We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

424 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 382: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

This place is seriously over priced at $320 per night!!The only thing it has slightly going for it is location. It's room decor is tired and dated, it's noisy, the walls are paper thin and can hear people in neighbouring rooms talking, jack hammers and drills went on into the evening and started again at 7.30am. I have travelled the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrevorMcNZ
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed two nights this week and for the price per night it was very underwhelming. I know they are going through some renovations so hopefully it gets better but I am not sure I would "risk it." The rooms were very outdated, the beds were. It comfortable, the shower was a plastic wall insert like it was an after thought,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ColinWalker00
CPG-Hotels, Executive Assistant Manager at Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Good Morning ColinWalker00 and Thank you for your review of the Grand Windsor Auckland Hotel. Sorry to hear that you felt we were ordinary. I acknowledge and accept we have some areas to improve on and your feedback will certainly help in this regard. You are correct in your assessment in that we are currently undergoing a full refurbishment starting...

Omokoroa Beach, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked in for one night for a nearby function. Expected it to be old and noisy but we were so surprised at how lovely and grand this place is. We had room 303 which is at the front of the building facing onto queen street. The room was large, a hall, a corner with table and chairs, an easy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carlene mabey m
CPG-Hotels, Executive Assistant Manager at Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you carlene mabey m for your review of the Grand Windsor Auckland Hotel. So pleased to read your review in that you enjoyed our Team's service, location of the room, as well as all that your room had to offer in terms of services and furnishings. The Hotel does have a Grand 'feel' about it and we are currently...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came into auckland for a one night stay on my way home to Australia. The hotel location was great, the staff were friendly, then it all went to hell when we settled into bed, the nightclub next door sounded like it was in the next room, they turned of the music at precisely 5.06am. I can tell you this with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
CPG-Hotels, Executive Assistant Manager at Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Michael E and Thank you for your review of The Grand Windsor Auckland Hotel. My sincere and personal apologies you were disturbed by noise on two fronts. The Hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment however contractors do not work on floors during the time you have noted in the morning, there is some work being done next door...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night. The room was not good, a lovely view of a row of air conditioners. Ironically the air con on our room didn't work. Music from nearby clubs went on through the whole night - until 5am on a Wednesday night! We didn't get any sleep and were very disappointed. Avoid!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank r_eddie_monds
CPG-Hotels, Executive Assistant Manager at Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Good Afternoon r_eddie_monds and Thank you for your review of the Grand Windsor Auckland Hotel. Truly sorry to hear that your stay overall was impacted by noise and the air con not working. I do hope you were able to advise us of this during your stay in order we had the opportunity to try and rectify and minimise these...

Gisborne, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked through booking.com - Requested a CC form so could pay for the hotel beforehand (as had others checking in before me). Emailed and requested and back and forth finally got a form. At check in the computer didn't have my name on file even though I booked and paid for the booking under my name (but had put my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sierra P
CPG-Hotels, Executive Assistant Manager at Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Good Morning and Thank you Sierra P for your review of the Grand Windsor Hotel. Sorry to hear you had a little bit of trouble pre your arrival however happy we were able to have this resolved for you. Very pleased you enjoyed the Hotel's location as well as our very comfortable beds. Hoping you enjoyed your concert as well....

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location was great in that we were close to the harbour and lots of choices of where to eat BUT the nightclub next door was thumping music until 4am!!!! Not much sleep was had. I also found the 2 stairs down from the bathroom to be unsafe and not clearly marked with a safety warning. The staff were reasonably...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Max8699
CPG-Hotels, SDM at Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Max8699, We thank you for your feedback and the time you spent in writing us a review. We are sorry for the noise experienced and we will continue our efforts to mitigate the issue with Auckland authorities. Your comments are much appreciated in following up with them and the neighbourhood. We will also follow up on your feedbacks about...

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Location is perfect for Queen Street but that is were it ends. The thumping nightclub right behind your head keeps you up, so be sure to take ear plugs. (Or as another advisor said, get them from reception - kind of explains it really?). This may only apply for guests on the first few floors on the harbour side so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mat410
CPG-Hotels, SDM at Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear Mat410, Thank you for taking some time in writing us a review. We are really sorry that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. The noise coming from surrounding venues is an issue we are working on together with Auckland Council and your comments will help us on this pursuit. As you mention, our hotel is under...

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

was highly disappointed when I got to my room at night to get sleep to find out that there was a nightclub situated right beside the hotel so going to sleep was not going to be an option. only other room available was tiny shabby and still the same price as I found out at checkout not good value for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thepatricks2016
CPG-Hotels, DM at Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear thepatricks2016, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience in our hotel. We are sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Feedbacks such as yours are very important in order for us to mitigate noise coming from neighborhood. Your comments will be shared with the business owners and Noise control Auckland. Please do not hesitate...

Wavell Heights
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

As the name suggests, the Grand Windsor in Auckland is an older style hotel with old-fashioned touches of elegance still lingering about it. If the style suits you, you will be well looked after by the staff. Foyer set off the street. Comfortable room and refurbished bathroom. Located a block or two back from the waterfront, close to ferry terminal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 842brucec
N-Caffardo, Duty Manager at Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Dear 842Brucec, Thank you so much for taking the time in writing us a review. Comments such as yours for sure are a great incentive in our team’s constant search for a great service. We’re pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you again soon. Kind regards Carol, Duty Manager

143 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (117)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 km away
Mercure Auckland
Mercure Auckland
#30 of 68 in Auckland
2,458 reviews
0.4 km away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.1 km away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
1,056 reviews
0.1 km away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#15 of 68 in Auckland
1,584 reviews
0.6 km away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#51 of 68 in Auckland
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by the shopping and entertainment streets of the waterfront. Grand Windsor Hotel blends a protected historic building with chic, contemporary interior design. It boasts a great location in amongst the smart boutiques of Queen Street, right in the heart of Auckland and just off the scenic harbour. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland

Address: 58 - 60 Queen Street | next to Louis Vuitton Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Park Regis Auckland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: €117 - €287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Windsor Auckland
Mercure Hotel Windsor Auckland
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay there”
 of 5 bubbles Max8699, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“It is the centre of the city for street traffic so be prepared to juggle the crowds.”
 of 5 bubbles 842brucec, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles karangaroas, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were at the front of the hotel and didn't hear any nightclub noise.”
 of 5 bubbles MichelleGarveyWalker, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room far from night club”
 of 5 bubbles Nadeera115, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay