We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bambu Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bambu Backpackers
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bambu Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 61: English reviews
Catania, Italy
Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

The place is not particularly clean but its alright for a hostel. Its dark and not very friendly. My bed was on the top and it was very difficult to go in, because it was on the top of a double bed and there were lockers just in front of the ladder so i couldnt use it. I was disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Anne M
Melanie S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Your feedback has been taken on board. We strive to make our hostel a clean, friendly and fun environment for everyone so this was a little disappointing to hear.

Margaret River, Australia
Reviewed 30 April 2016

We stayed here for five days and found the hostel very welcoming. They provide discount for neighbouring bars and clubs. The staff were helpful and friendly. They do have a few semi permanent residnets, but we found them nice and chatty (they were fellow backpackers - not homeless fok). The kitchen is spacious and they have excellent facilities for storing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elliebelly101
Melanie S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay!! :)

Ludenscheid, Germany
Reviewed 13 April 2016

The Bambu hostel is one of the best hostels I've been during my travels in Oz. It has everything you need as a backpacker: from Party every night with vouchers (just for the Bambu guests), chilled movie nights and a perfect location. Everything's around the hostel, 10 mins walk to the city, supermarkets as well, and all the clubs are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aylin K
Melanie S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review! It is really nice to know that all our hard work and persistence in making Bambu a great hostel is appreciated :) we would love to see you back one day!

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 April 2016

This hostel is just great! I stayed here for more than 6 months and really enjoyed my time there, also I was working there for accommodation. The rooms have ac and lockers for everyone - you just need your own padlock. The kitchen is very spacious and there is also a big fridge to use. The bathrooms are cleaned every...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ben_bz
Melanie S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us. We strive every day to improve our hostel and we love having guests like you!

Reviewed 16 March 2016

So Free Goon-Pong was definitely our highlight of our stay at Bambu! Every night they had some sort of event on that involved free drinks either at the hostel or at a close by bar. All the people working there were travellers themselves and mixed themselves a lot with all the others staying there which was really nice and made...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Danielle B
Melanie S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we have put a lot of effort into our hostel and in providing fun entertainment for our guests. Our bathrooms are still a work in progress but thanks for the feedback :)

Reviewed 14 March 2016

I really like the idea of this place. On a Friday theres a dj and it's byo. Right in the middle of Northbridge. The reception and front bar look great and the people are really friendly. So much fun to be there. The problem is it's that the place has a quite smelly corridor. There are big mirrors in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KarolaRS
Paris, France
Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed in a double room with en-suite bathroom for few days. Good points: - friendly vibes, but lot of long terms, depend if you like or no - nice staff - good use of the voucher (everyone share) - boxes in the kitchen to organize the food properly. Big cool room. Improvment needed: - cleaning!!! Stains on the sheets, bin...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire N
Melanie S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are always trying to improve our cleanliness and ensure all areas are done daily, but it is difficult to maintain 24 hrs a day. Each of our showers are fitted with shower curtains, apologies for the lack of closing toilets as this is also a constant maintenance issue. Unfortunately due...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 28 April 2015

The hostel is not as horrible as what the others say. We are a couple and the price was the cheapest we found for a double bed. Yes there is some bugs sometimes on the wall but like every hostel, nothing scary or disgusting. The hostel is not new so you can see it in the shower but it doesn't...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank julie c
Melanie S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate it and are very glad you enjoyed your stay. It is so nice to hear from someone that has a realistic experience from a backpackers hostel. We are striving every day to make our hostel better and better and really value your positive feedback.

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 13 March 2015

If you like living amongst filth this is the place for you. It is the only place I have been that I have hoped out of the shower and still felt dirty. If you enjoy cockroaches bedbugs and dry vomit from the night before bambu has it all. I booked for two nights and didn't manage to sleep 1 night....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank 572mike
Melanie S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

I am disappointed to hear these comments. Our rooms, bathrooms and kitchen are cleaned every day, but unfortunately due to the nature of some of our patrons we cannot always guarantee utmost cleanliness at all times. Our entire premises has very recently been treated for pests and bed bugs but if there is still an issue there, it will definately...

Reviewed 17 February 2015

Bam'bu unfortunately has some bad reviews from last year, but from my understanding it had a management change before the new year and has since improved - a lot. I won't lie, it's not the quietest or the tidiest of hostels but it is a good one. The people that come here are fantastic and more than make up for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James T
Melanie S, Owner at Bambu Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. Being the new owners of this hostel we are working really hard to improve our business and really appreciate the feedback.

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Perth CBD
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#6 of 79 in Perth
360 reviews
Perth CBD
Peppers Kings Square Hotel
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#4 of 59 in Perth
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Billabong Backpackers Resort
Perth CBD
Perth City YHA
Perth City YHA
#12 of 59 in Perth
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a fun and friendly BackPacker Hostel in the centre of Perth's nightlife precinct. We aim to provide guests a cheap, clean and safe place where they can make new friends and see the best places Northbridge and Perth have to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bambu Backpackers

Address: 75 - 77 Aberdeen St | Northbridge, Perth, Western Australia 6003, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Perth CBD
Price Range: €18 - €50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Bambu Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bambu Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“coathangers, air freshener (using timer, same for bathrooms) , recycling!!! ”
 of 5 bubbles nathalie_de_grande, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are pretty much the same, there are two girls only dorms and the rest are mixed. All of them are 8 beds with a few that have doubles on the bottom bunks.”
 of 5 bubbles K8054EFjamest, 16 Feb 2015 | Read review
“rooms are disgusting”
 of 5 bubbles paulchef2011, 4 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Choose another hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles alexb842, 31 Dec 2013 | Read review
“Look elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles manchester954, 8 Aug 2012 | Read review
5 of 5