We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

City Travellers Auckland

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
City Travellers Auckland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for City Travellers Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 94: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 September 2011

If somebody r looking for cheap, clean and quiet hostel for saying Auckland then City Travellers r the right place. Were saying there 1 week and i m happy for service and everything. Service staff was friendly and responsive. So its realy nice and chilled place to be.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurarrr_11
Ranzolin, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write an review as we certainly appreciate it and hope you travel safely and enjoy NZ. Regards Ranz

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This hostel is the best hostel I've ever stayed. It's really clean, tidy, and all staff is so friendly and helpful!! Moreover, the scenery is awesome. You will see the beautiful harbor from the balcony!! I storongly recommend you to stay here if you go to Auckland for a trip!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yurie309
Ranzolin, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for making the time to write to review us and thank you that you had a wonderful time with us and we hope you travel safe and enjoy the rest NZ has to offer! Regards Ranz

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The City Travellers was clean, friendly and located in a great neighbourhood in the CBD in Auckland. We stayed in the studio apartment and it is perfect for a couple, or a single--long term or short term. There were heaps of neat things to do in the area and tons of cafes and restaurants for all budgets. If you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nferry
Ranzolin, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review

Hi there and thank you for your review! It was certainly a pleasure to host you and we look forward to having you back some day soon. Regards Ranz

Newmarket, Canada
Reviewed 15 June 2011

The rooms were just as they look on the website and the kitchen and bathrooms were clean. I planned on only staying at city travellers for a couple nights and ended up staying 4 months! They were my new home away from home. The first night I got to city travellers everyone was very welcoming. There were a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ally062
Ranzolin, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind words and glad your CTA experience has a lasting impression as this is what we strive for. We look forward to welcoming any of your friends that maybe travelling to Auckland in the near future. Regards Ranz

Mumbai
Reviewed 14 June 2011

City Traveller's is close enough to the center of Auckland to make walking to the main attractions easy enough and convenient to enjoy the nightlife as well. Yet it is different from your mainstream hostels in the city center in that it provides a sense of calm and subtle sense of character. Rooms are neat, clean and comfortable. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dishpishfish
Ranzolin, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed Auckland as a city and Sky City. Safe traveling and we look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.

Paris, France
Reviewed 11 June 2011

I came in Auckland with my best friend in october 2010, i took this hostel because of the price and the location which is perfect because the hostel is not located directly on the main road but just 5 minutes walk, nearby without disturbance. People who's saying that the hostel is disguting or dirty exaggerate, it is not perfectly clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gaelle A
Ranzolin, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and we look forward to having you back someday soon. Safe Travels.

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We were generally impressed with this hostel. We being three 20 year olds in Auckland for 3 nights for a concert at Vector. The room was basic, and a bit outdated, the photos on the website are definitely a few years old. The bench on the kitchenette was marked and burnt, and the bathroom could've been cleaner. On the other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HolliferClare
Ranzolin, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and look forward to welcoming you back soon, unfortunately we do have flat screen in the majority of our rooms, however due to thieves we have had 4 taken from our rooms of which one of the rooms is the one you were in, but we have now much better tv's in the rooms from...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Hard to find any Pro's about this hotel, booked it for the rate of $350NZD for a 5 nights stay.. A musty smell met us in the lobby and i were taken to our room on the first floor. A very strong curry smell met us as i got out of the lift, now l dont mind curry but by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chuckymason
Ranzolin, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review

As discussed with you at the time each room has a kitchen and photos are of our rooms 104 & 308 so this our property and your room was identical to that of the photos only was not roadside. You were advised reasons behind no refund and moving from a 2 star property to the Langham Auckland a 5 star...

Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 May 2011

city travellers look more like a share apartement than a backpackers..nice living room and kitchen like in your home! the manager, Ranz is really nice et try to help you the most he can. you will be really close to everything (supermarket and heart of town).i loved to stay there and i can just tell you..go there!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nad005
Ranzolin, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and hope you we welcome you back sometime soon. Safe Travels

Paris, France
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Don't waste endless of your time looking for a good place to stay, because this is the one. You'll be welcomed by either Ranz or Ahmed at all time. Very nice and helpful, they'll make your stay confortable. In the middle of the city, short walk from the main street (Queen Street) and the night life. Clean, tidy and quiet....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank franckyyy
Ranzolin, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and we hope to one day welcome you back! Safe travels and thank you.

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 km away
No photo provided
0.1 km away
The Station Backpackers
The Station Backpackers
#72 of 94 in Auckland
76 reviews
0.1 km away
Quest on Eden
Quest on Eden
#57 of 94 in Auckland
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
K Road City Travelers Hostel
0.1 km away
Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland
0.6 km away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#54 of 94 in Auckland
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
City Travellers is designed with the budget traveller in mind. If you’re looking for affordable accommodation in the centre of Auckland that is handy to all the excitement of the CBD, come and stay with us.We provide safe, cheap and conveniently located hostel accommodation for the budget conscious traveller who wants to be close to public transport, the Vector Arena and downtown Auckland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about City Travellers Auckland

Address: 93 Anzac Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Hotel Class:2 star — City Travellers Auckland 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your City Travellers Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Travellers Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
City Travellers Auckland New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from City Travellers Auckland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The windows open slightly. First night we could hear noise until we realized window was open.”
 of 5 bubbles 767billd, 2 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Try and get an apartment on a high floor at the back of the building if you want a quiet night”
 of 5 bubbles TomTom803, 30 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Do not choose a room here”
 of 5 bubbles F_K_C2014, 19 Feb 2014 | Read review
“Buy your room from wotif, and if you need to get anywhere ask the people at the desk, they are super heplful.”
 of 5 bubbles JanelleS309, 8 Jan 2014 | Read review
“Do not stay here”
 of 5 bubbles Ninaclent, 7 Dec 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay