We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lyall Hotel and Spa

Show Prices
#93 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Lyall Hotel and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

304 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 294: English reviews
Start your review of Lyall Hotel and Spa
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 2 weeks and must congratulate the management and staff on excellent service and accommodation. Good size suite with everything you could want on hand. Regular turndown service and every morning and evening towel change. Breakfast could not be faulted and finally their car valet service was fast, secure and a must for Melbourne streets with parking restrictions. Will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 641howard
Rowina T, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mr and Mrs Barbarash, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It is very much appreciated and has been shared with our staff. It is nice to read that you enjoyed our service and your suite. Breakfast is a popular part of the Melbourne culture, at The Lyall we serve our...

Delray Beach, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have little positive to say about this property. The location is fine with choices of restaurants. There is construction on one side of the hotel; I found this out thanks to Trip Advisor. When I called the hotel I was told we should have booked a different (more expensive) suite! The management did upgrade us, however, room service was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bafla2015
Rowina T, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to respond to your comments on TripAdvisor. At The Lyall, we like to address any concerns or issues if they occur during your stay. We prefer you to leave feeling happy and having enjoyed your stay at The Lyall as well as your time in Melbourne. Our Reservations Manager contacted you...

Melbourne
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

'It's so quiet....', goes the Bjork song...this is a perfect lead in to this luxury boutique hotel tucked away off Toorak Rd, South Yarra. We stayed here just after our wedding before we flew away on our honeymoon and it couldn't have been more perfect. As far as the rooms go, the decor and furnishings are all top quality and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fabes74
Rowina T, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all congratulations on your wedding, we hope that your honeymoon is all that you hoped for and more. Thank you so much for your very positive review on TripAdvisor, we are very appreciative of your feedback and are glad that we were able to give you a very special experience after your wedding. Thank you for...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We wanted to stay in a Melbourne neighborhood--out of the central business district. South Yarra was perfect for our week's visit. The neighborhood is sort of upscale Bohemian. The Lyall is a half block off the main street (Torook Road) and within two blocks of the train station (few stops to the CBD) and one block from the #8 tram...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey C
Rowina T, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jeffrey, Thank you for sharing your thoughts on TripAdviosr. As you mention, The Lyall is perfect for experiencing Melbourne as a local. While you have all the benefits of a 5 star hotel within, you step out on to Toorak Road to enjoy all of the shops, restaurants, galleries etc. Well positioned to access other areas and the CBD...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Couldn't better placed for a shopping trip to Melbourne .. wonderful eateries and shops all around. The hotel itself is boutique style, rather European in feel with a little champagne bar in the foyer. The room we had was nicely appointed with a separate lounge and bedroom with a kitchenette (including washing machine, dishwasher and coffee machine!), although the bedroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aussies_Abroad_Again
Rowina T, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad to see that you enjoyed the South Yarra address and all of it's fabulous shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. Thank you for complimenting the staff and highlighting all of the features and of The Lyall. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Warmest...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Whilst the location is very good ,almost everything else about the Lyall is terrible ! On arrival we were advised the computer system was down and we would not have any keys available for our room until further notice. Once getting in to our room we were greeted by 2 giant excavators at the window that were no more than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rowanr724
Rowina T, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mr R, I would normally thank you for taking the time to share you experience on TripAdvisor, however on this occasion I cannot. I do regret that you had such a disappointing stay and should explain that while we appreciate you choosing The Lyall for your special occasion, we did our best to manage your concerns from what we...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Good location but hotel is tired.Bed was old and badly down on one side.Breakfast good but service a bit erratic.Did not like a kitchen in the room but others might. Building site next door a real turn off on left side facing from the road

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
Rowina T, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mr R, Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay. Your comments have been noted, however with your comment on the bed, I am wondering if you mentioned this to staff during your stay. We usually only receive compliments on the comfort of our beds and they are most certainly not old. I have been unable...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

I stayed for one night recently at the Lyall Hotel. I travel frequently and enjoy boutique hotels. This wasn't boutique it was run down and grubby. There was mould in the grout of the shower ( over a bath ) and around the door jam the timber was splintering off. There is clearly no maintenance occurring to keep this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NikAUS
Rowina T, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear NikAUS, Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. From your comments, it appears that you stayed in a studio which is one of 5 hotel style rooms that have a shower over the bath, all 35 others are suites that have shower and separate bath. I do apologise that you experienced this and have met with Housekeeping to ensure...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 2 March 2017

This is the second stay for me at the Lyall and it won't be the last. It is quite simply THE BEST Boutique Hotel in Melbourne. The service is unsurpassed so much so that you almost feel like you are bunking down with relatives.....albeit the wealthy ones!...The rooms are sooooo cosy without crossing over the line to cluttered...they include everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mumwise
Rowina T, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mumwise, Wow !! What an amazing review, thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor. It is so nice to read when a guest gets and appreciates what you are about. When building and creating The Lyall, we envisaged our guests "living" in all the spaces and actually having an experience rather than just staying.....hence our little tagline "Live The Lyall"....

Amsterdam
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

This is THE boutique hotel to choose if you want to live like a local. It's in a neighborhood rather than the dead center, locals drop in and out of the cozily chic bar because it's so comfortable. It's the perfect upscale home away from home. Don't expect hip. Expect elegant and comfortable, the best and most accommodating staff I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amsterdametje
Rowina T, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Amsterdametje, What a fabulous review !! Thank you so much. I am so pleased that you took some time to let everyone know what you experienced. You actually get what The Lyall is all about. Small, independent, 5 star, city fringe area of South Yarra (in amongst the locals), accommodating staff, suites, fully loaded with service and amenities, cozy...

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 158 in Melbourne
1,621 reviews
Royce Hotel
#33 of 158 in Melbourne
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
5,246 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
1,992 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
2,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Let us pamper you. A true 5 Star service Boutique Hotel centrally located close to Toorak Road / Chapel Street shops and restaurants. Melbourne's only privately owned/operated luxury hotel with 40 one and two bedroom suites of contemporary oriental design. The Lyall Hotel and Spa's welcoming ambience attracts a discerning international clientele seeking genuine and professional service whether travelling for business or leisure. All suites have full length windows that open for fresh air and a balcony. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lyall Hotel and Spa

Address: 16 Murphy St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range: €162 - €344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyall Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lyall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lyall Hotel Melbourne
Lyall Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#83 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lyall Hotel and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Corner High Floor is excellent. No experience of others.”
641howard, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Do not stay whilst construction next door is still underway.”
rowanr724, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our friends had room 209 which was on the corner so lighter as there were more windows.”
sev8, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“My room was on 2nd floor - very quiet!”
Christine60745, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“best avoid the ground floor Its a small hotel so main lobby near by”
davidcI8191JF, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5