We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Surf City Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 77: English reviews
Start your review of Surf City Lodge
 Click to rate
Calabasas, California
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Barry and Ros are wonderful hosts! I stayed in December for three nights with my parents. I had a large comfortable room inside the main house and my parents had the en-suite cabin beside the house. I had plenty of room to unpack and make myself at home. The bed is comfortable. The breakfast is huge! Our plates were heaped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LWolmore
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Barry and Ros were fantastic hosts during the couple nights I stayed with them. They very kindly upgraded me to the Reef Point room, an en-suite cabin right beside the main house. Very cozy and relaxing; there were even snacks, coffee, and tea in the room! As I got in fairly late my first evening, Ros generously made up a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kedracek
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I haven't stayed in a bed and breakfast for a few years, but had always had spacious rooms and quality rooms in previous b&b. Either prices have shot up or standards of expectations gone down. A prefab unit cramped space, minuscule en suite were a disappointment. This was the premium suite we were told! I have bruises from squeezing past...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maddy W
Bazza026, Owner at Surf City Lodge, responded to this review

Mad - While I am disappointed with your review I must comment that you did not have the decency to draw my attention to any of the problems you had. I would have remedied them immediately. Your breakfast ettiquette was a shocker and atrocious at the best. I have never seen anything like it in the nearly seven years I...

Yellowknife, Canada
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Spent one night at the lodge in the Raglan room - spacious, very comfortable firm bed, tv and dvd selection in room, beautifully decorated in a restored period home. Bathroom across the hall also lovingly turned out with clawfoot soaker tub. Owner Barry is very warm and looks forward to cooking the breakfast part for you. Just lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen047047
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

I stay with Barry and Ros on a regular basis for work. Great accommodation and best breakfast ever! I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Everything is always clean and tidy, it's handy to everything and the hosts are always friendly and welcoming.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank afarrell011
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Wonderful hospitality in a lodge that has been prepared and kept spotless with the utmost love and care. Barry and Ros are great hosts and make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive right up until you leave. I'm not one for breakfasts, but I have to say that this was a highlight for me - great food and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Todd P
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

First if you book through Hotels.com or something similar/ ring or email Barry and Ross and let them know your estimated time of arrival! Next Gisborne is a great place and the best place to stay is here! We were upgraded! I did not realise how good the little summer house was!our hosts offered a digital tv and movies but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jan F
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Have stayed here multiple times and will do every time i come back to gisborne. Barry and Roz make it a pleasure to come here. It's cheaper than any motel and it's just like a home away from home. The breakfast is better than any breakfast I've had staying away. Barry cooks a restaurant style big kiwi breakfast that always...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bhollows
La Chaux-de-Fonds, Switzerland
Reviewed 24 November 2016

This is such a great place to stay, Barry and Ros are such wonderful hosts, make you feel welcome and their company is heartfelt. Had a great time some years ago and aiming to go back in December. His Cooking is better than master chef...his breakfast are awesome...I've come all the way from Switzerland just to see them and enjoy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David F
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

We loved staying here. Our fantastic hosts Barry and Ros made us feel right at home and Barry cooked some amazing breakfasts that left us so full we didn't need any lunch. Each day's breakfast is different so make sure you stay more than one day. We stayed in the outside unit while our friends took the rooms upstairs. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bryce N

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0.9 km away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
0.8 km away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gisborne
261 reviews
2.6 km away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#1 of 27 in Gisborne
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Waikanae Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
3.6 km away
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
#5 of 27 in Gisborne
162 reviews
0.8 km away
Senator Motor Inn
Senator Motor Inn
#2 of 27 in Gisborne
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Surf City Lodge

Address: 139 Rutene Road, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Price Range: €102 - €121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surf City Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Surf City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Surf City Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay for breakfast, it is so worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles , 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“all good rooms”
 of 5 bubbles M7004LBdavidf, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Outside unit is very private”
 of 5 bubbles sues602016, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Its all good!!”
 of 5 bubbles Sophie666, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
“We chose the cabin room which has a private bathroom and fridge.”
 of 5 bubbles EleanorB264, 12 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5