We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mercure North Melbourne

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure North Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

384 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure North Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Showing 379: English reviews
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Booked in late on a Friday Night after a 5 hour drive, the room was nothing like the one in the photo, ours was a lot smaller, opened the door to find it was occupied by thousands of mosguitoes went to reception and asked for some fly spray they had it on hand it must be a common thing, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pedz1
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Pedz1, Definitely not a great experience and for this we apologise. As you would have read from previous responses, the rooms are undergoing a full renovation, to be completed by the end of 2016. The mosquito’s are definitely not a pleasant sight, however, Victoria and Melbourne in particular has experienced an onslaught of mosquitos this spring. Our pest control...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 October 2016

I Tried to contact both North Melbourne Mercure and Accor and got no reply from either. No apology. No nothing. My husband and i have stayed at many Accor hotels so we couldn't wait to try the 4 star North Melbourne Mercure. We arrived late Friday night on the 8th of July and were very disappointed... we looked past the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karly W
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Karly W, I would like to apologise for the unpleasant experience you had during your stay. I understand your frustration; however, I am delighted we were able to discuss your feedback during our telephone conversation. As mentioned the renovations are well and truly underway and scheduled to end in December 2016. Once again my apologies and thank you for...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 October 2016

My stay at the hotel was quite pleasant. The hotel is situated on the corner of Harker and Flemington Roads North Melbourne. This location is extremely convenient from a number of points of view. Firstly it is only a few kilometres from the main north road which connects directly with the airport and roads heading out of Melbourne to Canberra...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SCGPhil
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this review

Hi SCGPhil, Appreciate the positive review! We are midway through the renovations and hope to have all rooms done by December 2016. We look forward to having stay with us again. All the best! Wayne Woods General Manager

Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Where do I start. My mother and I booked 5 nights stay at this hotel through a 3rd party booking Sunday to Friday. We stayed at this hotel as it was recommended for close places near the Royal Hospital as i was booked for major surgery on the Tuesday. Arriving into our room the place was filthy! The walls were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shayla_Jane
Exeter, Australia
Reviewed 30 September 2016

This hotel is right on the tram line, so if you want to save a little bit of money, stay here and then just hop a tram into the city. It only takes 15 - 20 mins at the most, and then you are in the heart of the city. The rooms are a nice size and the beds are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MiniMusicology
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Stayed at this hotel again after a long time. Good to see renovations have started. Stayed in one of the renovated rooms on the first floor. Rooms look fresh and clean. Furniture needs an upgrade. Great service as always. look forward to my next stay in a few week.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank J S
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Under renovation and really needs it. Hopefully the staff get renovated also, they seemed so lethargic and possibly embarrassed to be there. The hotel really needs shutting down until the renovations are complete. I also wonder why guests are not given the opportunity to know that the hotel is being renovated when booking on line on Accor site.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ragnew2016
Maffra
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Close to hospitals where I was having treatment, walking distance. Basic but spacious room & bathroom suitable for family's. Friendly helpful staff, nice bar & resturant & easy parking. No priority desk for members.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank darrynjh
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Fine on the whole if you are after somewhere close and cheap to Childrens Hospital but clearly in need of major refurb. . Friendly service on check in and out. Was not offered free wifi as loyalty member so came back down to ask for it. Offered booked breakfast at discount. Friendly service for breakfast. I asked for free late...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I've stayed at the Mercure North Melbourne a number of times for work and wasn't very happy with my stay this time. The whole hotel smells of paint/turps as they are doing renovations on some rooms and corridors at the moment. The bathroom in my room was very small and there was no bench space at all at the basin...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonya T
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear Sonya T, I am so sorry, that you did not enjoy your most recent stay at the hotel and the room was not to your satisfaction. As you have mentioned in your review, our refurbishment program is now underway and we are confident that we will have a much better room product once completed. There is some inconvenience expected...

107 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Apartments on Flemington
#120 of 157 in Melbourne
115 reviews
North Melbourne
British Apartments
British Apartments
#138 of 157 in Melbourne
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arrow On Swanston
#125 of 157 in Melbourne
241 reviews
Bayview Eden
#111 of 157 in Melbourne
575 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mercure North Melbourne is located on the edge of the CBD, just a short tram ride from the city of Melbourne. All of Melbourne's attractions are within easy access. The hotel offers 70 contemporary & comfortable rooms and suites, with King, Queen, Twin accommodation options available, all with en-suite bathrooms, LCD TV, Foxtel, Internet access, Fridge with mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel has a small plunge pool, and offers complimentary access to local private gym. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure North Melbourne

Address: | Corner Flemington Road & Harker Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3051, Australia (Formerly Rydges North Melbourne)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range: €73 - €141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure North Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure North Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges North Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Rydges North Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges North Hotel
Hotel Style:
#113 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mercure North Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“inside rooms would be quieter as the hotel is on a busy corner near hospital”
 of 5 bubbles rabbitoh1, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“do not book here”
 of 5 bubbles wendymP6097TF, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Nothing good here”
  • broken window
  • peeling paint all over roof
  • Cracked tiles
 of 5 bubbles 849karlyw, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from main roads are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 57lesley2015, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“No real views, but second floor rooms might be a bit quieter than ground floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles scottmE2617CZ, 5 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay