We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Birches Serviced Apartments

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Birches Serviced Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 150: English reviews
Start your review of Birches Serviced Apartments
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly pre-booking, checkin, info during stay and checkout. Apartment is clean and functional, big windows overlooking a tree lined street and city skyline 1km away. 15 minute walk to edge of CBD or 1 minute walk to tram. Being an inner city location, it can be a bit noisy during morning rush hour but that is what you trade off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulHVE
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed two nights. Walking distance to CBD and the G, shops, restaurants in the area. Very pleasant surrounds - green and leafy. Room was well-appointed. Everything worked. Bed very comfortable. AC was perfect. I slept like 10 men. Cleaning staff were excellent. Room was spotless. Manager was very pleasant and obliging. You will not find better in this area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
Frontdesk160, Manager at Birches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send through your feedback following your recent stay with us; it is appreciated and we were glad to hear that everything was to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to Birches in the not too distant future. Kind regards Alan

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The main reason I stayed at this hotel was because it was dog friendly. Upon check-in I was a bit disappointed to see that the room was a bit grubby. The kitchen and bathroom and bedsheets were all clean, but the walls and such really needed a good spring cleaning-there were a lot of marks on the walls. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WpgLeah
Frontdesk160, Manager at Birches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for sending through your feedback following your recent stay with us; it is appreciated. We have a program in place for the repainting of our apartments which is on-going and as I'm sure you can appreciate - never ending! It was great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our great location and we do...

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Not exactly a short walk to the CBD, but generally well placed between the city, the MCG and Richmond / Fitzroy. Accommodation looks a bit tired, but okay for the price. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Advertised as one bedroom apartment, but it was a studio apartment - i.e. open plan between living and bedroom areas. However, the big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D27HIstevec
Frontdesk160, Manager at Birches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send through your review following your recent stay with us. It was very disappointing to hear that the street noise prevented you from having a peaceful nights sleep. We do have some of our apartments that are doubled glazed, so had you mentioned this, we may have been able to provide you with...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed in a 1br apartment for 5 nights. It was clean, comfortable, quiet and well appointed - an ideal base for Melbourne activities. This property is well managed, and there is no tolerance for noisy activities in the communal spaces. It's also pet-friendly - very unusual for the inner city. So close to the city, Collingwood, Richmond, Fitzroy and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annmareeo
Frontdesk160, Manager at Birches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us: it is appreciated and we do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again, in the not too distant future. Kind regards Alan & the Birches Team

Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Absolutely lovely hotel, filled with friendly, attentive staff. At no point did I feel uncomfortable, or felt like I was unwelcome. I felt that the only concern with this place was that the hot water was slightly inconsistent, which was kind of annoying. Also, this hotel has an old kind of feel in terms of finishes etc. For me this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James G
Frontdesk160, Manager at Birches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us; it is appreciated. I shall ensure that the staff see your kind comments. With the instantaneous hot water services, the taps do need to be fully opened to maintain a constant temperature. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

I organised my parents to stay here while visiting me in Melbourne from Ireland. They spend a week at birches and really enjoyed it. Great location and lovely view of the city from their apt #19. It was lovely and cosy especial on those cold Melboure days. Lovely living space and well layer out space! Really couldn't fault this place....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmmaSmyth
Frontdesk160, Manager at Birches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your parents recent stay with us; it is appreciated. We are fortunate in that all our rooms enjoy great views and glad your parents had the time to enjoy it. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming them back when next they visit you. Kind regards Alan &...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Staff are so rude. Rooms are dirty & cold. No hot water. When my child left an item there they made no effort to get it returned to me. Asked for a return pre paid envelope. I sent it and they denied receiving it & still have my sons favourite book. Any normal person would just send a child's book...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BBHHKK
Frontdesk160, Owner at Birches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us at Birches from 8th July for 3 nights however I am a little bemused and perplexed by your review. Firstly, can you give me the tracking number for the postal bag that you sent so that way I can follow up on-line or through the Post Office that way we can establish where the postal...

Reviewed 12 October 2016

I couldn't rate this accomodation more highly. The booking process and correction of my mistake was simple, the lady who checked us in was obviously passionate about her guests comfort and safety, and she went out of her way to organise our early departure and to recommend restaurants for a late dinner. Really lovely place to stay. Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda A
Frontdesk160, Manager at Birches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us. All the team here do try hard to make our guests' stay as comfortable as we can and so it is always great to hear that our efforts are appreciated. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind...

Moe, Australia
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

I was looking for accommodation located near to St Vincent's private hospital that also had parking available. I found Birches online and was very pleasantly surprised. The parking was easy to access, the staff welcoming, and the apartment lovely! Would have been great if I had been staying longer as there was a kitchenette. It was clean and comfortable. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mero1369
Frontdesk160, General Manager at Birches Serviced Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us. It was great to hear that you felt comfortable at Birches and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Alan & the Team

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.1 km away
Adara East Melbourne
Adara East Melbourne
#110 of 158 in Melbourne
98 reviews
0.3 km away
Albert Heights Serviced Apartments
0.2 km away
Aberlour Court
Aberlour Court
#14 of 126 in Melbourne
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Tribeca Serviced Apartments
Tribeca Serviced Apartments
#43 of 126 in Melbourne
230 reviews
0.6 km away
George Powlett Apartments
George Powlett Apartments
#53 of 126 in Melbourne
156 reviews
3.1 km away
Darling Apartments South Yarra
Darling Apartments South Yarra
#37 of 126 in Melbourne
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Birches Serviced Apartments offer fully equipped and spacious apartments with all the comforts of home, featuring full kitchen with microwaves and hotplates, Free Wifi and much more. A beautiful common court-yard with BBQ facilities with a veggie and herb garden are at the disposal of guests. What's more our guests can also use the bicyles provided free of charge throughout their stay to ride around the city centre. Rooms recently refurbished and freshened up under New Management since August 2013. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Birches Serviced Apartments

Address: 160 Simpson Street | Corner Albert Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3002, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range: €93 - €140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birches Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Birches Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birches Serviced Apartments Hotel Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Birches Serviced Apartments staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Birches Serviced Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 19 has view of tree lined street and city skyline at sunset”
 of 5 bubbles PaulHVE, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms on the side street are probably quieter - where we stayed”
 of 5 bubbles mrhwalsh, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Second floor is cool. Happy to walk up stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles l0ij, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“End rooms have less foot traffic via walkways.”
 of 5 bubbles gretchenw564, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Close your windows at night as traffic noise can sound really loud at night as it is a very quiet street.”
 of 5 bubbles Sunflower4676, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5