We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre

Orbitz.comUS$92*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$108*
US$92*
US$108*
US$92*
US$108*
US$92*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 224: English reviews
Start your review of Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
 Click to rate
New Zealand
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

were there as part of a bus tour we were on to nearby Hobbiton. Large room, very clean, good size bathroom. Bed was a little hard but that is subjective. Decor was very 80's but I could see they were in the middle of refurbishments so perhaps not for too much longer! Breakfast the following day was good, hot and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndAkiAnd
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was here for work. Conference facilities were okay but basic and The food arrived late so was not great. While we did not use the restaurant facilities, you can do. Food is a reasonable price and caters for large numbers numbers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to post a review. To our knowledge we have not had any incidents of food arriving late at recent conferences. We did have a conference that broke for their morning tea early and the food had to be rushed out, this was however the decision of the conference organiser and not the hotel. If you...

Hickory, North Carolina
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here passing through to Auckland. The gentleman checking us in must have been training as he could not answer any question on his own. There are no elevators and we stayed on 2nd floor. Everything must be toted up the stairs to guest rooms. Rooms are outdated but adequate. Very thin walls and hallway noise can be heard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lhoover10
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Hotel is being renovated so we had a newly re furbished room. Nicely fitted out and reasonably spacious.Staff are friendly . Whilst not necessarily receptions fault I had to return twice before getting a room that was ready for us. Lack of communication between housekeeping and reception as to which rooms were available/ready and again when we had arranged a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roland P
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad you enjoyed your room. Thank you for letting me know about the delay in having your room ready. I hope you come back and stay with us again soon.

Port Albert, Australia
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Paid in advance $260 for a room we could have got for $136 on the day. Room was outdated, mouldy shower and horribly uncomfortable bed. Our room was opposite rooms being renovated, so we're woken by tradies. Never again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TPC63
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. Our apologies that you were disturbed by tradesmen. We are undergoing major refurbishments at the moment to upgrade our rooms. Unfortunately I can't look into the rate you paid, if it was booked directly with the hotel you should always be receiving the best available rate. Once again our apologies...

Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights. Location is OK for travellers but no decent restaurants within easy walking distance - had to drive to a shopping mall, not exactly fine dining. Can't comment on the meals at the hotel, its a large place and there weren't many guests so the atmosphere wasn't very appealing. Very large rooms and plenty of space in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We hope you stay again and take advantage of our dining facilities.

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Wouldn't recommend this accommodation, very misleading with its advertising. Went to check in after 2.30pm to be told our room was not ready. After checkin, we had to walk through white plaster dust to get to our room,, as it was all over the carpet, a guy was sanding, with the door wide open, across the hallway, very dusty ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindiloo1
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear about your experience. We are currently undertaking a major refurbishment of our accommodation rooms, most of these have now become available this week. These new rooms are Superior Kings and were not available during your stay, they were also not advertised as available. The room you booked was a standard room and the photographs do...

Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed one night in their standard room. The room was out dated, but clean with basic facilities. The bed was awfully uncomfortable as were the pillows. The duvet between the sheets was yellow. The walls were thin as we heard chatter from the rooms around us. The bathroom carries basic facilities. The pool/spa that were available to use were somewhat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ebony A
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are currently undertaking room refurbishment in 55 of our rooms. This includes relining all the walls and ceiling to make the level of noise proofing very high. The rooms will be completely brand new and once the first 55 are complete we will continue to upgrade the other rooms. I...

new zealand
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Love the pool Love the price Hotel rooms are ok, look bit old but are comfy. We went there for couple nights for a family get away from auckland Great hotel for the value. They got lots of rooms to acommodate big events as well. Definitely will be back :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dith96
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very proud of our facilities and are very glad you enjoyed the pool. Our rooms are currently undergoing major refurbishment and the first of the refurbished rooms will be available in the next few weeks. Its very exciting. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 8 December 2016

This hotel is a large hotel on the outskirts of Hamilton. I was here in November and only for one night. When I arrived I was greeted by a friendly receptionist who could not do more to assist me in finding my room. I made my way to the room and was pleased to see that I had a large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren_R_Beckett
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. The Hotel was purchased by Distinction Hotel Group in February this year after being under the same ownership for 18 years. We are currently undertaking major refurbishment in our accommodation rooms. These will be available early next year. Thank you for your kind remarks about the staff- they are certainly a great team. This is...

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
3.5 km away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 62 in Hamilton
1,124 reviews
2.1 km away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 62 in Hamilton
234 reviews
4.2 km away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#11 of 62 in Hamilton
162 reviews
2.4 km away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
1.8 km away
Asure Barclay Motel
Asure Barclay Motel
#29 of 62 in Hamilton
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 100 Garnett Avenue | Te Rapa, Hamilton 3241, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Price Range: €82 - €117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“119 was upstairs, no lift but not a problem, will be better after refurbishment. Currently refurbing the 200 wing”
AndAkiAnd, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs and at end of corridors for quietness.”
rolandp676, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ring somewhere else.”
TPC63, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on level 5”
sonalib730, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother...if our room is any guage, I wouldnt recommend you stay there at all.”
  • The hand basin tap.
  • The tap in the shower.
  • The bathroom tap.
  • The shower.
  • Dirty, damaged tiles.
  • Unclean floor.
  • Disgusting exhaust fan.
cazbar62, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
US$92* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$92
Hotels.comUS$92
CancelonUS$108
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates