We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Astra Motor Lodge

Travellers' Choice award winner
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Astra Motor Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

381 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 372: English reviews
Start your review of Astra Motor Lodge
 Click to rate
Whakatane, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

This place was outstanding, beautiful clean expensive beds,double shower no use to me but lovely tiled shower.Heat pump.good parking. Feel the breakfast is a little dear $12.00 for Continental.I know I should've taken my own.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Madeline P
Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this one on line for two nights before leaving home as we wanted to be here for the Hot Air Balloon event and also wanted to be close to the event. Found it without trouble, check in easy. Room is close to busy adjacent street, but not a problem with noise. Nicely appointed room, large bed, 3 chairs and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth H
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent customer service & so very understanding when had to change accommodation dates due to surgery cancellations.. Close to hospital - welcome respite after a long day - very clean, roomy & beds comfortable with crisp fresh linen. Spa a bonus . Will certainly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renene G
Veronica Q, Front Office Manager at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feed back we appreciate your time and are pleased we were able to make your stay a comfortable one.

Redcliffe, Australia
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Whilst this Motel is on a main road, there was nothing in the way of noise to disturb. It is quite new, and therefore everything is modern, very clean and functional. Host reception was friendly and manoeuvred my booking to give me my requested ground floor room. Breakfast (continental) was served the night before and was average. The WiFi worked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rod P
Veronica Q, Front Office Manager at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your feed back, we appreciate you taking the time. We would make the following observations that you seemed to have missed. There is laundry powder in a plastic container above the washing machine, provided free of charge and not sure if you re-logged into the WiFi the next morning as you need to log in on a daily...

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 March 2017

This motel is run by a lovely couple, always willing to go that extra mile to help their customers. The rooms are exceptionally clean and fresh, and everything you need is supplied. One of the best motels in Hamilton

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonja W
Veronica Q, Manager at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us and thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your time here. Thanks.

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Due to a family member waiting for surgery at Waikato hospital we didn't know if we were going to be staying one night or a week. It ended up being for 14 nights and the owner did his up-most to ensure we had a bed for the next night on a day to day basis after we returned from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pep501
Veronica Q, Manager at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feed back to us and we are only too pleased we were able to help ease the stress especially under the circumstances in relation to your time here. Thanks again.

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 14 February 2017

I am incredibly impressed by how spotlessly clean this lodging is. I was here for a week for work and it felt like I was in my own home in terms of cleanliness. The kitchens are very simply but amply equipped - the kitchen supplies are kept spotless too. Management is responsive and accommodating. They made my work trip hassle...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank By_RAD_2013
Veronica Q, General Manager at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feed back and we are pleased that your stay was enjoyable. We agree about the hung towels and will reinforce this with our cleaning staff. Yes we do recycle and separating the recyclables is a big help. Agree about the internet connection and we are looking for a way to...

Kawerau
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Stayed overnight in the Executive 1bdrm units. The units were very clean and spacious and the beds were so comfortable I wanted to take it home. Loved the double shower too! The service was excellent from the Proprietors and we loved the fresh plunger coffee. It was lovely to come back to this accommodation after spending most of the day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charp8a
Veronica Q, General Manager at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to provide us with your feed back we really are pleased that your stay was comfortable and stress free.

Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

My daughter and I started at the Astra Motor Lodge for a night recently. I can't fault the cleanliness of the two bedroom unit we stayed in, it was impeccable! The motel unit was also modern, and everything was very well appointed. No faults here! The bathroom was very small. Had there been 4 people staying in the room, this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 589sharleenh
Veronica Q, Owner at Astra Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your feed back we appreciate you taking the time to give us your thoughts. We are looking at options with regards shelving in the bathroom for toiletries etc. Regarding the bathroom window the glass is opaque and the window only opens to a maximum amount of 150 mm at the bottom zero at the top so we feel...

Nerang, Australia
Reviewed 28 January 2017

There are limited options of places to stay in this area and this place was a nice surprise. Nice clean rooms and modern looking inside. Property doesn't seem too large and the carpark is a bit of a squeeze but the couple who were looking after the front desk were very friendly and helpful. Our flight in was delayed which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shonaralee

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (13)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
3.5 km away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 62 in Hamilton
233 reviews
2.6 km away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 62 in Hamilton
1,107 reviews
1.8 km away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#8 of 62 in Hamilton
927 reviews
2.6 km away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#10 of 62 in Hamilton
160 reviews
3.3 km away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#6 of 62 in Hamilton
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Luxurious New Motor Lodge located by Braemar Private Hospital and a few minutes walk to Waikato Hospital. CBD local restaurants and cafes are all within 5 mins in the car. Visit our beautiful gardens or enjoy a stroll around the lake. The 16 beautifully appointed apartment style rooms all with king and superking beds -(can be split into two singles). Sky Guest select with 50 channels plus in everyroom. Full kitchens. Double showers some with twin heads.Spa Baths, heat pump/air-conditioning in everyroom, Ultra fast broadband, wifi, guest laundry. Continental and cooked breakfasts available, with Gluten free options. Plenty of parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Astra Motor Lodge

Address: 47 Kahikatea Drive, Hamilton 3206, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Price Range: €100 - €123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Astra Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Astra Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Hamilton
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Astra Motor Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne, Australia
11 months ago
Auckland, New Zealand
over a year ago
Auckland, New Zealand
3 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Astra Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Close to Waikato hospital”
Pep501, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Top floor is quieter, but warmer in Summer. Good aircon though!”
alfredmjNZ, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room towards the back to avoid road noise.”
84heathern, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose upper rooms away from road.”
Aussietravels1005, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Away from road”
JoT717, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$109* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$109
Booking.com
Hotels.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates