We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Auckland

8 Customs Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Britomart
    0.0 km
  • 4 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 2 days ago
Great spot for pre-cruise stays
This hotel is located an easy walk to cruise ship boarding and... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,505 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,273: English reviews
Prairie du Sac, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel is located an easy walk to cruise ship boarding and is in an area with a lot of shops and restaurants. In addition, it is close to the ferry for island excursions. The rooms are small, but nicely appointed (think Aloft Hotel), there is a rooftop bar, and the staff is very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booked the Mercure auckland as a get away for my wife's birthday. The newly renovated rooms are amazing and feels modern and elegant. The hotel also gave us a free room upgrade and left little desserts with complimentary drinks vouchers and a hand written birthday card as well. Made the day a lot more special. Very happy! Thanks to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
Wollongong
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is a good hotel in a great location but the construction noise from the renovations on floors 11/12 are very intrusive. Also, construction noise from their new driveway restricts access and is noisy. The rooms are nice and the staff very good but I'd give it a miss for a couple of months until it's all done. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Squizzynet
Mercure A, General Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Squizzynet, Thank you for your review and kind words towards the hotel. I do apologise for the construction noise, unfortunately it was demolishtion when you stayed so the noisest period of a refurbishment. We hope to see you again in the near future Kind Regards Zac Lumsden

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Overall our experience at this hotel was less than satisfactory, the building is old and requires major improvements to bring it up to the standard of an international chain. Double glazing is non existent and the internal walls are poorly sound insulated. One night we were kept up half the night with noise from the street below. Also be warned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DJTravels_12
Mercure A, General Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear DJTravels_12, Thank you for you review, disappointing to hear your comments regarding the hotel needing improvement when we have almost completed a full refurbishment of the entire building, including hush glass and double wall insulation. Regarding Wifi it is free for all our Loyalty guests which anyone can become part of and is complimentary to join. We do not...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I like the Mercure chain but this hotel should be avoided until renovations are finished. We paid for an upgraded harbor view room and were placed on the 10th floor. The 11th floor is under construction at the moment and you can hear everything. Was woken up at 8am by the sound of a hammer and saw.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
Mercure A, General Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Colin M, Thank you for taking the time to post a review, It is disappointing to hear that you were woken so early due to the contracting company, I do apologise for this and will ensure this is better controlled moving forward. Thank again for your review, Kind Regards Zac Lumsden

Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent location being in the middle of CBD, also extremely close to Queen's wharf. We literally walked to our cruise ship easily pushing our luggage from the hotel. Being a member of ACCOR I also enjoyed the free Wi-Fi. Breakfast however was not included and we had a hard time finding any stores open on Jan 1st. Otherwise everything else...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
Mercure A, General Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Brain K, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. Fantastic to see that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future . Kind Regards Zac Lumsden

Monza, Italy
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Mercure Hotel Auckland for a couple of nights upon our arrival to New Zealand. This hotel was the most expensive accomodation we paid for during our trip, and we found it not worth the money despite the very central location and the room view (our room was at the 7th floor, overlooking the harbour). We really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BurgerQueen78
Mercure A, General Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Burger Queen, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. It is disappointing to hear that the hotels cleanliness was not up to your expectations as we do pride ourselves on this. We hope that we see you again in the near future and the hotel is up to the standard you expect. Kind Regards Zac Lumsden

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As per the other reviews the Hotel is in a great location, the staff are friendly and it's clean and comfortable. We had a room at the back of the Hotel on level 6. The noice from the nightclub below was unbearable. We stayed for 3 nights. Saturday night was the worst night I have ever spend in a Hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
Mercure A, General Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Catherine, Thank you for you kind words regarding the hotel, it is very central to everything. Unfortunately the down side to being in a destination point of Auckland every one comes to this area for dining and socialising. Again thank you for your review Kind Regards Zac Lumsden.

Royal Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Here to Repatriate a patient back to his country. The hotel was arranged by the Insurance company. But I must say, it's right in the middle of Downtown Aukland. Walking to everything, on corner of Queen and Custom . Very nice rooms spacious, with amenities, very nice restaurant on the 13 floor with a beautiful view of the city and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank docbisho
Mercure A, General Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear docbisho, Thank you for your positive review, it is very pleasing reading that you enjoyed the hotel and the amazing surroundings. We hope to welcome you back in the near future, Kind Regards Zac Lumsden

Amberley, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

This Mercure has had extensive re-furbishing since our last visit and all facilities are, clean, modern and comfortable. The staff are helpful and friendly; check-in and out were handled speedily and accurately. The hotel's location is so convenient for access to all rail, ferries and most bus services, the art gallery and gardens plus shopping [ if one must !]...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank WorldWideKiwi
Mercure A, General Manager at Mercure Auckland, responded to this review

Dear WorldWideKiwi, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is always a pleasure receiving positive feedback and hearing that the staff delivered efficient and friendly service. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future, Kind Regards , Zac Lumsden

435 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (400)
Viewed
Room/Suite (88)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (156)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 km away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 km away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.5 km away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#12 of 68 in Auckland
2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#7 of 68 in Auckland
1,098 reviews
0.5 km away
Rydges
Rydges
#14 of 68 in Auckland
1,824 reviews
0.9 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Vue Restaurant
Vue Restaurant
Cuisines: European, New Zealand, International
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking the picturesque Waitemata Harbour in the heart of Auckland city and located adjacent to Britomart transport centre, the hotel is an easy walk to the waterfront and the best shopping, restaurant and nightlife districts in Auckland. Mercure Hotel Auckland has conference facilities for up to 300 delegates, the Vertigo Restaurant and Bar located on the top floor offering magnificent views of the city and harbour as well as a gym and valet parking. All rooms come with broadband Internet access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Auckland

Address: 8 Customs Street, Auckland 1001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: €114 - €321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Accor Hotel Auckland
Mercure Auckland New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Auckland staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Taumarunui, New Zealand
2 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Auckland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a room as high up as possible, to minimise street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles DJTravels_12, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“only on the resonated floor”
 of 5 bubbles Traveller_EPMEL, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Water facing”
 of 5 bubbles hsoof, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors and facing north (harbor) may keep the noise down somewhat.”
 of 5 bubbles dhmacher, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Has a good view of the harbor, but you can enjoy that from the top floor where the breakfast/restaurant is.”
 of 5 bubbles SMUProf, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5