We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

City Lodge

View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Great Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
City Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

495 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for City Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 436: English reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

We booked this for the last 2 nights of a 3 week stay in Auckland. For the price it was fantastic (when we compared prices this wasn't much more expensive than backpackers places and a lot cheaper than the big brand hotels which are all only 5 minutes walk away). We were on the 7th floor and didn't get much...

Thank sunseekermk
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback, yes the rooms can get warm during summer we are investigating the option of ceiling fans unfortunately aircon is not an option. Look forward to seeing you when your next in Auckland. Regards Glenn Gairdner

Reviewed 27 February 2017

Hotel is very clean and the employees are attentives and nice, always ready to help you. I've been in Auckland for 6 nights, not in sequence and I've left my luggage in the luggage room, totally safe. I had to wash my clothes and I the hotel has washing machine and dryer, isn't expensive (3 dollars to wash and 4...

Thank Clara S
Reviewed 26 February 2017

We had a room on the 8th floor, although quite a small room, it was very clean, had everything we needed and had the most fantastic view of the skyline and the Sky Tower. Although we didn't use the kitchen, it looked very clean and appeared to have lots of equipment for communal use. Really helpful, friendly staff. Excellent location,...

Thank Sue B
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we will ensure your feedback is passed onto our team. Regards Glenn

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Good hostel, kitchen very clean, room small but good though a bit noisy as we had to keep windows open for ventilation (no air-con) and the occasional noises from the street were high even in the 8th floor.

Thank JJ-fin2017
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to submit your review. Regards Glenn Gairdner

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Would stay again if down for the night. Small room. Very hot on 8th floor with no air conditioning. But had all we needed for 1 night. Shower head needs attention. Lots pressure but water goes everywhere.

Thank Jacqui P
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, can you please email me so I know which room you stayed in and we can fix the shower head. Regards Glenn

Orange, Australia
Reviewed 25 February 2017

We stayed at City Lodge for 2 nights on arriving in New Zealand and 1 night on our return to Auckland. The room and facilities were very clean but the bed in the room we had on the first visit had springs sticking into you. The rooms are very small with not much room to store a suitcase or 2....

Thank Shirley R
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We understand your concerns and have made a commitment to replace any bed that does not meet our guests expectations. We have already commenced an audit process to identify any beds that require replacement. Regards Glenn Gairdner

Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

This is essentially a backpacker lodge, but with private rooms. Was very clean, it was quiet, and the bed wasn't a disappointment. The staff is exceptionally friendly and went the extra mile for a request that I made of them.

Thank rvhorn
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, great to hear you enjouyed your stay with us. Regards Glenn Gairdner

Reviewed 24 February 2017

good accomodations, the room was confortable, clean, with a Sky Tower view, the staff team was so polite and helpful. The kitchen area is functional. However, the internet access should be included without extra payments.

Thank Marcia V
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for providing your feedback, all messages are posted on our staff notice board to read. Regards Glenn Gairdner

Reviewed 18 February 2017

The best place for your money in the city! Indeed the rooms are quite small, but you have everything you need and your own bathroom (I stayed in a hostel for a couple of nights) , in the limits of the city but close to Aotea Square. Very friendly staff. Should I know about it before I would have stayed...

Thank RoxLima
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, I will ensure your feedback is shared amongst the team. Regards Glenn Gairdner

Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

This place was a really nice hostel! So clean, private room for 4 had an ensuite, perfect amount of space, quiet location but only a 10 minute walk to the main part of downtown. Only downside was having to pay for wifi. Would highly recommend it and stay again!

Thank Jessica L
City_Lodge_Auckland, General Manager at City Lodge, responded to this review

So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, regards Glenn Gairdner

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (74)
Bathroom (11)
Room/Suite (29)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Dining (3)
View from Room (4)
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (19)
Dining (3)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (15)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
670 reviews
0.5 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,132 reviews
0.7 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,219 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
1.1 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With a 5-star Qualmark Backpacker rating, City Lodge is outstanding when it comes to convenience, quality, and value-for-money accommodation in Auckland. Located in a quiet tree-lined street and just 5 minutes walk to central Auckland, City Lodge offers a real ‘home away from home’ experience. Every room has a private ensuite, fridge, TV and tea/coffee making facilities for the comfort and convenience of our guests. City Lodge is well appointed and offers a clean and safe environment, 24-hour reception, Security door system and CCTV. The choice of rooms extends to Single, Standard Double, Superior Queen, Twin, Triple and Quad. Additional purpose-built facilities include a spacious guest lounge and well appointed communal kitchen. With on-site parking available (charges apply/bookings recommended), City Lodge is perfect for budget-conscious business travellers, family holiday stays, or world travellers wanting a high quality yet affordable experience. All daily rooms are serviced daily and have features such as large windows and Wi-Fi/broadband access (charges apply). Our communal lounge includes a big screen TV, book exchange, table tennis, and board games for relaxing or socializing with other travellers; we also have full laundry facilities on-site (charges apply). Our helpful, friendly staff can arrange tours, car hire, transfers or simply let you know what’s on in Auckland. Ask about our latest newsletter… What’s more, our clean, green, limited-service philosophy has recently been endorsed with a Qualmark Silver Environmental rating accreditation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about City Lodge

Address: 150 Vincent Street | Auckland Cbd, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Price Range: €60 - €97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — City Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Auckland Central
City Lodge Auckland, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from City Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from City Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“good room, great location near the downtown. clean. comfy beds. coffe, tean and hot water available”
537jorgej, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“lower floors might be cooler since there is no aircon”
JenB887, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Top Floor - private rooms with en suites”
Lee096, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Best view of Sky city Tower and skyline”
mahreenb2017, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Didn't get to the rooms”
kerry294, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
US$67* /night
View Deal
View all 10 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates