We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Nomads Melbourne

Hostelworld.comUS$33*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$80*
US$33*
Great Deal
US$40*
US$74*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Nomads Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 279: English reviews
Start your review of Nomads Melbourne
 Click to rate
Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The accommodation provider Nomads Melbourne A'Beckett St operates a nightclub/bar venue on the ground floor. The noise issuing from this ground floor venue ricochets and amplifies up into the accommodation levels above. The admin on site were argumentative about curbing noise from party goers and the music up until 1am. This is despite the policy for quiet time after 9pm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank am09940
jonnie m, Assistant Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

G'day am09940! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given. I do apologise that the noise affected your stay - we do believe in that people should be able to have the choice in sleeping upstairs, or partying with us in the bar. Are you able to give us more information on...

Karlstad, Sweden
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights & have nothing bad to say! We were only supposed to stay for one night but kept extending our stay! Our first night we were in a 6 bedroom dorm which was completely empty so my friend & I had the room to ourselves which was an amazing surprise! Every night they have something...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank h0llliem21
jonnie m, Assistant Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

G'day h0lliem21! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We're really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you come back again and join us :-) Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

Wangaratta, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So apparently our booking was not received, even though it was booked weeks ago. And if it wasn't for my friend that had the copy of emails on his phone stating of the booking, we would have definitely been without accommodation. The guy at reception was not really helpful, argued with us saying we were in the wrong backpackers and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank permhomehardware
jonnie m, Assistant Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

G'day permhomehardware! We appreciate the time you took to leave us a review. First of all I would like to apologise that we were not able to find your reservation and that this delayed your check in. I'm unaware if it was a human error or if it was a website error however during this time our receptionist still should...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The feet smell gave me the welcome from the elevator before even to reach my room. The first floor looks like a gas room and I was sleeping next to a room where the guests used a shoe to keep the door open so the smell could go away. The bed also wasn't that great. At each movement of your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcodv90
jonnie m, General Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

G'Day, thanks so much for leaving a review, we honestly take the good and the bad ones on board in order to constantly make ourselves better. Unsure as to what you mean that our first floor looks like a gas room but we'll take that on board also. Guests regularly try and prop their door open, staff are instructed to...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The female dorm was great. The location was also good which is near Melbourne central station. However, Wi-fi is only available from 7am-7pm and it was also slow. The only common area is the bar on the ground floor and it was super noisy during my 3-day stay. The kitchen was messy and the staff were not very friendly. Overall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kkkatelam
jonnie m, Front Office Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

G'day there Kkkatelam! We appreciate the time you took to leave your review. We also have paid WiFi which is high speed and $4 a day which you can purchase either online or from Reception. This one will also work upstairs and for 24 hours unlike our Free Internet, which we turn off at 7:00pm so we can encourage people...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The reception guy didn't want to let me in a room even though I travelled and didn't sleep the last 30 hours. Others also told me about similar stories (travelling to Australia is far!) I told him I was starting my job the next day and needed just some rest, but he really didn't want me to get a room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julienwebm
jonnie m, Front Office Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

G'day there julienwebm, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate all feedback given. Although I completely understand how long flying to Australia is (I have done the journey myself many times) your travel agent should have recommended booking for the night before to ensure that you could go straight to sleep. This is the only...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was horrible.. some guests have really smelly feet and they wouldn't wash their feet. and the room wasn't well ventilated so the odour permeated throughout the room it was obnoxious and disgusting but you could do nothing about it... I moved to a less people room already ... 1 out of 4 still has smelly feet . =.= crazy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shinrey
jonnie m, Front Office Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

G'day there Shinrey! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're really sorry that your room mates affected your stay - some people can be inconsiderate and we're glad that we were able to move your rooms, although it did not help. We hope you come back and join us again and have no smelly room...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we took 2 beds in a 4 beds dormitory the bathroom is dirty the environment is very noisy at night... because the bar is just under the room positive points : close to city center. good if you want to party with friends

 Report
Helpful?
Thank perrine444
jonnie m, Front Office Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

G'day there perrine444! Cheers for leaving us a review! We're sorry that the bar affected your stay - it should never stop you from being able to have a good nights sleep. Just so you're aware, our reception desk is manned 24/7 so you can always come down and see if they can quieten the bar, or move your rooms...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nomads is a good hostel. It's cheap, clean and quite central. In the morning they offer free pancakes, and free tea, coffee, noodles and rice are provided in the kitchen. Nomads is right next to the Queen Victoria market, what's I really liked. I would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lara H
jonnie m, Front Office Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

G'day there Lara H! We're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you come back and join us again :-) Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

Reviewed 18 April 2017

I stayed in the 14 beds dorm and it was not exactly clean and/or comfortable. There is only one toilet and one shower for the whole room, not even a sink in the building. The room was really messy and coming back to the room I often found my stuff on the floor because a cleaner crashed in my bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie R
jonnie m, Front Office Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review

G'day Julie! Thank you for leaving us a review. We appreciate all feedback given. I am concerned about your comments that the cleaner was crashing in your bed. Would you be able to give us more information regarding this? We're happy that you found our staff and bar cool. As you can imagine, the larger the dorm the messier a...

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#98 of 159 in Melbourne
378 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#35 of 159 in Melbourne
2,679 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#5 of 133 in Melbourne
513 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#9 of 133 in Melbourne
787 reviews
Central Business District
Discovery Melbourne
Discovery Melbourne
#103 of 133 in Melbourne
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nomads Melbourne is a backpackers offering travellers a unique backpacking experience. The totally refurbished building at 196-198 A'Beckett St, is located at the top end of the city, right in front of the Queen Victoria Market. With many popular Melbourne attractions, beautiful gardens, fantastic shopping and a wealth of public transport options close by, Melbourne at its best is at your doorstep. At Nomads Melbourne you can indulge in the luxury of a deluxe en-suite king room, relax in style in a single or multi-share private room, or meet your fellow travelers in a 4-10 share dormitory room. Nomads Melbourne will make your stay in Melbourne a breeze. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nomads Melbourne

Address: A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: €23 - €96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Nomads Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Industry Backpackers Hotel Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nomads Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose a different hostel”
evaj161, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room on the front perhaps”
emilypebbles, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Expect some noise if you're near the ally way”
klaraklara123, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Take a look at the rooftop!”
ricksX9049TO, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“not the ones that give to the night bar as it can get very noisy”
kai_kaijia, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$33* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$40
Orbitz.comUS$74
CancelonUS$80
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates