We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gem Apartments Short Stay

Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Gem Apartments Short Stay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 97: English reviews
Start your review of Gem Apartments Short Stay
 Click to rate
Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

What a fabulous location to stay in Melbourne. Beside the Crown Casino and diagonally opposite Sealife Aquarium. A short stroll to Flinders Street Station and city centre. Along (and under the apartment) the esplanade offers so many places to eat. So many positives to this accommodation. Facing the Yarra, every bedroom has amazing river views. There really isn't a 'best'...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulene H
Aust12345
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at Freshwater place with the family when I was in Melbourne for work. 2 adults, two young children <5 and 1 baby. We hired a 3bd apartment. Online reservation was easy. They pre-empted our need for at least one cot and that was included without charge. Apartment was over 3 levels and fortunately both our mobile kids could manage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aust12345
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband & I plus my mum & sons girlfriend spent 4 beautiful nights at Gem Appartments! The purpose of our trip was to see my 18 yr old son who join the Navy 12mths ago , March in his first Anzac Parade ! Our stay at Gem Appartments was great ! The rooms were comfortable , modern & self...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle T
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

We booked and stayed in a 1 bedroom appartment for a week brilliant location excellent city view we booked Gem because of the off street parking and location so handy being close to southwhaf dfo shopping right across from the crown casino only a 15 minute walk to the CBD all with the convince of a fully equipped kitchen you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oldmate_84
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Gem Apartments are cool, sophisticated, clean apartments that in my opinion are top notch ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ after a slight issue with a booking in another hotel during an Australian family wedding I was attending, a swift phone call and we were allocated an apartment that was on the 31st floor with incredible views of the city. Quick to our aid customer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tomos O
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 9 March 2017

We stayed at Apartment 139, 99 Whiteman Street, which I understand is part of the Gem Apartment group. This apartment was unsatisfactory both with regard to cleanliness and state of repair. Both bathrooms were badly affected by mould. The venetian blinds were damaged and there were unattractive stains on the walls. It was hard to sleep because the weather was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarJoM14
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

We were due to stay at these apartments from 26 - 29 January 2017. We are from Adelaide & we were taking the family to see Cirque Du Soleil. The day before our trip my father was taken to hospital in an emergency (he passed away the following day) we called Gem to inform them we obviously had to cancel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lesley D
kelski2, Manager at Gem Apartments Short Stay, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review. Our cancellation policy is that bookings cancelled within 7 days or arrival are non refundable, bookings cancelled within 28 days are refundable prorata for every night that we are able to rebook. As you cancelled the day before arrival there was no entitlement to a refund. However, given the circumstances we did offer you a partial...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 January 2017

I thought my apartment was on 63 Whiteman St Melbourne when I booked but I was actually given an apartment located on the 17th floor or 180 City Road, Southbank (SouthbankONE Apartments). Disappointment was the balcony which was very small with no outdoor chairs to sit and enjoy the view. The apartment was clean and comfortable the best part was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa N
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2017

The apartment location was excellent! The apartment itself was really good with excellent amenities in the apartment and the security was great with free onsite parking. Wifi was also free as well as Foxtel. The only downfall was the cleanliness, which was really disappointing given that it is such an excellent apartment in every other way. The ensuite had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jodie J
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Just so readers are not confused, we stayed in 63 Whiteman Street, name of apartment is called Vue Grande. Fantastic location. It is directly opposite Crown entertainment Centre and walkable to CBD/Swanston Street via bridges across the river. We booked a three bedroom apartment (level 31, 3101) Living room and all the rooms are spacious. Kitchen is very well equipped....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Denise K

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments Whiteman Street
Southbank
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments MP Deluxe
Southbank
Melbourne Short Stay Apartments at SouthbankOne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Experience Bella Hotel Apartments
Flinders Wharf Apartments
#48 of 134 in Melbourne
12 reviews
Southbank
Aria Favourite Southbank
Aria Favourite Southbank
#47 of 134 in Melbourne
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gem Apartments are a select group of Melbourne luxury apartments in Southbank and inner suburbs which offer guests spectacular views, central location, extra space and the touches of home. Our apartments are individually owned and located in different buildings, offering guests diversity to meet your needs. Gem Apartments provides the perfect Convention Centre & Exhibition centre accommodation in Melbourne. Our apartments are well equipped and perfectly suited for family, holiday, couples and corporate apartment accommodation. They are also ideal as short term accommodation if you are moving to Melbourne.Each Gem Apartment has fantastic views, open and airy, resort style facilities, central location, quality furniture and decor, broadband internet, secure parking for one car, flat screen televisions and pay tv, fully equipped kitchen to suit the needs of longer stays ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gem Apartments Short Stay

Address: 63 Whiteman St, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range: €109 - €229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gem Apartments Short Stay 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Gem Apartments Short Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gem Apartments Short Stay staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Gem Apartments Short Stay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a high level to avoid road noise and check with cleaning demands on departure.”
joanne943, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our apartment faced the city and the traffic noise, (sirens, horns), was evident at times but after the 2nd night we got used to it.”
darrylg183, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Very spacious”
TraceyS321, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“This apartment is in a residential tower, do not expect a reception desk. When you book you may end up in one of a number of buildings.”
leow642, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Get a high floor to avoid tram noise.”
Welcome2015, 17 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Priceline
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates