We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ocean Beach Motor Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 159: English reviews
Start your review of Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
 Click to rate
Huntly, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights the unit is very spacious, and, clean. Having a television in the lounge area, also, the bedroom receiving three sports channels is an absolute plus ! Adjacent to the beach, just a few minutes drive from the City this is a great location. With the staff being so obliging this made our stay most pleasant....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank beverleyr295
OceanBeachMotorLodge, General Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Beverley It was such a pleasure to have you stay. I'm pleased you enjoyed the TV in the bedroom. We are increasing our Sky channels to incorporate ALL the sports channels and more besides so it will be even better when you return. Thank you so much for your lovely review. Pleasing that you enjoyed also the spacious and...

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good location but a long way from town. Nice big room with everything you need. Some issues with staff forgetting to top-up tea bags etc and fridge not having been cleaned. The room was a good size but a little dark, had our own outside area but on a very busy road so there was noise issues. Nice take-away shop...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 0651951
OceanBeachMotorLodge, General Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your feedback is appreciated. The new fridge is in place and functioning well. Best regards Ruth

Havelock North, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were a party of four and booked this motel as it had two bedrooms. My fault for not reading the booking site properly and discovered on arrival that fee was $100 more than expected as extra two people are charged on top of the basic price. Fair enough but the only accommodation we experienced on our way around East...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grant N
OceanBeachMotorLodge, General Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Grant Thank you for your review. As explained, there was extra linen in the bathroom cupboard. Easily missed. It was lovely to have you stay. Best regards Ruth

Reviewed 20 March 2017

Friendly check in. Spacious lounge, bedroom and bathroom. Comfortable private patio/garden. Very clean. No ac. If windows are opened for ventilation, traffic noise (trucks every 2-3 mins all night for us) could be distracting. 5ft (Queen) bed very bouncy; could be problematic for partner. Takeaway food/store very close, otherwise Gisbourne is a 10-15 min drive away. Great beach less than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
OceanBeachMotorLodge, General Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you sincerely for taking the time to review us. Your feedback is appreciated. Kind regards Ruth

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Motel in lovely position next to the beach. Spacious room but a bit dark. Private outside area with table and chairs would have benefitted from a good sweep as was quite dirty. Friendly staff. The biggest problem for us was the wifi. Although advertised as having wifi, it was almost non existent! We are on a long trip from u.k...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
OceanBeachMotorLodge, General Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this review

I do sincerely apologise for the wifi. As explained we are awaiting installation of fibre. Unfortunatelly we have to wait our turn as there is huge demand for the upgrade. Everyone is experiencing similar problems. I am sorry also that all the umbrellas had to be taken in due to most being damaged in the hurricane type weather we experienced....

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 February 2017

My family and I are delighted by the lovely atmosphere here. The rooms are beautifully presented and have the comforts of home. I have been especially pleased with the self contained courtyard off our suite, where my 2 year old and 4 year old sons have been happily playing in a safe environment. Mums and Dad you can relax here,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swiftgordon
OceanBeachMotorLodge, General Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this review

How lovely that you took the time from your busy schedule to give us such a lovely recommendation. Your wee boys are just beautiful and it is a delight to have you stay. Thanks so much Best regards Ruth

Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Large comfortable suite. Easy to cook in. Short walk to lovely beach. Small store for any essentials. Just north of Gisborne, so a vehicle is required. Town is easy to get around in. Lovely downtown with lots of shops and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
OceanBeachMotorLodge, General Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Lynn It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Your review is so helpful for those future guests who may wish to stay with us. Your time and effort is appreciated. Thank you sincerely Ruth

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Unfortunately I didn't get to see the beach as the weather was dreadful. The motel gave a comfortable nights stop, with everything I needed. Kitchenette was equipped with 2 hot plates, microwave etc. Good shower and lovely toiletries. Comfortable bed, could do with bed side light or more accessible switch (only on one side). Some traffic noise.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Supergranbee
OceanBeachMotorLodge, General Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this review

I agree, the weather was appalling for all holiday makers. It has settled back into the beautiful summer Gisborne is renowned for. Thank you sincerely for taking the time to review us. We look forward to having you back anytime. Best regards Ruth

Reno, Nevada
Reviewed 3 February 2017

We were traveling around the North Island...booked 2 nights at this hotel as was fairly highly reviewed on TripAdvisor...although had poor reviews but were quite old...we were traveling from Whakatane (a great little town) around the East Cape (Pacific Coast Highway) and Gisborne seemed like the place to stop for a couple of days. Let me start by saying that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
OceanBeachMotorLodge, General Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this review

So pleased you have arrived safely in Napier. You say you had done your research on Trip Advisor and that we were highly reviewed. Surely so many excellent reviews speak for themselves. It should be noted that we are not a hotel, we are in fact a motor lodge situated at one of the most beautiful and well known beaches...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 February 2017

If you are into surfing or even just the beach this is the perfect place to say in Gisborne. One of the main surf beaches (and a stunning beach to just go for a walk to too) is just a few steps away. Wainui Store (which has awesome coffee from around 7am and great snacks and takeaways later in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thomas_welly
OceanBeachMotorLodge, General Manager at Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you Thomas. I am so pleased you enjoyed the beach. This lovely weather is just perfect for it. Your feedback is so appreciated. Wish you could have stayed longer as this beautiful weather just goes on and on. Glad also you enjoyed our hospitality at what we consider is almost paradise. Do come again. Best regards Ruth

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
4.3 km away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
4.4 km away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#11 of 27 in Gisborne
265 reviews
1.3 km away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 27 in Gisborne
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Whispering Sands Beachfront Motel
4.3 km away
Senator Motor Inn
Senator Motor Inn
#1 of 27 in Gisborne
178 reviews
5.6 km away
Beachcomber Motel
Beachcomber Motel
#8 of 27 in Gisborne
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located at beautiful Wainui Beach on the scenic East Coast, Ocean Beach Motor Lodge, the perfect place to start your holiday. Fifteen superbly appointed one and two bedroom apartment-style suites and studios, some with spa. Enjoy a walk along the beach with the gentle breaking of the waves in summer and the ever changing drama of the ocean in winter. First city in the world to see the sun rise. Private tropical courtyard. Cooked or Continental breakfast delivered to your room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Motor Lodge

Address: 7 Oneroa Road | Wainui Beach, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Price Range: €77 - €155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Beach Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Beach Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gisborne
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gisborne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gisborne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gisborne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ocean Beach Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Most rooms on the ground floor, good parking”
0651951, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ensure booking site is checked carefully”
290grantn, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room furthest from the main road.”
768stevej, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“This hotel is a "fair" drive into the city center...do not know if #15 is actually the best room, but if it is...look elsewhere!!”
ThomasS301, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are on the main road but bedrooms are in a separate room at the carpark end. Not a distraction. Huge living room/kitchen.”
842brucec, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5