We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

YHA Auckland City

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Auckland City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

235 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for YHA Auckland City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 186: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

I Really enjoyed my time at this hostel. The location was great, had everything we needed, we spent 2 nights here. Fast free wifi, clean, lovely sun deck and big kitchen, the staff also very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again!

Helpful?
Thank Becca G
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Really good hostel really cheap to be in Auckland. It was really good, i went here twice! toilets and showers are clean and beds are pretty comfortable. The location is good (even thought some other hostels have a better location, more central) but since the hostel is really good it didn't matter to me. People working there were nice and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Labby0790
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

It has all we need for a budget hotel. Simple and nice. Special thanks to the person on duty at Receptionist in the evening whom i approached, Venk. He is super helpful, savvy with travel info and has a big heart. Not to mention he denies entry of a drunk guy without an ID for the comfort and safety of... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Sky L
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

Room was pretty basic but comfortable and the bathroom was clean with a great shower. The hostel was in a good location for everywhere we wanted to go. Wifi was super fast and free which was an added bonus. Staff on reception were friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
1 Thank Becky S
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2016

The rooms are extremely basic. There is just a bed, old wooden desk and shelving unit. The room was clean enough but could have been better. The toilet and shower was small as there was only two toilets and one shower on the floor which isn't great. The location is good and there was free wifi. Overall it was fine... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aisleena
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland City, responded to this review

Hi Aisleena, thanks for your feedback, the hostel will undergo a complete refurbishment, starting in May, which will address the room furniture and add en-suite rooms to each floor which will help with the shower and toilets. Kind Regards Steve Collier Area Manager. More 

Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
214 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2016

This is a budget accommodation (a hostel), so i did not expect much from it. However, it still manages to fall below my expectation. Location: The location is quite good. It is just one block from K Road area, with many restaurants, bars, cafe, and shops. It is also near a SkyBus (the bus to Auckland Airport) stop. If you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Saricie_Q
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland City, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback Saricie. We will look into the coverage of the Wifi in the hostel to see if we can improve this. Later this year the hostel will undergo a full refurbishment which will add en-suite room, along with reconfigured standard rooms providing more space, storage lockers and power points. Unfortunately we cannot control what people do outside... More 

Travellers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2016

I stayed here only for one night. This place is really easy to reach from the airport. Just take the skybus from Auckland domestic terminal and it will almost reach you to the door. The front desk staff (everyone) is polite, friendly, helpful, smile a lot, and go out of their way to help you. I have stayed in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Arin B
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland City, responded to this review

Hi Arin, thanks for your balanced review and we are very happy to hear the positive comments about our staff. I will pass these onto them. With regards to the hostel facilities we are undertaking a full refurbishment this year, which will address some of the points you have raised including providing en-suite rooms in the hostel. Thanks Steve Collier... More 

Whitianga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2016 via mobile

Nice place easy to find. Clean room and nice helpful staff. No parking available. Two downsides building was overly hot and was hard to get to sleep due to the heat and I would recommend wearing jandels into the showers. Overall nice place for price.

Helpful?
Thank food_killer96
Toowoomba, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2016 via mobile

After action packed days going to the Auckland Nines, exploring Auckland by foot and tacking the Queen Street Hill you just need a rejuvenating sleep so you're ready to go again the next day. Well you won't get that here! We had a bed that was so soft and non supportive that it gave you new aches and pains. Our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland City, responded to this review

Hi Rebecca, thanks for your feedback, and sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. This summer has been hotter than normal, unfortunately, for for safety reasons we are not able to give fans to customers and our windows are also restricted for safety. This impacts us mainly during a short period over summer and we recognise this is... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2016

Hostel is based on an efficient flow of lots of people existing in the building. Little or no issue was encountered during my one night in the complex. Kitchen facilities are very clean, efficient and no issue was encountered during my stay. The room was clean and comfortable. Shared with one other person. Noise was as expected - movement in... More 

Helpful?
Thank telomere1435
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland City, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your great feedback, we will let our team know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards - Steve Collier More 

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#28 of 68 in Auckland
593 reviews
0.1 km away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#17 of 94 in Auckland
240 reviews
0.3 km away
YMCA Hostel
YMCA Hostel
#12 of 94 in Auckland
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#2 of 94 in Auckland
254 reviews
1.0 km away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
0.4 km away
City Lodge
City Lodge
#5 of 94 in Auckland
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
YHA Auckland City is the ideal backpacker hostel to start or finish your New Zealand adventure. The hostel combines the excitement of the city with a safe and secure environment. Located at the top of Auckland’s Queen Street, this former hotel has backpacker accommodation comprising mainly twin and double rooms with some multi-share rooms and some of our rooms have views over Auckland city. There is a sun deck on the 3rd floor with a BBQ. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Auckland City

Address: cnr City Rd and Liverpool St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: €21 - €67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — YHA Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your YHA Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Yha Hotel Auckland Central
YHA Auckland City New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Auckland City staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Auckland City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Clean and quiet rooms, organized”
 of 5 bubbles marlonjpinheiro, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try not to have a room facing the parking lot on Liverpool Street.”
 of 5 bubbles Saricie_Q, 29 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Avoid this YHA if you can, till they renovate and improve their quality of rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles arinbasu, 12 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Does get a little cold!”
 of 5 bubbles bethm91, 6 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a higher floor as the 1st and 2nd floor look out onto the noisy street and sidewalk.”
 of 5 bubbles dodgenadi, 12 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay