We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Novotel Hamilton Tainui

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,084 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,056: English reviews
Start your review of Novotel Hamilton Tainui
 Click to rate
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Definitely impressed with this place. Have stayed a few times before but I really think they have stepped it up. Check in was no hassle. Car taken away to park. Requested a room on top floor. Got exactly what we wanted. Room was clean and bed was very comfortable. Only thing I would of wanted was an extra pillow but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank foodfinese
New Plymouth, New Zealand
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 5 January 2017

So accommodating, asked for an early checkin, done, late checkout, done, change room away from lifts,done! Clean beautiful rooms, and great staff, Ayra! Would stay here again, and so central to all of the towns bars and shops.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fefifo G
About Hotel's Favourite Review
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments around your recent stay with us. Look forward to welcome you back. With kind regards, Dick Breukink, GM

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

One night was not enough to see the sights, however the Hotel its self was very friendly and the breakfasts were the best!! Rooms were large and well appointed with a short walk into Hamilton. If you are a member of Accor group of Hotels you will receive a free drink and WIFI.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robbojw
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Really appreciate your comments in regards to your stay with us. It is nice to see that you have enjoyed the Le Club membership. Look forward to welcome you back. Best regards, Dick Breukink, GM

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in the hotel for the weekend. Very pleasant hotel, as you would expect for a large international chain. Spacious rooms, all the amenities you would expect, clean, tidy and of a good standard. Perfectly located in the centre of Hamilton, but away from the bars and nightclubs (5 min walk). Also perfectly located for Seddon park, and a short...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WalesNZ88
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thanks for your feedback and your opinion about our hotel. It is interesting that Hamilton is not considered as a major city, although we are really the fourth largest city in the country. Really pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay. With kind regards, Dick Breukink, GM

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just a one night stay but service from start to finish was very professional. Hotel was hosting the Australian cricket team at the time but service levels did not suffer because of the increased numbers of guests.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette H
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear Jeanette. Great to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Really pleased to see that you have enjoyed it. Best regards, Dick Breukink, GM

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Novotel Hamilton is a great place to stay when in town for business. A quality hotel right in the heart of the city with all amenities close to hand. i wouldn't stay any where else when in Hamilton

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank L1897EHedb
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Really appreciate your time to review our hotel. I am glad to read that you have enjoyed it. look forward to welcome you back. Best regards, Dick Breukink, GM

Channel Islands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very pleasant hotel, modern, comfortable, welcoming staff. Valet parking was a boon. The bed was very comfortable, good pillows. Only down side, channels on the were rather limited. We prefer world news and sports.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susie R
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear Susie. Thanks for your feedback and great to see that you have enjoyed your stay. In 2 weeks, we will have a total of 36 SKY channels and over 60 TV channels to watch. Hope to see you back with us. With kind regards, Dick Breukink, GM

New Delhi
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and our experience was a mixed bag. When we checked in - the guys parked our car in the valet and retrieving it was prompt. The room was modern, and well furnished but the housekeeping left a lot to be desired. The bedding had an odour, there were hair all over the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheGlobalIndian
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you so much for your comments in regards to your stay. I really believe that it is very helpful to get this feedback, so that I am able to sit down with my managers and look at solutions. It is very helpful to get this kind of information as more than once, we try to provide our...

Mangakino, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

easy to find in the heart of Hamilton. Very clean, friendly staff, great food. Made our stay very relaxing. Our room had everything we need with the addition of Waikato River views. Bathroom was amazing.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear Christine. Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay in our hotel. Really pleased to see that you have enjoyed it. Look forward to welcome you back. With kind regards, Dick Breukink, GM

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed one night during driving trip. Hotel is modern and well maintained. Valet parking was efficient whenever we required our car. River walk nearby is worthwhile. Check-in staff were particularly helpful and empathetic where one of us was unexpectedly unwell and required trip to doctor.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BoyGoneGlobal
DBreukink, General Manager at Novotel Hamilton Tainui, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thanks for your feedback around your stay with us. I really hope that you all are feeling better now and that the trip to the doctor resolved the problem you had. With kind regards, Dick Breukink, GM

167 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (128)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.1 km away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 64 in Hamilton
910 reviews
1.5 km away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 64 in Hamilton
220 reviews
0.9 km away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#12 of 64 in Hamilton
148 reviews
1.2 km away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#6 of 64 in Hamilton
140 reviews
1.1 km away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Novotel Tainui is in the heart of the city, on the banks of the Waikato River, adjacent to the Skycity Casino and entertainment complex. The hotel features 177 rooms, an award winning restaurant, lobby bar and a health club, with gym, sauna, spa and beauty therapies available. Conference facilities are available for up to 350 delegates. Guests have easy access to nearby shopping, dining and entertainment, or relaxing river walks that can be found close by. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel Hamilton Tainui

Address: 7 Alma Street | PO Box 1, Hamilton 2001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Price Range: €109 - €196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Hamilton Tainui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel Hamilton Tainui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Hamilton Tainui Hotel Hamilton
Accor Hamilton Tainui
Hamilton Novotel
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Hamilton
#4 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#4 Family Hotel in Hamilton
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
#7 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Novotel Hamilton Tainui staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel Hamilton Tainui staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A room facing East, very peaceful outlook”
 of 5 bubbles iand645, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Take the car park option to make sure your car is safe.”
 of 5 bubbles Moss092014, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Family rooms are much more spacious”
 of 5 bubbles giggler12345, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Just ask for what you want.”
 of 5 bubbles fefifog, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms have river views”
 of 5 bubbles spinx1973, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5