We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mantra City Central

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mantra City Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

555 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 547: English reviews
Start your review of Mantra City Central
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Room simple and ok but quite small... clean on arrival but not all that well-serviced. Not vacuumed the whole 8 day stay. Heaps of towels and soaps but always had to ask for milk and tea top-ups. Reception often unattended (that said, when they are there they were lovely). TV reception dodgy- several channels not working. Hotel car-park a block...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bree G
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stay was good, my request for single floor and laundry facility was addressed promptly. Location was excellent, close to shopping and lots of halal eateries nearby. Housekeeping however was a mix, on some days the room was cleaned properly whilst other days not at all (only a change of towel, but hardly any cleaning was done, e.g. noticed small piece...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank maslianal2017
Brisbane
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Excellent convenient location in the heart of the shopping area of the city. Right next door to Emporium and across the road from Myer and David Jones. Spacious apartment for the central city. And at a good price.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank yehyeh
GMMantraCityCentral, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this review

Dear yehyeh, Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We do appreciated your comments and look forward to having you stay with us again. Kind Regards, Brandon Park General Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A few towels had hair that did not belong to me. Arghhhh Not worth the money. Nicer places also inner CBD. No dining available other than a takeaway menu. Noisy in my room. Ear plugs and rain music failed to dim out the huge roof industrial fans.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 24shan27
GMMantraCityCentral, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this review

Dear 24shan27, Thank you for writing us a review. My apologies for the issues experienced during your stay. I will be sure to follow up with my housekeeping team as this is not up to our normal standards. I am happy to inform you however we are currently in discussion with our owners to have double glazing installed. This will...

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very central, great rooms. Everything you need. Always stay Mantra when possible. Staff were helpful and efficient. Rooms on the 4th floor were a little dark but otherwise comfortable, modern and tasteful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank O2766ABcarlab
GMMantraCityCentral, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this review

Dear O2766ABcarlab, Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I am happy to read how you enjoyed your stay. I look forwards to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind Regards, Brandon Park General Manager

Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great service from reception staff,had issue with parking but no trouble for them to sort out for us immediately.Location was great but room smallish and little hard to find up to level 1 then down a flight of stairs to find room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephensQ987UZ
GMMantraCityCentral, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this review

Dear stephensQ987UZ, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at Mantra City Central. I am glad my staff were able to help rectify your issue in a timely manner and it did not impact on your stay. I look forwards to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Brandon Park General...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was well below expectation. Servicing of the room was very poor. The dishes were washed for us (the one thing we did not expect). The linen was not touched even the towels etc left on the floor in the bathroom expecting them to be changed. The bed was pulled up, not made up and there was very little if...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank janined471
GMMantraCityCentral, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this review

Dear janined471, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to read that your stay did not meet with your expectations and that you did experience a lack of service standard in your apartment, this is not the usual high standard we strive to achieve at Mantra City Central....

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location was amazing but the accommodation we had booked was pretty basic. We booked the basement apartment which I assumed you could see the street but you were basically in a big internal box with no natural light, which felt very strange. We stripped down one of the twin beds to make up the sofa bed in the lounge...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 50fionaf
GMMantraCityCentral, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this review

Dear 50fionaf, Thank you for your review of your recent stay. My apologies you did not enjoy your time with us and your stay in our Urban Basement Apartment. As the name does suggest it is located in the basement area and sadly does not have much natural light. The Stain on mattress protector is unacceptable and I will ensure...

Dublin
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room (401) was exceptionally noisy at night. The street noise made it very difficult to sleep. The room needs to be properly soundproofed. Also the location of the aircon was baffling. Because it was in the kitchenette area, the bedroom was too hot. Also having to pay for internet was a little mean spirited. This was in the only...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank frankrO6390WJ
GMMantraCityCentral, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this review

Dear frankrO6390WJ, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. Please accept my apologies for noise, air-conditioner, and internet issues what you experienced with us. We are currently working with our maintenance team regarding soundproof and air-conditioner servicing. In regards to Wifi, please join the Mantra+ loyalty program. We can provide free wifi, complimentary...

Calliope, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

First, I will say it is in a great location, very central with Myer and David Jones amongst other big retailers right outside the doors. Room: Not so great. Our first room was the loft style room, which was cool in theory until you walk in and you can't close the door (which is heavy) until you have lifted your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KateGrieve
GMMantraCityCentral, General Manager at Mantra City Central, responded to this review

Dear KateGrieve, Thank you for your feedback it is always good to receive valuable comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards. Please accept my sincere apologies that our shortcoming impacted your stay during what should have been a relaxing and enjoyable time in this great location. I have also taken on board all your comments regarding the...

116 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
1:11
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#31 of 160 in Melbourne
1,407 reviews
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#37 of 160 in Melbourne
1,821 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#104 of 160 in Melbourne
4,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mantra City Central offers convenient apartment-style accommodation in the very heart of Melbourne's thriving business, shopping, restaurant and theatre district. Making the most of a magnificent heritage building, it's ideal for both business and leisure travellers alike. The city hotel offers one or two bedroom apartments boasting bright and spacious rooms, some of which overlook the lively streetscape of Melbourne. All rooms include kitchenette with microwave, bath with shower, Foxtel, direct dial ISD/STD telephone, iron and ironing board, electronic access card security and individually controlled air-conditioning. Two bedroom apartments also feature a dishwasher. The hotel is the perfect base from which to explore Melbourne's city. From iconic sporting attractions like the MCG, Etihad Stadium, Rod Laver Arena and Flemington Racecourse, to a host of Victoria's premium parks, gardens and attractions like Melbourne Park Zoo. Within walking distance of the hotel is Melbourne's premium shopping and dining precincts with an ambience or world class cuisine available. Mantra City Central puts you in the heart of Melbourne but not with the huge price tag. Reception is open between 07.30 And 22.00 Monday to Saturday and 08.00 To 22.00 On Sunday. Staff are more than happy to assist you with any enquiries. *Please note Mantra City Central is now a smoke free hotel. Upon arrival you will be greeted by the buildings heritage charm with access to the hotel lobby via stairs only. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause. Restaurant charge back is available at the sister hotel, Mantra on Little Bourke, two blocks up Little Bourke Street. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mantra City Central

Address: 318 Little Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Heritage on Little Bourke)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Price Range: €91 - €244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra City Central 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Mantra City Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Heritage On Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mantra City Central staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Perth, Australia

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mantra City Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms overlooking Elizabeth Street or Little Bourke St”
 of 5 bubbles KathyH980, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with light”
 of 5 bubbles chelsea69, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a high floor or something on the front of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles adampies, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't get a room facing Little Bourke Street”
  • Zero hanging space in the master bedroom
  • Toilet for midgets or Hobbits
 of 5 bubbles PeteS1_12, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't take room 108”
 of 5 bubbles HFS61, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5