We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mercure North Melbourne

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure North Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

384 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 379: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed there for 4 nights and I had very nice experience. However, the swimming pool was cold and we couldn't use it because weather was also cold. Otherwise, other things were perfect. Location is just at the limit of city. I always found a tram to reach the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 551shibus
Avoca Beach, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is very easy to access from the airport and close to the University, hospital and trams. Great cafes within a few hundred metres. Building does need a refurbishment though. The beds are good and it is always clean, but its starting to look a bit tired.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ANZman
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BVC2
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff are friendly the meals are outstanding, the staff go out of there way to help you. The buffet breakfast is outstanding, and its always good to see a smiling face in the morning. You may have to set your alarm clock because the beds are soo comfortable. I never sleep in but slept until 8.30 am feeling brillant,also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angiemckee1992
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Property is old, rooms are VERY Basic! No spare blankets or pillows. And when i asked for one the manager made me feel like an idiot by saying there is one on the bed... there was a sheet and Dona as you'd expect but NO blankets. When i said i was still cold, he said you've got to be kidding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MPbrisban
Mackay, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I arrived here a little apprehensive after reading the reviews on this hotel They were the opposite to what I found ,the room was on the large size with great features & a desk , it was spotless The restaurant was great, the young lady who was running the bar & waitress too was extremely busy but was very professional...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lenny4545
Greater Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is in the process of being renovated and is in a great location for catching the tram and it is only about a ten minute tram ride into the city centre. There is an IGA express within walking distance but limited food options other than the hotel restaurant. Room was comfortable but only a mini fridge and kettle,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mirandad579
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Even the renovated rooms are not up to standard. Filthy furniture and poor quality. Tried to be disguised with new paint and carpet. Understand that they are renovating and workers start at 8am, but they could have asked me if I wanted the room next door to the workers or further away! Not pleased to have the workers loud radio,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LisaS S
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear LisaS S, Appreciate you reviewing our hotel, albeit a tad bit harsh. The renovation process has been planned in stages and stage 1 is to complete the painting, carpet and wallpaper. Stage 2 involves the furniture and painting of the corridors. I do have to apologise for the inconvenience caused by our contractors. This is totally unacceptable and should...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Firstly, the staff were excellent. Very helpful. Had breakfast every morning, food was basic but very good and always full. However they are doing renovations and I arrived on a Sat. there were flakes of paint and plaster in the hallway that hadn't been vacuumed. While my room was cleaned daily at no time in the 5 days I stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rabbitoh1
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear rabbitoh1, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the team. It is unfortunate to note your feedback about the room not being vacuumed, I will definitely address this with the housekeeping team this afternoon. Please accept my apologies for this oversight. We are in the process...

Bairnsdale
Reviewed 1 November 2016

The car parking was out in the open on a gravel drive way, it was raining so not very easy to walk down. The room was filthy, dirty and disgusting.the chairs were stained and grotty. I never took my shoes off, the carpet was so stained and dirty. Went to reception and asked to go to another room, the receptionist...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wendy M
The_Hotel_Team, General Manager at Mercure North Melbourne, responded to this review

Dear E9113JUwendym, My apologies for the unpleasant experience during your recent visit to the hotel and disappointing that we were unable to stay in one of refurbished rooms. We are in the midst of renovating all accommodation rooms and will have all of level 1 completed next week. We certainly did not meet your expectations on this occasion, however, please...

107 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Apartments on Flemington
#120 of 157 in Melbourne
115 reviews
North Melbourne
British Apartments
British Apartments
#138 of 157 in Melbourne
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arrow On Swanston
#125 of 157 in Melbourne
241 reviews
Bayview Eden
#110 of 157 in Melbourne
574 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mercure North Melbourne is located on the edge of the CBD, just a short tram ride from the city of Melbourne. All of Melbourne's attractions are within easy access. The hotel offers 70 contemporary & comfortable rooms and suites, with King, Queen, Twin accommodation options available, all with en-suite bathrooms, LCD TV, Foxtel, Internet access, Fridge with mini bar, tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel has a small plunge pool, and offers complimentary access to local private gym. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure North Melbourne

Address: | Corner Flemington Road & Harker Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3051, Australia (Formerly Rydges North Melbourne)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range: €73 - €142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure North Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mercure North Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges North Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Rydges North Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges North Hotel
Hotel Style:
#113 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mercure North Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“inside rooms would be quieter as the hotel is on a busy corner near hospital”
 of 5 bubbles rabbitoh1, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“do not book here”
 of 5 bubbles wendymP6097TF, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Nothing good here”
  • broken window
  • peeling paint all over roof
  • Cracked tiles
 of 5 bubbles 849karlyw, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from main roads are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 57lesley2015, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“No real views, but second floor rooms might be a bit quieter than ground floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles scottmE2617CZ, 5 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay