We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Discovery Melbourne

Hostelworld.comUS$45*
View Deal
GreenLeadersSilver level
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$75*
US$45*
Great Deal
US$70*
US$70*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Discovery Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

479 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Discovery Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Showing 436: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Friendly staff and easy online booking. That said, you get what you pay for in terms of room condition. Was allocated to a room with long term lodgers. Got a huge welcome from the smell of smokes upon opening the dorm door. Room was beyond messy and dirty with leftover food packages and dirty plates around the room. Having to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jkerr162
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Discovery. We appreciate your comments. I apologise for the state of the room. We try to allocate long termers and regular back packers away form one another. We failed in your case, I am sorry! Many thanks Michael

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Got kicked out of my room in the middle of the night because they double booked my room. I was not notified of this at the check in or during my stay. Then they moved me to a different room but it was fully booked as well! They did not even bother to check. Finally they moved me to a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Evgeny G
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. May I suggest next time escalating your complaint if you are not satisfied as we always follow through on complaints if they are raised. Unfortunately once you have left the property our options to assist you are limited. Waiting until you depart to write a review is...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 12 August 2016

The lady at the reception...the one with the nose ring is incredibly rude and racist. They treat black people here so badly with no respect. She would always sneer at me anytime she talked to me. That is if she served me at all. I felt so alone and depressed there that I had to check out early.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank NrbFurnishedRentals
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a comment. I apologise if you felt that you were treated differently however this is the first time I have heard such a comment during my time here. We employ team members from different nationalities and we love the fact that people from all different parts of the world choose to stay here. Kind regards Michael

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 August 2016

There are some backpackers in this hostel, but many of the guests are long-term, working in Melbourne and looking for cheap rent. This changes the atmosphere a great deal. But if you just need a comfy bed to sleep in at night, this is the perfect place! Free towels, amazing location and 24-hr reception.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 560anah
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Discovery. We appreciate your comments. Many thanks Michael

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Jack? One of the guy who worked in reception desk was really kind and nice. Thank you for ur service and i was satisfied about every moment. If i have some chance to visit Melbourne again, i will try to go there

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank yjjo111
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Discovery. We appreciate your comments. Many thanks Michael

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Very cheap - linen, mattress and pillows surprisingly very comfortable and clean - helped for a good night's sleep. Food is average, but worth the price you pay – backpackers rates. I had to wait over an hour because my room took forever to be cleaned, which is never a good sign. Front desk customer service – super rude! No...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashliefisher
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Discovery. We appreciate your comments. Rooms are always ready by 2pm which is check in time. We are a busy hostel so rooms are not always ready before 2pm. I am surprised that you thought the service was poor. I will share your comments with my team. Many thanks Michael

Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

- : I stayed there for only one night and have cancelled the second after the moment i have seen my first room. It was a 6 ladies dorm: small, bad smelling, and the carpet on the floor was altough wet!!! So I changed the room, but the new one wasn't better: tiny, messy, really dirty, old and cold; The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ramona U
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Discovery. We appreciate your comments. I am sorry that your stay was not up to standard. Might I suggest that next time you mention these things during your stay as opposed to the end, that way we may have been able to do something about it for you. Many thanks Michael

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Maybe next time I don't have another place can let me find the room,I will booking they ,but the room is bad reception service is great,toilet so good,i just wanna say I rating of this property is three star only ,I really sorry about this

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jack031023
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Discovery. We appreciate your comments. Many thanks Michael

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Was good for a short stay because of the location. Staff is helpful and patient. It seems to be pretty safe, there are small lockers in the room but it isn't the cleanest. Met some cool people here and the bar downstairs is convenient and cheap to get the night started.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Taylor K
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Discovery. We appreciate your comments. Many thanks Michael

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

This is hostel is absolutely freezing throughout the entire building, which is a bold statement seen as I am from Scotland where we see some shocking temperatures. There is no escaping the cold what so ever, there is only 2 heaters in one corner in the lounge area downstairs and the windows are so thin in the dorms they would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren T
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Discovery. We appreciate your comments. We now have free Wi Fi in the lobby. As for the cold, we do supply portable heaters and blankets if required, perhaps next time be sure to ask. We are in the process of replacing all bunks and mattresses. And I will be sure to mention your comments to...

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (37)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#5 of 132 in Melbourne
495 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#47 of 132 in Melbourne
114 reviews
Central Business District
King Street Backpackers
King Street Backpackers
#104 of 132 in Melbourne
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#20 of 132 in Melbourne
400 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#31 of 132 in Melbourne
404 reviews
Southbank
Urban Central
Urban Central
#28 of 132 in Melbourne
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersSilver level
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discovery Melbourne is a large city backpackers conveniently located right in the heart of the Melbourne CBD. Enjoy a free breakfast each day between 7am - 9am, newly installed Global Gossips Wifi throughout the Entire Buidling, and if your stay with us for 14 or more consecutive nights, a FREE airport pick up from Tullamarine. (*Conditions apply.) Features include a basement bar, cafe, cinema, job & travel agencies, rooftop with BBQ's and 24 hour reception with great local staff.For travellers looking to share accommodation we have 4, 6 & 8 share dorms and also 10 - 16 share dorms for those looking for an even cheaper option. For those wanting some privacy we also have basic private double, twin & family rooms. All rooms have shared bathroom facilities, heating and linen.Our Events Program offers guests many opportunities to explore and make friends! Discover amazing street art & hidden secrets on our free walking tours & head out of the city on our free markets & beach bus tours! Our bar The New Disco Bar has cheap drink specials including Happy Hour until 8pm from Wednesday - Saturday! Great DJ's get the dance floor pumping and a huge range of events, such as Poker nights, Minute to Win it and Ladies night on a friday. If it's great coffee & food you're after, the chefs at our licensed cafe serve up delicious food 7 days a week including all day breakfast and some of the best pizzas in town! Our fantastic Melbournian staff will make you feel right at home 24/7 Our overnight security, CCTV, lockers and swipe card access will ensure you and your belongings are safe! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Discovery Melbourne

Address: 167 - 175 Franklin St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: €40 - €77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Discovery Melbourne staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
Ipoh, Malaysia
10 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Zip up your bags at night!”
chw990, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There are lockers downstairs front lobby, left down the stairs. Do go to the roof at some point. Magnet locks may need a slight press inward at the top of the black plastic that houses card scanner, this temporarily repaired the lock into my floor, but it was on the way out. The facilities do get used, and that regular, by many hands. ”
, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Better ventilation”
alexkK9757DV, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We couldn't find a suitable room.”
patrickjl2017, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“3rd and 4th floor are quieter”
P9614SXmarianal, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$45* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$70
TravelocityUS$70
PricelineUS$75
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates