the treaty grounds and then a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank malcTorbay
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Really appreciated the review.Thanks very much and glad you stay was pleasurable. All the best Paul

Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Paul Rowland,Manager Bounty Motel Paihia needs to be commended on a great operation. Central location close to shops and ferry wharf, panoramic views of the beach and ocean, spacious clean suites with a balcony to take in the sunrise snd sunset, housekeeping on top if things with pristine bed and bath linen,amenities in the room for coffee tea, kettle,toaster, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dilnaz B
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the amazing review and comments,much appreciated.I am glad you found the accommodation and property to your liking.It was a pleasure to have you stay. Yes its part of kiwi hospitality that I am pleased made your stay pleasant. Paul

Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

This motel is in a great location to the town about a 2/3 minute walk! The wifi was brilliant. The receptionist was pleasant. I saw an advertisement for free continental breakfast on here but I didn't get one and wasn't told about it. I would stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicnac23
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review.Yes location is very good and no need for a car. Paul

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 12 March 2017

A moderately priced motel that offers most of the facilities needed for a good holiday. Our one bedroom unit suited us and allowed us to be independent and do some cooking. Close to the shops and within easy walking distance of many tourist attractions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom O
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thanks Tom for your comments.It was a pleasure to have you stay. Yes indeed the property is very central and no need to take a car anywhere. All the best Paul

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.1 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.8 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
441 reviews
0.4 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
604 reviews
0.8 km away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
2.6 km away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bounty is a Kiwi owned and operated property, located in a quiet suburb approx 100 meters from the Paihia Beach, shops and restaurants. It is a 3 minute walk to the wharf for dolphin watching, fishing trips, sightseeing and ferry to Russell. Tours to 90 mile beach and Cape Reinga pick you up at the motel entrance.We have a conference area for small groups up to 60 with catering facilities and kitchen. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bounty Motel

Address: 42 Selwyn Rd | PO Box 170, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Paihia Central Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range: €55 - €143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bounty Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bounty Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bounty Hotel Paihia
Bounty Motel Paihia, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#19 Family Hotel in Paihia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bounty Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
over a year ago
Paihia, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bounty Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you need an elevator to move your bags up then stay on the first floor. The parking lot is very convenient.”
Janaroonie, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“upstairs 1 or 2 bedroom units”
, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Think I would choose upstairs facing the water but at the end away from passing guests.”
Kiwibluebird, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“It is two stories so if you need ground floor ask the question.”
158tomo, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 22 is ground floor and at the attractive front of the property.”
Pepster56, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$67* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$67
Expedia.comUS$68
Hotels.comUS$68
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates