We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Show Prices
#14 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

405 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 387: English reviews
Manchester, NH
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Rooms are clean and comfortable and more than adequate in size. It was just across the street from the sea so nice for a walk. You can get to most anything you want in close proximity. The place was quite clean and made up, and we were able to get a good nights sleep in this quiet place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vangoghManchester_NH
Folkingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Perfect location, just across the road from the sea and close to centre of town. Rooms clean and comfortable, with all you could need such as fridge and tea/coffee making supplies. Well insulated walls so no sounds from other rooms. Ideal for anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This Hotel has a great location and outlook. But during their busy period! Can't cope with the housekeeping. We booked five rooms between Xmas and new year for two nights. At least two of our rooms where not serviced! Which is not acceptable! Plus our fridge smelt of fish! We have emailed management and they don't give a dam. So...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Merg_5
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here 2 nights. It is in walking distance to everything!!!! We borrowed bikes from the hotel and rode to Waitangi which was lovely. Breakfast was nothing earth shattering but did the job for us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The room was very clean and tidy. Good size for 2 adults and 2 kids. Staff were friendly at front desk. Kids loved playing in the pool but it was a bit cold for me. The best part is the location, beach front and only a very short walk to the pier and town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NZMitchell
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback.

Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It's clean, breakfast distinctly uninspiring, has a laundry for $2 a wash.....reception staff very friendly, other staff not so good, kettle, wi-fi, nice shower, well placed looking over beach in Paihia. It does have small pool at front and jazucci which is inside , needs booked and you get half an hour. Also a gym., and pool table.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barb S
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback

Ornskoldsvik, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for three nights. Perfectly situated by the beach in the middle of Paihia. Nice beds, clean room, good shower. The staff is friendly and helpfull. The only negative is that you need to purchase wifi if you want more than 30 min a day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is absolute beachfront, 100meters from the pier. Rooms were good and comfortable. This is a big hotel, with probably 100 rooms. Staff were efficient and friendly. One complaint is the miserly internet, limited to 30 mins/ day. There is also the pool which is too small. It only has 6 loungers, for 100 rooms this is not enough. Also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaPinball
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback - unfortunately pool was closed a full day due to chemical issues, maintenance staff worked through the night to insure pool was only out for 1 day. We are sorry for the inconvenience it caused but need to insure the safety of our guests swimming.

Reviewed 1 week ago

This accommodation is in the perfect location if coming to Paihia. The rooms are spacious, and the pool is lovely. Having said that the hotel is a bit dated, and really has more of a motel vibe than a hotel feel to it. It's a little pricey for what it is, but still totally adequate accommodation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Member135
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My family and I went in for dinner last night for the buffet at the restaurant and were thoroughly disappointed. The range was very limited and the food could be considered average at best. Service was fine but we were not offered drinks. When we came to pay we were told it was $45 per person! Would have been an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to our attention this is appalling from our F&B department and definitely will be investigated as to what was placed on the buffet as the hotel has a policy in place as to what should be out on the buffet. Will also be speaking to the Front of House Staff with Customer Service being a...

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.8 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
413 reviews
0.0 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.7 km away
Ramada Suites Paihia
Ramada Suites Paihia
#22 of 43 in Paihia
213 reviews
0.1 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the waterfront and only 100 metres from Paihia wharf and township the Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia is the ideal base from which to explore the scenic and historic Bay of Islands area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Address: 104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range: €80 - €193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia New Zealand - Bay Of Islands
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Paihia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Auckland Region, New Zealand
6 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for sea views”
 of 5 bubbles SimonW895, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles Merg_5, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Great location handy to everything.”
 of 5 bubbles DawnC479, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms starting 300 have balconies but no outlook......”
 of 5 bubbles 314barbs, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Lovely to have an ocean view room but, for the extra cost you just as easily enjoy the view from the pool or the bar.”
 of 5 bubbles rowet43, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay