We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

City Garden Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
City Garden Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 97: English reviews
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Well organized! Loved it there. Even some people were annoying in the night, but it's a hostel and this is not the hostel's fault. Staff is friendly and super helpful! Everything was clean and provided. I'd stay there again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin F
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

I came from Thailand for work and holiday . I stay week in here so good hostel so peaceful , friendly recaption "Call to him and tell what you want " and not to far Auckland CBC . you can found everything you want near City Garden lodge .

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Saruj V
OurResponse360, Guest Relations Manager at City Garden Lodge, responded to this review

Kia Ora Saruj! Thank you very much for giving us a positive feedback! We do appreciate our guests comments and reviews, which helps us improve our services to provide a satisfactory stay for all our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a friendly interaction with the staff. We take pride in having one of the friendliest...

Germany
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Hi Stayed here for 3 days at It was comfortable stay with nice hospitality. This hostel is already good, and is getting better with all the renovations. We will come back next year when we come Auckland. The staff was very friendly. Parking is limited, but we managed on the street with no problems. Wifi is free and unlimited, kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cooktim957
OurResponse360, Front Office Manager at City Garden Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest A pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you very much for giving us such a positive feedback. Your encouragement and appreciation helps us to work even harder to provide perfect service for all guests. At City Garden Lodge we take pride in creating a friendly, relaxed and comfortable ambiance for our guests traveling from across...

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Small, clean and organized hostel. Perfect for a long stay. It's actually an old-restored house where you can really feel at home. Lot of outside public area with beautiful gardens and view of the lights of SkyCity Tower after sunset. Great location. Beautiful and relax residential neighbourhood, just 15-20 minutes walking from city center and close to New Market, Auckland...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mau S
OurResponse360, Guest Relations Manager at City Garden Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Mau S Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and for your positive comments/feedback. You have actually done us a huge favor by talking about all that we offer and the neighborhood provides to a guest at City Garden Lodge! As you rightly pointed out, we are fortunate to have a historical building as our...

Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 19 July 2016

I've traveled many places in the world and never stayed at a hostel that is so disgustingly dirty and dishonest as this place. The facilities are of poor quality and grimy; I could fill the page with negativities about this hostel. Workers from the CBD live here and they rent the remainder of beds nightly. The only redeeming feature is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SoloTraveller082010
OurResponse360, Public Relations Manager at City Garden Lodge, responded to this review

It is unfortunate that you had such a negative experience, however, at City Garden Lodge we take pride in serving backpackers and travelers from across the globe. There are certain rules and regulations of our lodge, which few people do not follow and end up having negative experience. We are in the process of renovating our heritage property and hope...

New Zealand
Reviewed 15 June 2016

I have travel many places in new Zealand with lot of new friends, this is the place i had felt so happy at end of my travelling. This place is so good as homely, the people here are very friendly I recommend my friends to visit this hostel, the Really nice hostel to stay in. The staff were all very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jojames891
OurResponse360, Public Relations Manager at City Garden Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback! We are glad to have made your stay comfortable and enjoyable- that is always our endeavor. Yes..at City Garden Lodge we encourage a homely, friendly atmosphere for our backpackers to interact and enjoy the open spaces including the garden area and the cosy living rooms with books to browse on a rainy...

Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

We were looking very last minute for a place in Auckland to stay and City Garden was one of the only places left with rooms. We stayed for 3 nights in a tiny twin bunk room with shared bathroom. With better management this could be a great hostel, but as it is we could not recommend City Garden to other...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Becki S
Camberley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2016

Former house of the Queen of Tonga, extended and with outbuildings. Main house divided into rooms and dorms. Tents in gardens. Full facilities, incl wooden dining table in area covered by plexiglass (it sometimes rains in Auckland). Self-service laundry. Friendly staff who didn't complain when we locked ourselves out at night and they had to drive over and unlock the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Antony O
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

We booked this hostel based on the reviews on trip advisor. Neither me nor my partner are strangers to hostels, we've both stayed in a fair few before and know they can be a mixed bag. But with the mostly positive reviews on trip advisor we believed this would be one of the better ones. It wasn't. We only stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dan M
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 March 2016

We came back here again after traveling NZ for 6 weeks. This is just like home for us away home. We have stayed for 11 nights here. It was comfortable stay with nice hospitality. This hostel is already good, and is getting better year by year. We will come back next year, too.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sato-Hisa S

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auckland
0.4 km away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 68 in Auckland
575 reviews
2.0 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#28 of 68 in Auckland
594 reviews
0.3 km away
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
#38 of 94 in Auckland
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Freemans Lodge & Apartments
2.8 km away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
3.4 km away
Uenuku lodge
Uenuku lodge
#66 of 241 in Auckland Region
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about City Garden Lodge

Address: 25 St Georges Bay Road | Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: €19 - €57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Garden Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your City Garden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Garden Hotel Auckland Central
City Garden Lodge Auckland, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from City Garden Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“beautiful place and good location in auckland”
  • nice room
 of 5 bubbles cooktim957, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“move somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles SoloTraveller082010, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“nice place to stay in parnell”
 of 5 bubbles jojames891, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“We had room 11 over the office which may be quieter at night.”
 of 5 bubbles 820antonyo, 5 May 2016 | Read review
“Two people wanting to avoid larger shared sleeping will enjoy the second floor, which is filled with many options.”
 of 5 bubbles benmcclung82, 9 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay