We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Alderney on Hay

Hotels.comUS$72*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$146*
US$72*
US$146*
US$146*
US$72*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Alderney on Hay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Alderney on Hay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 268: English reviews
Madang, Papua New Guinea
Reviewed 13 September 2015

I was booked to stay in this place from 2-5 September 2015. On the evening of the 3rd of September the duty manager specifically asked me if I would like a carpark as I was entitled to one bay for the duration of my stay. He then proceeded to write a voucher which was displayed on the dash of the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bryrye
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Dear Guest, As per email you sent me, I have thoroughly looked in to this matter and find the below. You made a reservation for a 2 night stay only via a travel agent. You advised us that you are arriving after hours. The reservation staff contacted you and advised you the after hour check in procedure and requested a...

Bribie Island, Australia
Reviewed 9 September 2015

Booked a 2 bedroom apartment for a business trip for a week. I took family with me so they could catchup with Friends in Perth. The apartment was showing it's age and needs renovating. During our stay we had several nights where the backpackers hotel next door had parties until 5am in the morning and the noise was unbearable. As...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I do understand there was noise on Thursday night of your stay from the back packers next door and the Police was called in at 10.30pm and was quietened. We did not receive any complaints but our after hour staff took this as an issue and complained to the Police. We do provide...

Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

We had a 2 bedroom apartment (queen plus 2 singles) and it had lots of space, well supplied kitchen, and nice balcony. We unexpectedly arrived at 8:30 pm due to a late flight and the hotel was able to accommodate us with a few hours notice, with very pleasant staff. We used the gym too and were able to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Your feedback is very important to us to maintain our standards and also to improve on our facilities and services. I am happy to mention that we are currently in the process of installing Wifi. We do provide free laptop with internet access free of charge. With regards to the Sauna we have...

Bunbury, Australia
Reviewed 7 August 2015

First time guest. Jean on reception was fantastic, friendly, attentive clear and precise. Stayed in a one bedroom studio with balcony over looking Hay Street. Big airy rooms, comfortable bed, great kitchen facilities, free on site parking only let down was the television in dire needs of being replaced. Overall experience was very good and would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback. Your feedback is very important to us to maintain our standards and to identify the shortcomings. We hope to see you back at the Alderney On Hay during the near future. Kind Regards Management

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 29 July 2015

The apartment is nice and roomy. But everything stops there! There is no service: front desk is only open 9 am to 10 pm, late check in is a hassle; there is no Wifi at all, rooms are not tended. Could be good for long term (if Wifi is not important to you) but for a short stay, it's not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sfaxien
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. All what you have mentioned is advised to you on reservation. We are waiting on the installation of Wifi and this will be done within the next few months. With regards to reception hours. We open reception for more hours than most apartment properties where reception is closed by 6pm. Our reception hours...

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 28 July 2015

Rude rude rude, don't put yourself through it. The front reception staff were very rude and could hardly understand what I was saying. Would not budge on changing dates or rooms. Unbelievable in this economic climate. Go across the road to the Mont Clare Boutique apartments or the Mantra on Hay. Very regimented place to stay. Very unfriendly and they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dee H
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I do understand your frustration in booking a package by your self that may have not been suitable for you. Airlines and other hotels offer specials to boost the revenue which cannot be cancelled or amended along with other deals that gives you the flexibility of amending. If you decided to take advantage of this specials and book...

Reviewed 25 July 2015 via mobile

If I could give this hotel ZERO stars, I would. No hot shower, rude duty manager, dodgy charges - told to leave if we were unhappy or we would pay for all the services they didn't actually provide. Phone did not work, toilet did not flush properly. After less than 2 minutes in the shower, the water was ice cold....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Claire P
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Sorry for the delay in responding to your review. I have looked into your complaint, I have also looked at our of public area camera footage. On the night in question you only brought the hot water issue to our attention, to which our staff member attended immediately, you invited him inside to check the apartment’s hot water...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 24 July 2015

The apartment was easy to locate via google maps gps. I bought the OPUS plan for A$10 at the airport and was good for the 4 days we were in Perth. The problems from older reviews indicating parking problems were informed earlier by hotel. I wrote to the hotel to request for details on pick-up of keys, and were informed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amir-wife
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay. I am extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you again. Should you have any suggestions do not hesitate to contact me on 9225 6600.

Singapore
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Contrary to negative reviews I've read elsewhere, the one night stay at Alderney on Hay's turned out to be much more pleasant than expected. Given the affordable pricing, we weren't expecting a lot and was just hoping for a quiet stay during our last night in Perth. Turned out to be better due to the friendly receptionist whom made our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bitter_Travellor
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay. I am extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you again. Should you have any suggestions do not hesitate to contact me on 9225 6600.

Reviewed 8 July 2015 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel for a night in between destinations. The hotel is about what you would expect from a 3 star hotel, relatively comfortable but old facilities. The duvets look really old and out of date. The single beds in the second room looked old and a bit out of shape. The shower head was tiny and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TinaEvans1
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay. We have taken your comments on board and implemented a touch painting program. Should you have any suggestions do not hesitate to contact me on 9225 6600.

149 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (85)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments
Mantra on Hay
#25 of 64 in Perth
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#48 of 64 in Perth
148 reviews
Seasons of Perth
#46 of 64 in Perth
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Starwest Apartments Alderney On Hay is leading the way in offering affordable, fully self-contained quality apartments that are close to the city centre.Our 3.5 Star property is conveniently located in East Perth approximately 1km from the Perth City Centre. Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay is located just minutes from the Perth CBD, shopping, entertainment, restaurants, the WACA cricket ground, Burswood Casino, Gloucester Park, Ascot and Belmont horse racing tracks and the Swan River. Featuring spacious non-smoking self-contained two bedroom apartments with dining/living area, separate laundry and bathroom, direct phone line and a private balcony - it's the perfect accommodation whether you're on holiday or travelling for business. Standard Apartments:Spacious 2 bedroom apartment, fully equipped kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. Deluxe Apartments:Each Deluxe Apartment has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer.Platinum Apartments:Our Platinum Apartments consists of two bedrooms and one bathroom; it has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, dishwasher, lounge, television, DVD player, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. The modern platinum apartments also include a daily housekeeping service.The property also offers:• E-Sense Cafe open Monday-Friday 7.30am-3pm.• DVD hire available at $7 per movie.• Cot Hire at $10 per night.• Local and International calls are chargeable. • Vending machines with snacks. • Dry cleaning / laundry service.• Indoor pool – heated.• Spa and gym facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alderney on Hay

Address: 193 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Price Range: €60 - €119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alderney on Hay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alderney on Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderney On Hay Hotel Perth
Alderney Hay
Alderney On Hay East Perth
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Perth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alderney on Hay staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Alderney on Hay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room (21) faced the road but was very quiet as there is not a lot of traffic on that part of Hay Street.”
99marinal, 13 May 2017 | Read review
“2 bedroom apartments have everything a family needs.”
tambobo, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay away away from the lifts they are noisey”
396vich, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Take towels for the pool; request Northern side of the hotel as it is quieter.”
  • View from our 4th floor balcony.
152rhondas, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Away from lift if you can”
Saltwater-living, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$72* /night
View Deal
ElvolineUS$146
TripAdvisorUS$72
Hotwire.comUS$72
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates