We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,513 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,393: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

A good luxury hotel .Restaurants and service excellent though expensive but I think Auckland is at this time of year. Decor was very good and sleep quality very good . Shower had lots of power and. Bathrooms were large with a bath tub.Good storage in wardrobe and drawers.Turndown service and amenities were excellent . One small thing .... I don't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rogerperthaustralia
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The Sofitel is within walking distance of the ferries, shopping and sites near the harbor. Pricey and parking is $45 so would suggest if you're traveling to other parts get your rental car after your stay at the hotel. They stuck to their 2 pm checkin but would have been nice to get into our room after an overnight flight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have now stayed at the Sofitel three times in the last two months and have found the hotel to provide a consistently high standard of service. Everyone on property is friendly and attentive. The wait staff in the restaurant where I eat breakfast every morning remember me from visit to visit. My one complaint with the hotel is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelBNolan
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour MelBNolan, Thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience with us at the Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback on the delivery of service from our friendly and attentive ambassadors. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us on business and I hope to be able to welcome...

scottsdale
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had reserved a Jr. Suite with an internal water view/city view. Upon checking, we were informed the hotel was fully booked and all internal water view rooms were taken. One would think we'd have a city view. WRONG! Upon entering our suite, all the draperies were closed making the room very dark. I went to see our "city view"...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sonorankris
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour sonorankris, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay with us at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. Please rest assured that we do not assign rooms to our guests based on arrival times but on preferences; I apologize if the room allocated to you initially was not to your liking and I understand that...

La Jolla, California
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel Auckland. The hotel is in a very convenient location and we were able to walk almost everywhere. The hotel is nicely decorated and the staff were attentive. The downstairs cafe was great for coffee and light breakfast, and we appreciated the fresh kiwi juice always on offer in the lobby. Our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SDiego5
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Sofitel viaduct harbour is in the quiet part Auckland's harbour scene, far enough to have some peace but close enough to walk to most of central Auckland's attractions. The rooms are new with views of the internal courtyard or over viaduct harbour. It is pretty close to apartments so privacy is limited at night with drawn blinds a requirement. Valet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lcksyd
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful site but unlike other Sofitel bed wasn't great , below average pillows and " city view". was bus station and construction site . Got stuck in elevator as staff did tell us key card had special swipe pad inside elevator (unmarked) . Thermostat dodgy

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Theresa_dobson
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour Theresa_dobson, Thank you very much for sharing your experience during your stay at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. We value your honest key points as it allows us to improve our service; I have personally talked to the Front Office Manager to ensure we are communicating effectively to all our guests on how the lifts operate. I have also made...

travelbear14
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel itself is quietly elegant and located on a canal in the very desirable waterfront area – accessible to the walk and the various restaurants in the area. The rooms are large and well appointed. Bathrooms are sumptuous. Where I differ with its 5 star rating is with the service. The front desk was inaccurate. Billing charges were incorrectly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travelbear14
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour travelbear14, Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the service you encountered during your stay with us. I have spoken to the relevant departments to take appropriate actions to avoid future occurrences in regards to your feedback....

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Efficient and friendly check in. Great room - spacious and nicely decorated. Comfortable bed and a nespresso machine. Coffee shop on site has good small bites, espresso and juices. Right at the viaduct Harbour and close to very good restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Iancrosby
Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

This relatively new Hotel is great for a city get away if you are looking to be spoiled. From the time you enter until you leave you will receive wonderful customer service. It is right on the Viaduct Harbor and there are so many restaurants to choose from within walking distance. Yes, you pay a bit more but I think...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rew2you

842 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (615)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (122)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
View from Room (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Other (274)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (167)
Viewed
Amenities (56)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.5 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
3,629 reviews
0.9 km away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
1,920 reviews
0.7 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 68 in Auckland
1,029 reviews
1.2 km away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#11 of 68 in Auckland
1,988 reviews
0.5 km away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Lava Dining
Lava Dining
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
Sabrage Bar
Sabrage Bar
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination.Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers six private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: €188 - €391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland
#1 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“higher floors better”
 of 5 bubbles lcksyd, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Views on the interior face a canal and other apartment buildings. Room on the exterior face a more interesting harbor view.”
 of 5 bubbles travelbear14, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Breakfast is has a french theme not just bacon and eggs.”
 of 5 bubbles rew2you, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Most restaurants are to the left of the hotel if you are looking towards the water. The viaduct area, we made the mistake of going right.”
  • superior room queen
  • superior room queen
  • superior room queen
  • view outside hotel
 of 5 bubbles 514KennyC, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No view rooms available”
 of 5 bubbles scottH725, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay