We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

City Garden Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
City Garden Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 101: English reviews
Start your review of City Garden Lodge
 Click to rate
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 February 2017

For a backpackers, it's good and good price for the location. The house is also neat and full of character. Everything a bit but that's part of the attraction of this backpacker. We stayed there because we had to be in walking distance to the museum so it was perfect. The place, bedroom, share toilet and bathroom were clean. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NZ1981
Noumea, New Caledonia
Reviewed 6 February 2017

I like very much this place. I stayed one week and then, I came back after a while, very happy of that. The garden and terrace are very pleasant and this old wood house too. You can seat down, eat or relax in very different places and the road is very quiet. It is cleaned every day, sometimes not perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 964isabelle
Reviewed 1 February 2017

I stayed here for my first two weeks after moving to Auckland for work. The location is great, just a couple of minutes walk to Parnell Road and it's collection of cafés, galleries, restaurants and bars, plus a small convenience store and laundrette which are very close. It is also not far from the Domain Park (great for sunny days)...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kinder7
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here on two separate occasions and we're dissatisfied both times. It's an inexpensive option for the area and it's close to restaurants and coffee shops that are easy to walk to and there's a park nearby for running/walking. However the customer service was terrible. The owner is only on site at specific times so if you can't be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam V
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Well organized! Loved it there. Even some people were annoying in the night, but it's a hostel and this is not the hostel's fault. Staff is friendly and super helpful! Everything was clean and provided. I'd stay there again!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Benjamin F
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

I came from Thailand for work and holiday . I stay week in here so good hostel so peaceful , friendly recaption "Call to him and tell what you want " and not to far Auckland CBC . you can found everything you want near City Garden lodge .

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Saruj V
OurResponse360, Guest Relations Manager at City Garden Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Saruj! Thank you very much for giving us a positive feedback! We do appreciate our guests comments and reviews, which helps us improve our services to provide a satisfactory stay for all our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a friendly interaction with the staff. We take pride in having one of the friendliest...

Germany
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Hi Stayed here for 3 days at It was comfortable stay with nice hospitality. This hostel is already good, and is getting better with all the renovations. We will come back next year when we come Auckland. The staff was very friendly. Parking is limited, but we managed on the street with no problems. Wifi is free and unlimited, kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cooktim957
OurResponse360, Front Office Manager at City Garden Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest A pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you very much for giving us such a positive feedback. Your encouragement and appreciation helps us to work even harder to provide perfect service for all guests. At City Garden Lodge we take pride in creating a friendly, relaxed and comfortable ambiance for our guests traveling from across...

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Small, clean and organized hostel. Perfect for a long stay. It's actually an old-restored house where you can really feel at home. Lot of outside public area with beautiful gardens and view of the lights of SkyCity Tower after sunset. Great location. Beautiful and relax residential neighbourhood, just 15-20 minutes walking from city center and close to New Market, Auckland...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mau S
OurResponse360, Guest Relations Manager at City Garden Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Mau S Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and for your positive comments/feedback. You have actually done us a huge favor by talking about all that we offer and the neighborhood provides to a guest at City Garden Lodge! As you rightly pointed out, we are fortunate to have a historical building as our...

Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 19 July 2016

I've traveled many places in the world and never stayed at a hostel that is so disgustingly dirty and dishonest as this place. The facilities are of poor quality and grimy; I could fill the page with negativities about this hostel. Workers from the CBD live here and they rent the remainder of beds nightly. The only redeeming feature is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SoloTraveller082010
OurResponse360, Public Relations Manager at City Garden Lodge, responded to this review

It is unfortunate that you had such a negative experience, however, at City Garden Lodge we take pride in serving backpackers and travelers from across the globe. There are certain rules and regulations of our lodge, which few people do not follow and end up having negative experience. We are in the process of renovating our heritage property and hope...

New Zealand
Reviewed 15 June 2016

I have travel many places in new Zealand with lot of new friends, this is the place i had felt so happy at end of my travelling. This place is so good as homely, the people here are very friendly I recommend my friends to visit this hostel, the Really nice hostel to stay in. The staff were all very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jojames891
OurResponse360, Public Relations Manager at City Garden Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback! We are glad to have made your stay comfortable and enjoyable- that is always our endeavor. Yes..at City Garden Lodge we encourage a homely, friendly atmosphere for our backpackers to interact and enjoy the open spaces including the garden area and the cosy living rooms with books to browse on a rainy...

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 km away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 68 in Auckland
639 reviews
2.0 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 68 in Auckland
646 reviews
0.3 km away
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
#36 of 107 in Auckland
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Freemans Lodge & Apartments
2.1 km away
YMCA Hostel
YMCA Hostel
#13 of 107 in Auckland
235 reviews
1.8 km away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#17 of 107 in Auckland
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about City Garden Lodge

Address: 25 St Georges Bay Road | Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: €18 - €69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Garden Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your City Garden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Garden Hotel Auckland Central
City Garden Lodge Auckland, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from City Garden Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are light sensitive, ask to make sure your room is not one of those with a lot of windows”
 of 5 bubbles NZ1981, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“beautiful place and good location in auckland”
  • nice room
 of 5 bubbles cooktim957, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“move somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles SoloTraveller082010, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“nice place to stay in parnell”
 of 5 bubbles jojames891, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We had room 11 over the office which may be quieter at night.”
 of 5 bubbles 820antonyo, 5 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5