We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ponsonby Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Ponsonby Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

344 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 306: English reviews
Start your review of Ponsonby Backpackers
 Click to rate
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A typical city backpacker we were happy to find a room because we had only called them a few hours before arriving. We got their cabin out in the garden, which is a twin room so to say. the guy at the reception was super friendly and helpful with everything. The garden can be noisy at times, especially when people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jobst56
AklHostels, General Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi thanks making time to leave us a review, We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you found the staff friendly and helpful. We are very lucky to have such an awesome team here at Ponsonby. Unfortunately the garden can get noisy late at night with guests coming back late, however we...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was fairly relieved when I finally arrived at this backpackers just outside the city. It's on quite a hill if you are planning on walking to the city but this does also afford it quite the view from the street. My first thoughts when arriving were that this backpackers was a fairly normally slightly run down building for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eira J
AklHostels, General Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our old 19th century Villa to have lots of 'character' :) We are glad that you made the most of our awesome facilities from our comfy sofa's too our spacious outside garden. We do...

mathewra
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed just one night, wifi is good, of course, the various travelers are nice. Big TV room, great kitchen and outdoor BarB-Q We had a private room - bed was a bit soft. The shared bathroom is clean, 2 showers - - again clean and work well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank matthewra
AklHostels, General Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi thanks for leaving us such an awesome review, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our high speed broadband, along with our awesome outside garden area and kitchen facilities. :) Our housekeeping staff work hard to keep the place up to a high standard of cleanliness and we are glad that you found...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

good value for money, close to lots of amenities and a lot of parking near by. rooms were clean as were shower rooms. would be better if they had more wifi an hour seems a bit cheap. overall it was good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank orlaithis
AklHostels, General Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi thanks for leaving us a review, Amazing to hear that you found us to be 'good value for money' Ponsonby is a great suburb with lots of great bars and restaurants to keep your night going. e do charge for internet however it's very reasonably priced and like you have said we do give you 1 hour free to...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clean, quiet, friendly, apparently well managed place. I stayed there for only one night, but next time I would stay longer. Very nice neighborhood with cafes, pubs, eateries, interesting shops. Ca 2 km from downtown.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stepanka D
AklHostels, General Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi thanks for leaving us a review, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found us to be 'clean and quiet'. We do consider ourselves to be very lucky to be located in such an awesome suburb - Ponsonby has some of the best bars and restaurants in Auckland and still with easy access...

Dorchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights to end off our trip in NZ and whilst we tried to sell our car. We had had a pretty dire experience of a cheap CBD hostel when we arrived in Auckland that we decided we'd pay the extra 9$ (which is nothing) and stay somewhere with a better reputation. Not disappointed! This place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom E
AklHostels, General Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi thanks for leaving us such an awesome review, Stoked to hear that you were not disappointed with your stay with us especially after such a bad experience elsewhere. We are glad you enjoyed our spacious 7 bed dorm with it's new comfy mattresses. :) Our bathrooms are a wee bit small but like you have said we do keep...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The furniture and the room itself in the dorm were a bit 'dull' but the staff members of the hostel were always helpful and gave a lot of info with a smile. The bathroom and the kitchen were a bit old-fashioned but it was cleaned every evening. The garden and living room were very cosy and nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank globetrotterke2016
AklHostels, General Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi thanks for leaving us a review, Sorry to hear you found the furniture to be a bit dull, as we are an old 19th century villa it is hard to update too anything to modern as it would just look out of place in the surroundings. We are however happy to hear that you found the staff helpful and...

Westport, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Its a very nice place to stay. Kind people, they will help you whenever you have a question or so. Youre near the city and Ponsonby is a nice place to be with good restaurants. You have to pay for your wifi code. Thats the only thing what could be better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marianne u
AklHostels, General Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are stoked that you enjoyed your time with us and found the people and staff helpful. :) We do consider ourselves to be very lucky to be located in such an awesome suburb - Ponsonby has some of the best bars and restaurants in Auckland and still with easy...

Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights recently in this backpackers on a hill in the pleasant area in Ponsonby. Staff were very helpful for all our concerns and wants. Kitchen well equipped. This backpackers is just a half block to the inner loop bus stop and for 3 dollars one can go either way around the loop. There are two parking pads...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Feenixwest
AklHostels, General Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi thanks for taking time to leave us a review, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be 'helpful'. We are glad you enjoyed our kitchen with all it's awesome facilities to help you cook up a feast. We do consider ourselves lucky to be located in a great...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 10 January 2017

I loved the Ponsonby area. The hostel was good, surely not the one with most connecting People as everybody just arrived or spent a night before leaving NZ. But to me, it was a perfect start and perfect ending to my NZ travels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cge_cge
AklHostels, General Manager at Ponsonby Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi thanks for leaving us a review, Ponsonby sure is a great suburb with lots of great bars and restaurants nearby. We are stoked that you found us to be the perfect start and end to your travels here in NZ and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you didn't have enough time...

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
1:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.4 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#30 of 68 in Auckland
628 reviews
0.9 km away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#1 of 68 in Auckland
268 reviews
1.4 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
3,886 reviews
1.8 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
1,136 reviews
1.1 km away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 100 in Auckland
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ponsonby Backpackers is a beautiful 19th Century, character villa located right in the heart and soul of trendy Ponsonby filled with swanky boutiques and funky cafes and bars. We invite you to stay in our warm, cosy and spotlessly clean rooms, with welcoming and spacious communal areas that create the real feeling and vibe of your home away from home. Our award winning staff are the friendliest in town and are happy to give you all the information and advice you need for starting your NZ adventures! Travellers ourselves we know what backpackers want and look for in a place to call home, a true kiwi oasis. See you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ponsonby Backpackers

Address: 2 Franklin Road | Ponsonby, Auckland 1011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: €19 - €53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ponsonby Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponsonby Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Ponsonby Backpackers Auckland, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ponsonby Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Ponsonby Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Female dorm > less risk of people who snor :-)”
 of 5 bubbles globetrotterke2016, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“don't know... i depends on how much you want to spend”
 of 5 bubbles 42marianneu, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“try not to get a ground floor room as the Windows face directly to the pavement.”
 of 5 bubbles cge_cge, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms for 4 are very small”
 of 5 bubbles valantinh2016, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs would be better if you can swing that.”
 of 5 bubbles jonathons475, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5