We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

SKYCITY Hotel

Show Prices
#11 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
SKYCITY Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,814 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,657: English reviews
Start your review of SKYCITY Hotel
 Click to rate
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here when we 1st came to New Zealand, we chose this hotel becoz of the location and the sky tower. Stayed 2 nights in total. We arrvied very early in the morning, the lobby was huge, staffs were very friendly. They suggested us some very good cafe so we could have breakfast /coffee before check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy R
Whanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Arrived in Auckland for the Adele concert had booked at Skycity as it was one of only few places left the Friday night stay cost $359 and the Saturday night $598.99 for the same room what a ripoff just because there is a concert in town they have to charge people extra and the room not very bid and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek Y
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Derek Y We appreciate your honesty in sharing your review of the disappointment you had encountered upon staying with us recently. I apologise that you were not happy with the changes in rates and if this had caused any inconveniences at all. Please rest assured SKYCITY Hotel offers dynamic pricing and is always competitive in charging the market rate,...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Reviews for this hotel seemed a little underwhelming and I was a little apprehensive about our stay. But as the other hotels in the area, including Skyland Grand, were booked up, this was one of our few options. In the end, it was quite nice. It was easy to get to the harbour and other sites around town. Check in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MayaChi
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MayaChi, Thank you very much for the time you have taken to provide us with your lovely, constructive and honest review of your recent stay here with us. I am pleased that on this occasion we were able to exceed your initial expectations of us. Here at SKYCITY Hotel we strive to provide all our guests the highest level...

Wales
Reviewed 1 week ago

good location, easy to access harbour and town. Clean rooms of good size. Busy hotel which has a casino and skytower. Was very disappointed by the view which was of a roof. Only staying one night so not really a problem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank filligirl
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear filligirl, Thank you so much for sharing your very honest feedback of your recent stay with us, as we only wish to ensure our standards and services are at the high standard that we strive to achieve we truly appreciate constructive feedback. Here at SKYCITY Hotel we are so fortunate to be a part of such a wonderful establishment...

Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great package and we were impressed. It included valet parking, great room, full breakfast provided in room and they give you a lovely lunch to take with you when you check out. Would definitely book another one of these packages. Staff were very professional and welcoming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LianneJ57
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LianneJ57 Thank you so much for taking the time to post your lovely review of your recent stay here with us at SKYCITY Hotel. I am absolutely thrilled that your stay here with us was enjoyable, comfortable and that you were happy with your Package. Here at SKYCITY Hotel we strive to provide our guests with the most exceptional...

Whitstable, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed here a couple of times on Business before in Auckland, probably due to the lack of a good competitor. I still feel like the hotel is a side show to the money making Casino. It hasn't really changed since it opened. The reception is a thoroughfare, cold and uninviting. Rooms are pretty good and the facilities are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FoxtrotUk
Chelmsford Essex
Reviewed 1 week ago

The reception staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean. It was what I would expect from a large city hotel, fairly bland and lacking in character but very suitable for purpose. We are not gamblers but were not really aware of the casino and its visitors. We liked the location as with a short stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank theoldone
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear theoldone, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your wonderful review of your recent stay here at SKYCITY Hotel. Here at SKYCITY Hotel we strive to provide our guests with the most exceptional service to ensure their stay here with us is as equally as exceptional. I am pleased to learn that you were provided with...

Holt, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here on two separate occasions whilst on a tour of the North Island . It is a busy hotel with both a casino and skytower combined which was impersonal and not the type of hotel we would normally use . Room was fine like most 4 star city hotels but the eating arrangements left a lot of room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jabber41
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jabber41 Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely and honest review of your recent stay here. I would like to send my greatest apologies for the impersonal service you felt we had provided you with on both occasions as this is not the standard that we wish to uphold. I do hope that...

Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed four nights and although the weather was very wet, there was plenty to do. The room was very spacious. I found the pillows and bed exceedingly comfortable. The casino was a few floors below and many restaurants were available, probably best to book these though to avoid disappointment. The sky tower was worth a visit too. Just be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kazza154
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kazza154 Thank you very much for your lovely review of your recent stay here with us, such encouraging feedback for our team to thrive on. I am please to learn that your stay was not only enjoyable and you got to take great advantage of our location and all our amenities, but that our rooms also served to be...

Regina, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We never knew this hotel was part of a Casino but it really didn't matter as you need to go up an escalator to get into the casino, otherwise just like any other hotel lobby. The rooms are a good size, beds are comfortable and no noise could be heard from the street or the casino. The location is fabulous,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PatMcKenzie
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PatMcKenzie, Thank you so much for sharing your lovely review of your recent stay here with us. Here at SKYCITY Hotel we are so very fortunate to be a part of a large and thriving establishment which provide our guests with such magnificent and various amounts of Amenities. I am thrilled to learn that you had taken advantage of...

529 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (507)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (104)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (116)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (200)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
2,370 reviews
1.0 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
3,970 reviews
0.4 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.8 km away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
2,138 reviews
0.3 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: €137 - €335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#10 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Family Hotel in Auckland
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from SKYCITY Hotel staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from SKYCITY Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“just ask for a view otherwise you end up with no view”
 of 5 bubbles filligirl, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I guess the higher the better for the view”
 of 5 bubbles FoxtrotUk, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you can get a fourth floor room with the water front view you won't be disappointed.”
 of 5 bubbles samoruk65, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Would choose high floor as it is a busy casino hotel and can be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles 873rizr, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Make sure they know what you need and they will do their utmost to help”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5