We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Alderney on Hay

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Alderney on Hay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 250: English reviews
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Although I live in Perth, I stayed in this hotel because my son was getting married at Queens Gardens early in the morning and it made it easier to get our hair and makeup done and be ready for the 10am wedding. It was great for our 2 night stay due to the kitchen and laundry in the 2 room... More 

Review collected in partnership with ASUS 12 W8 IE Bookmark

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda S
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have been staying at the Alderney on Hay almost every trip I have been doing to Perth. It's hard to beat for quality and value for money, the apartments are well furnished, modern and have heaps of space. Located in the heart of East Perth makes it ideal to access the business part as well as the shopping malls... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Critter2015
Management response:

Dear Critter2015, Thank you for Staying at the Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you again in the future. Regards More 

Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The apartments are basic in regards to cooking utensils but if you dining out that's ok. Having laundry with washer and dryer is a plus and parking included in the price an absolute bonus Good location but nothing fancy would stay again for a quick trip to Perth but not if on my annual holidays

Helpful?
Thank Saltwater-living
Management response:

Dear Saltwater-living, Thank you for Staying at the Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you again in the future. Regards More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016

I checked in at 4PM. I had a 2 room Deluxe apartment. For the price it was good value if not a little run down, but also included a car park. The Room was no 17 on Level 2, directly opposite the elevators. As I was unpacking I could hear what sounded like furniture being dragged across a concrete floor,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Warren T
Management response:

Thank you for Staying at the Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay. I am sorry you have had issues regarding your apartment. If you could please contact me on info@starwest.com.au so I can look into this matter. More 

Papakura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 days . The room was comfortable and the amenities were pool, spa, gym, private parking and a cafe beside the apartment. Free Perth bus every 10 minutes into the CBD and close to restaurants. A few minor concerns were apartment was not serviced and you paid extra for new towels, tea and coffee were not... More 

Helpful?
Thank George B
Management response:

Dear George B, Thank you for Staying at the Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you again in the future. Thank you for expressing your concerns. In order to keep costs down for our customers we only offer complimentary weekly services on any apartment that stays 7 days or... More 

Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

The place is old and run down and dirty!! A couple of days after I left $100 was taken off my credit card for no reason!! I havnt recieved a phone call nor have they returned my phonecalls or emails regarding the reason why they stole this money off me. I think they are running a scam and ripping people... More 

Helpful?
Thank cassie g
Management response:

Dear Cassie G, Thank you for your review. I have looked into this matter. The Alderney on Hay is an apartment complex that offers good value for money. We have both a serviced and unserviced rate. As you had booked a cheaper package which did not involve daily servicing we did not service the room. At any point during your... More 

Travellers are raving about these Perth hotels

2 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Best accomodation you will find in Perth for the price savvy travellers. My daughter and I have stayed 2 years in a row and you will not find anywhere that comes close. Average $120 a night for 2 gets you a large apartment with cooking and washing facilities. Big bathrooms with sep toilet. Sep lounge/dining. And pool/spa indoors. Reception staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura M
Management response:

Thank you for Staying at the Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you again in the future. More 

Kulai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. It was just like what we hope for. Clean n spacious place. Everyhing went fine but on our check out something illogical happened.. upon our check out we were told that we 54aud will be deducted from our deposit. It was shocking as we were told that the manager discovered that 2 of... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank LelaNoordin
Management response:

Dear Guest, Each room is checked by at least three staff members between each guests stay. Each of these staff members checks the inventory. I find it highly unlikely that only before your stay all of these staff members missed all these items and only in your room. More 

Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016

The 2-bedroom apartments were just great for us - a family of 4 adults and 2 kids. The staff at the reception was ever so helpful with queries and some issues that we had with TV channels. We could board the free CAT bus service just about 200 metres from the apartments, which was very convenient too. Also, it was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RajBajwa
Management response:

Thank you for Staying at the Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you again in the future. More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

My dad and I stayed in a 2bdrm apartment. It was very spacious and clean. Beds were comfortable and bathroom was big and clean. Having a balcony was great too. Reception staff member Beau was alway pleasant and helpful. Free parking was great. Pool and gym were good also. Although the room was a little dated, it was more than... More 

Helpful?
Thank Myzie B
Management response:

Thank you for Staying at the Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you again in the future. More 

149 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (85)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments
Mantra on Hay
#22 of 79 in Perth
714 reviews
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#65 of 79 in Perth
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Goodearth Hotel
#41 of 79 in Perth
696 reviews
West Perth
City Stay Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Starwest Apartments Alderney On Hay is leading the way in offering affordable, fully self-contained quality apartments that are close to the city centre.Our 3.5 Star property is conveniently located in East Perth approximately 1km from the Perth City Centre. Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay is located just minutes from the Perth CBD, shopping, entertainment, restaurants, the WACA cricket ground, Burswood Casino, Gloucester Park, Ascot and Belmont horse racing tracks and the Swan River. Featuring spacious non-smoking self-contained two bedroom apartments with dining/living area, separate laundry and bathroom, direct phone line and a private balcony - it's the perfect accommodation whether you're on holiday or travelling for business. Standard Apartments:Spacious 2 bedroom apartment, fully equipped kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. Deluxe Apartments:Each Deluxe Apartment has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer.Platinum Apartments:Our Platinum Apartments consists of two bedrooms and one bathroom; it has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, dishwasher, lounge, television, DVD player, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. The modern platinum apartments also include a daily housekeeping service.The property also offers:• E-Sense Cafe open Monday-Friday 7.30am-3pm.• DVD hire available at $7 per movie.• Cot Hire at $10 per night.• Local and International calls are chargeable. • Vending machines with snacks. • Dry cleaning / laundry service.• Indoor pool – heated.• Spa and gym facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alderney on Hay

Address: 193 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Price Range: €75 - €127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alderney on Hay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Alderney on Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderney On Hay Hotel Perth
Alderney Hay
Alderney On Hay East Perth
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Perth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alderney on Hay staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Alderney on Hay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take towels for the pool; request Northern side of the hotel as it is quieter.”
  • View from our 4th floor balcony.
 of 5 bubbles 152rhondas, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Away from lift if you can”
 of 5 bubbles Saltwater-living, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you must stay here geta room as far away from the lifts as possible”
 of 5 bubbles 80warrent, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Platinum or Deluxe.”
 of 5 bubbles 49buddhij, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles nikki888522, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay