We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for SKYCITY Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,077: English reviews
Worthington, Ohio
Reviewed 27 February 2015

My daughter and I spent two nights in Feb following a cruise. I have to say, I think our room may have been the coolest (as in a chic way) hotel room I have ever experienced. Sooo modern and sleek. Everything was clean. Room was spacious with comfortable, full sized beds. We were on the 18th floor, and the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaK840
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CynthiaK840 Thank you for your review of The Grand Hotel. I am delighted that both you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to passing your feedback onto team at our next meeting. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive...

Beckenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2015

Our room at the tower end of the hotel was lovely,a really spacious room with a six foot very comfortable bed. Immediately outside our room there's was a big sofa and chairs which were great to watch the brave people who were jumping from the top of the tower on the wire. The reception and both check in and out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Len L
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Len L Many thanks for your review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us. We have a great deal of restaurants to choose from at SKYCITY each with a different style of cuisine – something to suit everyone! I hope you enjoyed the remainder of your stay in New Zealand...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 24 February 2015

Stayed there three nights in February. Harbour-view room. Perfectly clean and spacious, and the bed was very comfortable. One of the best-stocked amenities bars I have ever experienced; the second drawer had toothpaste and toothbrush, Barocca, sanitary napkins, Panadol, etc. In-room hot breakfast was perfectly on time and was just stunningly good (though expensive). Suggest you try the wonderful Federal...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Peter F
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter F Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Grand Hotel I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay and would return to us. Breakfast at Gusto and through In Room Dining is delicious and the team will be delighted to receive your comments. We continuously review the items in our minibar and...

Silicon Valley
Reviewed 24 February 2015

We stayed here two nights. The rooms are luxurious and met expectations in terms of comfort and amenities. The bed was comfortable with nice linens and pillows. The bathroom was stocked with toiletries and the towels were of a higher quality. The room we had was reasonably spacious with a couch and desk. WiFi was included in the room rate...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LoveTheSunshine82
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LoveTheSunshine82 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Grand Hotel, I am certain that our readers will find it very informative. Feedback is of great importance to us at The Grand Hotel and your comments both postive and suggestions where we can improve are much appreciated and have been received by all the...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 23 February 2015

This hotel is just amazing, from the welcoming and helpful staff, to the great location - and the room itself was just lovely, nicest hotel bathroom i have ever experienced! Highly recommended, would definitely stay again. Plus we had the added excitement of a little brush with fame (not that we knew it at the time ;) )

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CjSydney73
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CjSydney73 Thank you for your review following your recent stay at The Grand Hotel. Ensuring our guests have a great experience is really important to us and I am delighted you had a great time. We hope to welcome you back soon! Kind Regards Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive I SKYCITY Grand Hotel alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Reviewed 23 February 2015

Great location, excellent staff, delicious food served at the restaurants and extremely quiet rooms. We loved every minute of our stay here and would recommend without hesitation. Proximity close in the city centre which allowed you to walk everywhere.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle G
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michelle G Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Grand Hotel. It's great to read that you had an enjoyable stay and thank you for recommending us. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive I SKYCITY Grand Hotel alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Essex
Reviewed 23 February 2015

Probably one of the grandest hotels we've ever stayed in. Everything has been designed to within an inch of its life, from the brown pinstriped suits and top hats of the concierges to the huge chandeliers and art works! Super efficient service, everything ran like clockwork. Must be a huge emphasis on staff training. Room was spotless, bed extremely comfy,,there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EssexImp
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Essexlmp Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay – we take real pride in delivering great service and they team will be thrilled to receive your feedback. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in New Zealand and we have the opportunity to welcome you back in...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 February 2015

A perfect gift from our children for our 50th Wedding Anniversary. We were treated so well by all the staff at the Hotel, and cannot fault the service and kindness shown. This Hotel has to be the best in Auckland in every way.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flossie526
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Flossie526 Thank you for your review of The Grand Hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your special stay with us and the team will take pleasure in reading your comments. We hope to welcome you back soon! Kind Regards Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive I SKYCITY Grand Hotel alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Nth Qld
Reviewed 21 February 2015

Stayed here two nights for our 50th wedding anniversary. The room was spotless and we had a great view. Located right across from the Skytower and Casino and close to quite a few restaurants and cafes. Staff were pleasant and we enjoyed the fact we could walk everywhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DesperadoNthQld
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DesperadoNthQld Thank for your review of The Grand Hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed your special stay us and we hope to welcome you back again soon! Congratulations again from all the team. Kind Regards Alison Borland I Guest Relations Executive I SKYCITY Grand Hotel alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Cornelius, North Carolina
Reviewed 20 February 2015

Nice room, good wifi and great view of waterfront. Used laundry service and was satisfied. A couple of aggravating things included: A tiny shower Electrical outlets had tables too close on bottom that prevented their use when adapters were necessary. However, the most negative thing, was the poor service for breakfast. I can't describe the many problems. I would still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank george60898
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Dear george60898 Thank for reviewing your recent stay with us. Although you enjoyed your stay, I was disappointed to read that there were certain aspects of your stay where we did not meet your expectations. So our team can pin point where we did not deliver, can you please contact me with more detail? Thank you again for your feedback...

1,132 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (660)
Viewed
Bathroom (60)
Viewed
View from Room (95)
Viewed
Room/Suite (165)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (88)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (209)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (423)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
City View King Room (61)
Viewed
Grand Presidential Suite (115)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Premium Luxury Harbour View King Room (116)
Viewed
Premium Luxury Harbour View Twin Room (56)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.9 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
3,629 reviews
1.1 km away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#7 of 68 in Auckland
1,053 reviews
0.1 km away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#12 of 68 in Auckland
1,715 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 68 in Auckland
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover an oasis of luxury in the heart of Auckland’s vibrant city. Beautifully appointed, modern and spacious rooms are just the start of this 5-star experience. Stunning views, award-winning dining, the iconic Sky Tower and the tranquil East Day Spa await you. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 

Additional Information about SKYCITY Grand Hotel

Address: 90 Federal St, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: €175 - €314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SKYCITY Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your SKYCITY Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky City Hotel
Skycity Grand Auckland
Hotel Skycity Grand
SKYCITY Grand Hotel Auckland, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Auckland
#1 Business Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#5 Family Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from SKYCITY Grand Hotel staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from SKYCITY Grand Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“definitely ask for a room with a view it is worth the extra bucks.”
 of 5 bubbles shirleybossy, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The higher up the better view, but often the longer you wait for a lift... totally worth it though!”
 of 5 bubbles , 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The luxury suites have lots of space and great views”
 of 5 bubbles mattr789, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a room with views of the harbour on level 16 well worth it”
 of 5 bubbles Kiwis2NthShoreAuck, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“As for a harbor view”
 of 5 bubbles Traveller0703, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay