We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon

Show Prices
#58 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

767 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 753: English reviews
Start your review of Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon
 Click to rate
Bendigo, Victoria
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We chose to stay here for our weekend at the Arnold Classic. Our room was quiet and comfortable for the price we paid. Staff were excellent and breakfast was delicious. So close to restaurants on Lygon St made it so easy as all within walking distance. Would stay here again too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jennifera710
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Checked in 9pm on Friday night & took a walk along Lygon St. Returned at 11pm & went to bed. At 1.30am we were woken suddenly by someone in our room. My wife's screaming woke me & I saw a woman by the door who began apologising saying she had been allocated room 206 and had been given the key....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brett G
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room I booked wasn't ready. Still being made up. The king size spa room wasn't what I expected. The spa was only for a child. To small ! I was told over the phone when booked the room parking was included in the price of the room but was charged. The parking bay are way to small to fit your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
Lynne C, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review

Dear Chris R We appreciate your taking the time to provide your feedback , are you able to supply some further information so we can investigate. If you can email gm@downtowner.com.au with some further details We will ensure that your feedback is distributed across all departments to share with the team. On behalf of all the team here at Downtowner...

Curlewis, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms are comfy and clean, Bathrooms are a bit squeezy though. Amenities provided are excellent but car parking a bit limited. Close to Lygon St Restaurants. and a short walk into Melbourne or the Exhibition Buildings and Gardens.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Magpies2016
Lynne C, Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review

Dear Magpies2016 We appreciate your kind words, it is always great to that your time in Melbourne and at Downtowner on Lygon was pleasant. We are pleased to read that the service you received, location and hotel facilities all contributed to what we trust was a memorable time in Melbourne. We will ensure that your feedback is distributed across all...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. I had a 10am meeting nearby after flying in from Sydney that morning. I was able to park my hire car early and my room was already available for an early check in which meant I could have a quick shower and get refreshed for my meeting. I'll be staying here again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
Lynne C, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review

Dear Ben B We appreciate your kind words, it is always great to read the team were friendly and get you access to a room early for you. Simple thing but can and did make a difference in your day/meeting. We are pleased to read that the service you received, location and hotel facilities all contributed to what we trust...

Wellington, NZ
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great location in Lygon Street with lots of cafes , restaurants at your doorstep. The room was clean and comfortable and VERY quiet. There was a small kitchen for meals and a decent fridge to store food. Staff were efficient and friendly

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robs014
Lynne C, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review

Dear Robs014 We appreciate your kind words, it is always great to read the team were friendly. We are pleased to read that the service you received, location and hotel facilities all contributed to what we trust was a memorable time in Melbourne. We will ensure that your feedback is distributed across all departments to share with the team. On...

Reviewed 1 week ago

A quality control consultant living in Adelaide, I attended a meeting with the Victoria Police who put me up at this hotel. I did not know what to expect from the hotel. A trip about 20 years ago and was more than pleasantly surprised. I did't think any renovation was required, but apparently keeping up with with competition on vibrant,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
Lynne C, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review

Dear Martin H We appreciate your kind words, it is always great to read. We are pleased to read that the service you received, location and hotel facilities all contributed to what we trust was a memorable time in Melbourne. We will ensure that your feedback is distributed across all departments to share with the team. On behalf of all...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel, clean, comfortable and in a prime foodie location, fantastic!! Best bathrooms, they're large and accommodating and the room in general is really well appointed with a table & chairs & plenty of places to put your things, tea & coffee facilities. My only gripe would be not being made aware of a $100 room key deposit (refunded on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cat F
Lynne C, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review

Dear Cat F We will ensure that your feedback is distributed across all departments to share with the team regarding the $100 deposit , this is communicated via all third party websites and is on our confirmation letter. If your travel plans see you visiting Melbourne again in the future please do not hesitate to contact our dedicated team and...

Te Kuiti
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just spent 4 nights here along with an extended family group of 12, in town for a wedding. The location was really good, walking distance to most of what we did over our visit. Trams handy just down the street for the longer distances. Shopping in the city, close to Queen Victoria Market, restaurants just up the road. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kopakitraveller
Lynne C, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review

Dear Kopakitraveller We appreciate your kind words, it is always great to read the team were friendly. We are pleased to read that the service you received, location and hotel facilities all contributed to what we trust was a memorable time in Melbourne. We will ensure that your feedback is distributed across all departments to share with the team. If...

Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only stayed one night but found the hotel very comfortable and were very pleased when they let us in earlier than regular check in. Nice having windows that looked out on to trees. Great shower and quiet at night even though it is in Lygon St, close to heaps of restaurants.Great having a toaster as well as the usual...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarinAustralia
Lynne C, General Manager at Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon, responded to this review

Dear CarinAustralia We appreciate your kind words, it is always great to read the team were friendly. We are pleased to read that the service you received, location and hotel facilities all contributed to what we trust was a memorable time in Melbourne. We will ensure that your feedback is distributed across all departments to share with the team. We...

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#50 of 158 in Melbourne
263 reviews
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#115 of 158 in Melbourne
123 reviews
Lygon Street
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#95 of 158 in Melbourne
304 reviews
Central Business District
Jasper Hotel
Jasper Hotel
#75 of 158 in Melbourne
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether you're planning a weekend getaway, business trip or corporate event, your family, friends, guests and colleagues will be impressed with your choice of Downtowner on Lygon - Melbourne's reputable, premier midscale hotel, brilliantly located bordering cosmopolitan Carlton and the buzzing CBD.With five room sizes, exclusive packages, restaurant and cocktail lounge and a choice of on-site event facilities, The Downtowner on Lygon helps you tailor your perfect stay in Melbourne. Just read what our guests have to say. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon

Address: 66 Lygon St | corner of Lygon Street and Queensberry Street, Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Price Range: €88 - €173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Melbourne
Quality Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#34 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#55 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Canberra, Australia
9 months ago
Coquitlam, Canada
4 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Quality Hotel Downtowner on Lygon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a king size bed so our room was an upgrade”
 of 5 bubbles Jennifera710, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the quiet side.”
 of 5 bubbles brettg313, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing away from the traffic would be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 693ChrisR, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Barter on price”
 of 5 bubbles Magpies2016, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The standard King suite was very comfortable. The room was nicely designed.”
 of 5 bubbles benbG2616CT, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5