We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
See all 66 hotels in Auckland Central

The Surrey Hotel

191 reviews
Save
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (16)
Pool & Beach (7)
Overview
  • Excellent14%
  • Very good29%
  • Average39%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“tudor style”(4 reviews)
“indoor pool”(9 reviews)
“surrey pub”(3 reviews)
Wifi
Free Parking
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Room Service
Family Rooms
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (191)Write a Review
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
27
55
66
20
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
27
55
66
20
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstudor styleindoor poolsurrey pubprivate courtyardroom arrangementsbathroom looked like it had beenauckland zoocity fringeeden parkbit dateddecent hotelponsonby roadgood nights sleeptop floorfull kitchensupermarketdeficiencies
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Desperately in need of upgrade. Noisy, squeaky doors, TV's not working, friends towel rail fell off wall & shower over bath which is not good for over 60's. Food average. Small swimming pool with no handrail.

Thank Mary K
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited the Surrey Pub for a play and had a meal afterwards. Excellent fare for pub fare - everybody had beautifully cooked food. I had a steak, rare, and usually, even at expensive restaurants, chefs cook it at best medium rare. This was perfect. Kids...More

Thank Crystal_nz
Reviewed 6 December 2017

I met friends here for drinks and nibbles. The food is typical bar food but it was tasty and not too expensive. The staff were great and always trying to make sure we had everything. The bar itself has an English theme going on which...More

Thank serina29
Response from Denise K, General Manager at The Surrey HotelResponded 7 December 2017

Great to hear you enjoyed your evening. We look forward to welcoming you back here again.

Reviewed 12 November 2017

Came to this hotel for a function and was disappointed with the quality of food, considering how much we had to pay. Not quite enough food to satisfy people, and the deserts were especially disappointing, very repetitive dishes and not much choice. We also were...More

Thank michmegan
Response from Denise K, General Manager at The Surrey HotelResponded 7 December 2017

The cats awards dinner was the function you attended and we felt that you were very well catered for. Your organiser booked for 50 and only 35 attended your glass of wine was $9.50. ( We charged for 35) I was on duty that night...More

Reviewed 10 November 2017

Really enjoyed our stay here and appreciated the excellent customer service from staff. Very polite and friendly. We stayed here on several occasions and enjoyed our stay on every occasion. Thanks very much! :)

Thank dragostesun
Response from Denise K, General Manager at The Surrey HotelResponded 7 December 2017

So good to hear you had a nice stay. We have some lovely staff at the Surrey and I am very proud to be their Manager.

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345637
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Room Service
Dry Cleaning
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Self-Serve Laundry
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Indoor pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Heated pool
Details
Price range
US$125 - US$204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#35 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$125 - US$204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#35 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (38)
Room & Suite (16)
Pool & Beach (7)
Dining (6)
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Bathroom (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Stephanie F
26 July 2016|
Answer
Response from Denise K | Property representative |
Unfortunately we do not have a hotel shuttle service although there are shuttles available at the airport that will bring you to the hotel. We would recommend that you use "Super Shuttles" !
0
Votes
Room Tips
"do not choose lower floor where pool is located. rooms need refurbishment."
Read review
"Stay at a different hotel"
Read review
"If you stay in the motel, ask for an upper room to reduce street noise."
Read review
"When booking remember that its motel is across the road, not onsite."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite