We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Metro Apartments on Bank Place

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

285 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 280: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great place to stay for a short time in Melbourne, service was nice and the rooms are simple but have everything you need. I stayed here on a night where emergency drilling on Bank Place was being conducted, the management did everything in their power to make you more comfortable, they kindly put me in a level 7 room so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ari T
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Older Building, with dusky smells .Rooms are pleasant though freshly painted , and large enough with high ceilings , shower cubicals a little outdated and awkward to use. The kitchen is fitted with electric cook top , dishwasher and washing machine and dryer combined. The hotel is conveniently located close to all amenities and public transport . Staff are very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Manuel R
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were told, only once we had checked in and paid, that the council would be digging up the lane-way outside our window. Had we been advised, even a couple of hours earlier, we could have changed our stay to a different night. We got no sleep. The first room we were given had the most horrible smell of mould.... More 

Helpful?
Thank MadamCharli
Old Bar, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What I loved about staying here was the proximity to places & attractions of the cbd. I loved the buzz of the laneway with a tavern & cafes at the door. I was in a 1 bedroom unit that had everything I needed for my stay. The unit wasn't top nosh but very liveable. The service at the reception was... More 

Helpful?
Thank 244lindam244
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review

Hello 244lindham244, We appreciate your taking the time to leave your feedback after your stay with us this week at Metro Apartments on Bank Place in Melbourne. We are glad to see that you enjoyed our central location and proximity to a great range of local dining and entertainment venues, as well as the self-contained apartment and our fantastic staff.... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is quite old, but the rooms were nice and large with very high ceilings, I was given a free upgrade, so had plenty of room, good en-suite, very comfortable bed, centrally located, great value for money

Helpful?
Thank Stevemax57
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review

Hello Stevemax57, Thank-you for taking the time to visit TripAdvisor and leave your feedback after your recent stay with us at Metro Apartments on Bank Place in Melbourne. We are glad to see that you were pleased with your upgrade and that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope this means we will get to see you again... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The apartment was quite small but well equipped and overall very clean. Areas in the shower could have been cleaner but general cleanliness was good. The apartment was comfortable and the staff were excellent. The location was great, close to trams and the main shopping areas. Would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank pgymy
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review

Hello pgymy, We appreciate your taking the time to leave your comments after your recent stay with us at Metro Apartments on Bank Place in Melbourne. We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that this means that we will get to welcome you back again to stay with us next time... More 

1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a week in a One Bedroom apartment. A bit dated but comfortable. We had a grandchild stay for 2 nights, no hassle to arrange roll away bed. All staff we had contact with where very helpful and friendly. Free WiFi was a bonus. Very central to shopping , restaurants, trams and flinders station. The major downfall... More 

Helpful?
Thank Donna B
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review

Hello Donna B, Thank-you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent stay with us at Metro Apartments on Bank Place in Melbourne. We would like to sincerely apologise for the oversight of housekeeping in making up your room, we understand how disconcerting this situation would have been and we would like to assure you that every... More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great proximity to the law end of the CBD and to RACV Club. Room very clean and spacious and well set up. Aircon very quiet and easy to operate. Bed very comfortable. Great value for money. 24 hour reception was useful and staff friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank MJDaw
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review

Hello MJDaw, Thank-you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent stay with us at Metro Apartments on Bank Place in Melbourne. We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again next time you are in Melbourne. Kind regards, Harsha Karunaratna - Property Manager More 

Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We booked this room on returning from 6 weeks in Europe. The room was tiny! There wasn't space between the bed and the wardrobe to pull the suitcase through, and it's not a big suitcase. We had to park the suitcases in front of the door as there was nowhere else for them. The wardrobe door was broken and not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annie M
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review

Hello AnnieM, We are sorry to see that you were not fully satisfied with the size of the Queen Room that you had on your recent stay with us. Our Queen Room is the most simple of the accommodation options we offer, with a queen bed, bathroom, small writing desk and tea and coffee facilities. We would typically recommend this... More 

Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

This is a great location off the busy main streets, walking distance to most attractions and very close to tram. The building is old with some steps up to the entry. Staff are super friendly and helpful. The double room I was in was a bit cramped with not much storage space. The bathroom was renovated with a good sized... More 

Helpful?
Thank WAgreylady
MetroAptsBankPlace, Manager at Metro Apartments on Bank Place, responded to this review

Hello WAgreylady, Thank-you for taking the time to leave your feedback about your stay with us at Metro Apartments on Bank Place after your recent trip to Melbourne. We are glad to see that you found the location of our heritage-listed building to be convenient and central for your needs in the city, and that our friendly and helpful staff... More 

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
1:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#81 of 157 in Melbourne
968 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#91 of 157 in Melbourne
1,043 reviews
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN Riverside Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Metro Apartments on Bank Place is in the heart of Melbourne city. Located on the Golden Mile Heritage Trail in a cosy London-esque lane, the century-old heritage listed building boasts four star boutique self-contained serviced apartments and hotel rooms with all of the modern conveniences, perfect for business or leisure travelers. Free wireless internet access is available in all apartments. Renowned for their 'warm and friendly hospitality', the staff at Metro Apartments on Bank Place are only too happy to assist in making your stay a pleasant and memorable experience. Located off the 'New York' end of Collins Street Metro Apartments are in the centre of the business end of town and only a short walk or tram trip to the best Melbourne has to offer in shopping, dining, entertainment, sport and recreation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Metro Apartments on Bank Place

Address: 18 Bank Pl, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: €81 - €178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metro Apartments on Bank Place 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Metro Apartments on Bank Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Apartments On Bank Place Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#99 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Metro Apartments on Bank Place staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Ballarat, Australia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Metro Apartments on Bank Place staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room at the back of the building as the premise is on a lane-way that carries sound. Rooms are a little small; ask about size.”
 of 5 bubbles MadamCharli, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms that don't face laneway. View would be good but there could be noise too.”
 of 5 bubbles 244lindam244, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request a room on the opposite side to the nightclub”
 of 5 bubbles pgymy, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid a room overlooking Bank Place if you want a quiet night”
 of 5 bubbles anniemN8289ZV, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles suep369, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay