We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Auckland City

Hostelworld.comUS$56*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$77*
US$56*
US$77*
US$77*
US$56*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Auckland City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for YHA Auckland City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 213: English reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

Room was pretty basic but comfortable and the bathroom was clean with a great shower. The hostel was in a good location for everywhere we wanted to go. Wifi was super fast and free which was an added bonus. Staff on reception were friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Becky S
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2016

The rooms are extremely basic. There is just a bed, old wooden desk and shelving unit. The room was clean enough but could have been better. The toilet and shower was small as there was only two toilets and one shower on the floor which isn't great. The location is good and there was free wifi. Overall it was fine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aisleena
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland City, responded to this review

Hi Aisleena, thanks for your feedback, the hostel will undergo a complete refurbishment, starting in May, which will address the room furniture and add en-suite rooms to each floor which will help with the shower and toilets. Kind Regards Steve Collier Area Manager.

Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed 29 February 2016

This is a budget accommodation (a hostel), so i did not expect much from it. However, it still manages to fall below my expectation. Location: The location is quite good. It is just one block from K Road area, with many restaurants, bars, cafe, and shops. It is also near a SkyBus (the bus to Auckland Airport) stop. If you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Saricie_Q
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland City, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback Saricie. We will look into the coverage of the Wifi in the hostel to see if we can improve this. Later this year the hostel will undergo a full refurbishment which will add en-suite room, along with reconfigured standard rooms providing more space, storage lockers and power points. Unfortunately we cannot control what people do outside...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 February 2016

I stayed here only for one night. This place is really easy to reach from the airport. Just take the skybus from Auckland domestic terminal and it will almost reach you to the door. The front desk staff (everyone) is polite, friendly, helpful, smile a lot, and go out of their way to help you. I have stayed in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arin B
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland City, responded to this review

Hi Arin, thanks for your balanced review and we are very happy to hear the positive comments about our staff. I will pass these onto them. With regards to the hostel facilities we are undertaking a full refurbishment this year, which will address some of the points you have raised including providing en-suite rooms in the hostel. Thanks Steve Collier...

Whitianga, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 February 2016 via mobile

Nice place easy to find. Clean room and nice helpful staff. No parking available. Two downsides building was overly hot and was hard to get to sleep due to the heat and I would recommend wearing jandels into the showers. Overall nice place for price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank food_killer96
Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewed 8 February 2016 via mobile

After action packed days going to the Auckland Nines, exploring Auckland by foot and tacking the Queen Street Hill you just need a rejuvenating sleep so you're ready to go again the next day. Well you won't get that here! We had a bed that was so soft and non supportive that it gave you new aches and pains. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland City, responded to this review

Hi Rebecca, thanks for your feedback, and sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. This summer has been hotter than normal, unfortunately, for for safety reasons we are not able to give fans to customers and our windows are also restricted for safety. This impacts us mainly during a short period over summer and we recognise this is...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 February 2016

Hostel is based on an efficient flow of lots of people existing in the building. Little or no issue was encountered during my one night in the complex. Kitchen facilities are very clean, efficient and no issue was encountered during my stay. The room was clean and comfortable. Shared with one other person. Noise was as expected - movement in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank telomere1435
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland City, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your great feedback, we will let our team know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards - Steve Collier

Reviewed 31 January 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff, checked in at around 11 pm. They already did the cashup so i didn't need to pay, and also they didn't want my passport as guarantee. So it already felt an laidback place :) Also received a free upgrade to a private dorm, i think i initially booked a 4 or 6 share so that was cool. :D...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 January 2016 via mobile

Hostel was very basic. Stayed in a 6 person room, plenty of plugs but it was quite loud in the street and the windows didn't seem to prevent that. That said, it is right in the centre of town, just off Queen Street which is a huge plus. It is at the top of a very steep hill but that's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Syphillis
New Zealand
Reviewed 27 January 2016

YHA Queenstown was good. be like YHA Queenstown YHA Auckland :/. Jokes apart, a really basic place. You've got to make a massive climb up the city road from Queens street to reach the place. After a long day of backpacking and touring in the summer, getting back to the room isn't a comforting thought as rooms can get quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SandeepM1789

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 km away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 67 in Auckland
536 reviews
0.2 km away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#17 of 113 in Auckland
266 reviews
0.6 km away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 113 in Auckland
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
YMCA Hostel
YMCA Hostel
#13 of 113 in Auckland
242 reviews
0.8 km away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
1.3 km away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
YHA Auckland City is the ideal backpacker hostel to start or finish your New Zealand adventure. The hostel combines the excitement of the city with a safe and secure environment. Located at the top of Auckland’s Queen Street, this former hotel has backpacker accommodation comprising mainly twin and double rooms with some multi-share rooms and some of our rooms have views over Auckland city. There is a sun deck on the 3rd floor with a BBQ. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Auckland City

Address: cnr City Rd and Liverpool St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: €22 - €67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — YHA Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your YHA Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Yha Hotel Auckland Central
YHA Auckland City New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Auckland City staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Auckland City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Remember to bring a lock as locker is provided, but not lock”
edmondtolre, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“Try for a room away from the locked door to the floor as this area is busy with people coming and going.”
dianeperth, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The seventh floor has some views.”
BossandMrsBoss, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“6 bed dorm is ok with 2 USB charging port and 2 sockets”
37cliffl, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“view of sky tower was nice.”
PacificDiana, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$56* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$77
Booking.comUS$56
Hotels.comUS$77
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates