We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Peppertree Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Peppertree Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Peppertree Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 113: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 29 November 2015

Every thing was just super very homely & quite place to relax though it could exceed if WiFi was free as every one shares pictures which in turn would sell this property by itself Brian well informed & advises the best tours etc

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sava58
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review

pleased you enjoyed your stay, cant make everything free as all free stuff has a cost and would reflect in the room rates, free kayaks, bikes, dvds, tennis etc, however pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 November 2015 via mobile

Lovely spot to base yourself for a few days while exploring the area. Easy walk into town, shops and the ferry. Very clean facilities and nice to see security coming around at night to double check doors and windows etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess S
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review

thankyou for taking time to write a review, regards bryan

Magdeburg, Germany
Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

... when people ask me where to stay in Paihia. I think its not the cheapest one in town but definitely the cleanest and best equipped one. Free kayaks, huge variety of dvds, large kitchen with everything you need, comfortable beds, enough space to storage your bags. And the owner is nice and can tell you a lot about the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith W
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review

come again, thanks for the reveiw

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

We arrived in paihai really late one night at 9pm as we got lost on the way there, we went into a pub and asked the lady if she knew where we could stay as most receptions at backpackers were shut. She made one phone call and said that the owner from this place was out walking his dogs but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ebony L
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review

we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, come again, regards bryan

Reviewed 24 September 2015

Nice clean hostel with a large kitchen and communal area. Each 4 bed dorm has its own ensuite which is great. Bryan is extremely friendly and happy to offer out advice and with the free kayaks as well it's a great place to stay. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review

thank you for the review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay regards bryan

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 25 June 2015

Stayed here for two night while I was traveling with a bus company through New Zealand. I choose for Peppertree as is it a smaller hostel then the others and more quiet. Great common areas with couches, big TV and a lot of DVD's. The guy at the reception is really friendly and gave me a tour through the hostel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martijnboer
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to write a review, hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip... regards bryan.

Reviewed 2 June 2015 via mobile

This is a great little hostel to stay in, very well kept and clean, very well stocked kitchen and great living area, only negative is the double mattress was old and a little uncomfortable other than that great value for money

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simsy591
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review

thankyou for taking time to write a review, and for the most part you enjoyed your stay, we recently found that someone had broken a bed base, and possibily that was the room that you were in, we have since replaced the base and hopefully we are back to full service. But of course the person who broke never told...

Kalmar, Sweden
Reviewed 20 April 2015

Pretty basic but a fresh and light room. Well worth the price. Comfortable beds. Nice staff. Free Kayaks was a plus. The bathroom was shared between men and women. No free wifi unfortunately. Calmer than the nextdoor hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SJonsson95
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review

thankyou for taking time to write a reviewand am pleased you enjoyed the stay. Since you were here the wifi carrier has reduced their fees to us, it is now $10 for 1000 (1 gigabyte) of data. Free stuff is a balance , where do you stop and where do you start its a fine balance.

Schweinfurt, Germany
Reviewed 13 April 2015

We stayed just for a night herel but would definitely be back. Our 4-bed-dorm (ensuite) had a good size and the bathroom was very clean. There is an outside common area as well as a really comfy and homely indoor one consisting of TV area, eating area and very well equipped kitchen. The hosts were extremely friendly and we can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lekatharina
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review

thankyou for taking time to write a review, and we are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay

Reviewed 13 April 2015 via mobile

Although it helps that Paihia itself is amazing, this has been my favourite hostel in almost all of my travelling. Free bike and kayak hire, clean, inviting open space, nice patio, friendly owners, big and well stocked kitchen, and sturdy beds with an ensuite which was pretty luxurious. Thanks for the free chocolate and great night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
ptl-nz, Owner at Peppertree Lodge, responded to this review

thankyou for taking time to write a review, and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.7 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.1 km away
Saltwater Lodge
Saltwater Lodge
#8 of 29 in Paihia
85 reviews
0.0 km away
YHA Bay of Islands Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Haka Lodge
Haka Lodge
#3 of 29 in Paihia
171 reviews
0.0 km away
Bay Adventurer
Bay Adventurer
#16 of 29 in Paihia
136 reviews
0.0 km away
The Mousetrap Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a purpose built backpackers, with 8 bed dorms using shared facilities, 4 bed dorms with own bathroom , doubles/twins that can sleep up to 4 people using shared facilities, doubles / twins that can sleep up to 4 people with own bathroom. We have a full well equipped kitchen , 50' tv with approx. 300 dvds, bbq area to allow you to grill our food, we have a tour desk for local tours, free access to 3 tennis courts, kayaks and bikes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Peppertree Lodge

Address: 15 Kings Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range: €21 - €65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Peppertree Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Peppertree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppertree Lodge Paihia, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Peppertree Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If it is easy for you to get bitten by bugs, AVOID IT!”
 of 5 bubbles Marta73_11, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“One free park. If you are not there early you will have to park on the street”
 of 5 bubbles Ian_Lyuba, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Hey I had a 4 Bed Dorm was roomy, very clean and has its own ensuite, spotless clean linen this is the room for all backpacker's”
 of 5 bubbles Learning_Travel, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“don't choose 11 it is really noisy”
 of 5 bubbles switchie_nz, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“We choose a studio which was lovely and spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles StephJ_Sydney, 3 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5