We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

VR Hamilton Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
VR Hamilton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

312 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 303: English reviews
Start your review of VR Hamilton Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Had a great time. Staff are helpful. Always pleasant. Room is spacious and clean . Handy to town. Good restaurants close by. Go for a walk by the river. Hmailto gardens close by. Hamilton lake walk lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin N
Cambridge, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Heritage hotel, elegant furnishings in public areas and also in guest rooms, large bathrooms (with generous bath! plus shower of course). Thick towels, ample toiletries. Tea/coffee /glassware and fridge. Central city location - may be some street noise if a lively night downtown and if you are overlooking the main street but I've stayed there 3 separate occasions and noise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiwilaw
hco_reservations, Front Office Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing VR Hamilton Hotel for your recent stay. I feel happy to know that your stay with us was comfortable and memorable. I do apologize for the noise issue that you had in the room. I assure you that by the time you come for your next stay, the noise issue will be resolved as...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel has very limited parking and what little they have has only limited access via a long driveway. The had a broken window which was covered up with cardboard. Do not ever stay there on a Saturday Night since it is a college town and the street was full of drunken college students. They were coming up to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank longbeach1959
hco_reservations, Front Office Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing VR Hamilton for your recent stay. It is bad to hear that you stay with us was not up to the mark. I understand that you were not happy with the noice coming from outside but as you mentioned that Hamilton is majorly a college town and we can't do much about the external...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good Afternoon Sir/Madame, my name is Mr Michael Tosi and I am the Personal Assistant of the General Manager of Bralco Metals Australia, Mr John Owens. I made a reservation on his behalf staying at your luxury VR Hamilton Hotel for business porpuses. Firstly receptionist very poor customer service. No welcoming skills. We stayed in room 106 missing lamp shade,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mitokesi
hco_reservations, Front Office Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Tosi, First of all I would like to thank you for choosing VR Hamilton for your recent stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the kind of stay that you had at our hotel. At VR Hamilton it is our top priority to make the guest's stay comfortable and memorable. It was very unfortunate that your car's rear...

Kolkata
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel for two nights. There is no public transport from Hamilton Airport to city center. Only option is door to door Airport super shuttle. I reached this hotel by super shuttle. This hotel is situated in Victoria Street which is Main Street of Hamilton. Majority of attractions are nearby to this hotel. This is very good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ArghyaKolkata
hco_reservations, Front Office Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing VR Hamilton for your recent stay. I appreciate you taking out time to post a nice review about our hotel. It is good to hear that your stay with us was comfortable which is the reason we are here for the best customer service. Breakfast is not a part of the stay rates as...

Paris, France
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel had the location I was looking for, central in Hamilton while I explored on foot. I have rarely stayed anywhere so noisy at night time, due to the extractor fans from the surrounding restaurants, and the broken window pane did not help. I was very tired so it wasn't an issue for me but a light sleeper will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
hco_reservations, Front Office Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. We are glad to know that you liked the central location of the hotel. I sincerely apologize for the cleaning levels that did not match up to your expectations. it will be much appreciated if you give us another chance to make you feel the professionalism of our housekeeping team.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The parking is very uncomfortable, I didn't move my car much during the stay. The bathroom was dirty, towels are small. Staff are nocking on the door just like that(there is not do not disturb sign). No air working conditioner- can't brith properly. Old and dusty. The service is below average- only 1 of the stuff was good. In general...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shimrit A
hco_reservations, Front Office Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing VR Hamilton for your recent stay. I appriciate for taking out time and posting a review for our hotel. We are currently in a process of renovation and your valuable feedback will strengthen our focus on the loose points. With Regards Sagar Sharma

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

No air conditioning. Hotel is old and in need of a serious make over. My wife and I hardly got any sleep at all, and not for any good reason. Walls are paper thin and could hear everything in adjacent rooms and the hallways.Windows are old and rattled all night in the wind. We stayed in 114 on the first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bull_7_nz
hco_reservations, Front Office Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing VR Hamilton for your recent stay. It is definitely not good to hear that you stay with us was not comfortable. The building of our hotel is very old and it comes under a Heritage Building. We are under a process of renovating the building. As this is a heritage building so we need...

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Saw this on a grabone voucher for $139 save $100 incluing free cooked breakfast. free wifi and parking, Then checked the website and for $84 we got free wifi and parking and breakfast was $10. If we had paid $139 I would be hostile ( remember that was a saving of $100) Have to park behind hotel in a difficult...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn N
hco_reservations, Front Office Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing VR Hamilton for your recent stay. We aim for the best in class service but the building of our hotel is very old and comes under a Heritage building. We are under a process of renovating the whole building and son it will be ready for your next stay with us. Thank you again...

Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

Hotel is in dire need of a make over. If you decide to stay ask for a room at the back. There is no air con so windows need to be left open - but single pain windows and traffic noise from busy main road / various bars and clubs in the area mean you get little sleep. Very frustrating....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnaR209
hco_reservations, Front Office Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing VR Hamilton for your recent stay. It is definitely not good to hear that your stay with us was not comfortable. We are centrally located and close to all restaurants and entertainment hubs which is why we experience noise from outside but we are under a process of renovating the whole building and soon...

109 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.4 km away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 64 in Hamilton
910 reviews
0.5 km away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#16 of 64 in Hamilton
99 reviews
0.3 km away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 64 in Hamilton
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sudima Hotel Hamilton
Sudima Hotel Hamilton
#45 of 64 in Hamilton
109 reviews
0.6 km away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.3 km away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#12 of 64 in Hamilton
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
VR Hamilton Hotel is located within a stunning heritage listed building in the heart of the Hamilton city. With its beautiful surroundings, VR Hamilton Hotel continues to impress and satisfy its guests through providing the warmth and genuine hospitality that has become the hallmark of the Hotel. A versatile set of function rooms, comfortable and high quality accommodation, combined with our attentive and friendly team makes VR Hamilton Hotel a great venue for business or leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about VR Hamilton Hotel

Address: 237 Victoria Street | Corner Victoria & Collingwood Sts, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand (Formerly Hamilton City Oaks)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Price Range: €67 - €251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VR Hamilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your VR Hamilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Hamilton
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from VR Hamilton Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from VR Hamilton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“dont go here”
 of 5 bubbles longbeach1959, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Road side rooms may be taken”
 of 5 bubbles ArghyaKolkata, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Victoria Street is not busy overnight, so a street-side room may be better than the rear which has all the extractor fan noise.”
 of 5 bubbles amandac34, 28 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Good location”
 of 5 bubbles CarolynN753, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“217 was good!!!”
 of 5 bubbles gini420, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5