We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Urban Central

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Urban Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

392 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 337: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great vibes with the bar and the hostel as one. A fantastic place to meet people and just chill. Location is perfect, walking distance to everything you could want in Melbs. If I ever went back to Melbourne I would stay at Urban Central for sure!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alejandro-Otis T
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A friend and I stayed at Urban Central while exploring and received fantastic service from all of the staff. The rooms were spacious and clean. The bar had many good deals, lots of TVs and the food was excellent. Overall, a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeteN327
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms and services are great, but had a horrible experience with one of the staff that really put me off the whole place. As well as it was run, I don't think I'd return. To the shaved head bloke with the tattoos, I've got to say, your rudeness was really unappreciated. My girlfriend and I were really appalled at your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElierRev
Gold Coast
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is my second stay at Urban Central and each time it was in a room with an en suite (the same as a standard hotel or motel). The best part is the price only $93 (using Hotels.com) and you're a stones through from some of Sth Melbourne's finest eateries and just up the road from Crown Cashino (if you're...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ozbob101
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our venue, It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us and we were delighted to welcome you back. You are right, being this close to DFO is dangerous. However, it can be convenient should you require good clothing at discounted prices. We are looking forward to having you stay...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I spent two nights at urban central and really enjoyed our stay. As far as hostels go, this place is ideal. The dorm rooms are small (around 4 people), and impeccably clean in particular the beds. The location is good around 15 minutes walk to the CBD and very close to super markets. Free breakfast, pasta, rice,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KatieLWinstanley
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our venue, It was a pleasure to have had you both stay with us. We enjoy maintaining a high level of service to all of our guests and cleanliness is one of our main priorities. Our internet is $3 a day with discounts for the longer you stay. We use GX2 technology...

Olten, Switzerland
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Stayed for two nights. This hostel is located approx. 10 minutes on foot from the centre. Dorm was spacious with comfy beds. Lockers for all guests are provided (big enough for your backpack and with e-socket within!). Reading-lamp for each bed, but no e-socket there. All rooms are clean. There are enough bathrooms with good showers on the floor. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dryanta
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We enjoyed having you stay with us at Urban. Our internet is with GX2 technology (used to be global gossip). We have found that their connection is fast, reliable and with an excellent support team. It is only $3 a day with discounts the longer you stay. We are looking forward to having you stay...

Reviewed 4 December 2016

Stayed here for 6 weeks, trying 2 other hostels in Melbourne before hand. It was very clean especially the kitchen! They have staff always on duty to make sure everything is cleaned properly and you have a decent space to cook in. Free breakfast and tea/ coffee always available. They rooms are a good size we stayed in a 4bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle G
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our venue. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here at Urban. We are having new events such as trivia and bingo starting in our bar that will be sure to enhance our atmosphere and make meeting fellow travelers fun and easy. We are looking forward to having you stay with...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 December 2016

Urban Central is ver expensive. For this money I expect to be treaded welcome. But the Staff is very unfriendly and entitled. Whatever problem you have, they won't help you out. I asked if I could check in early because I had to work, but although I had payed for the accomondation, I wasn't allowed to use the bathrooms (or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank natsvh
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

I paid for my friends to stay here and the room was full of cockroaches it was disgusting. We complained about the cleanliness of the room and I was told it wasn't their problem and that they couldn't do anything about it. I asked for a refund so we could pay to go somewhere else and was refused as they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabella H
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Hi Isabelle, Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We take our cleanliness seriously and are surprised at your review. We have routine checks and an in-house pest control manager, to ensure that we are following all the correct cleaning procedures. We can say with absolute certainty that we have never had cockroaches in our dorm rooms....

Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Urban Central for one night in a double room with private bathroom. The central location is perfect and the room was clean. The breakfast was included in the price and this has been appreciated!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paolina1980
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our venue. It was a pleasure to have had you stay with us and we are glad that you enjoyed the high level of cleanliness and service that we offer. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, The team at Urban Central

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Aria Hotel Apartments
Aria Hotel Apartments
#107 of 157 in Melbourne
342 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#98 of 157 in Melbourne
366 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#24 of 123 in Melbourne
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#5 of 123 in Melbourne
439 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#10 of 123 in Melbourne
753 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#34 of 123 in Melbourne
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Urban Central is ideally located in Melbourne's vibrant Southbank adjacent to the famous Crown Casino. The city is a 10 minute walk and with public transport on our doorstep, St Kilda is only a 10 minute tram ride away. Shopping around Urban Central is located close to local cafes, shops and the famous South Melbourne Market. If you enjoy good coffee and eateries Southbank restaurants overlooking The Yarra River are 5 min stroll from Urban Central. On the way to visit Port Melbourne beach you could pick up a bargain at Direct Factory Outlet about a 10 minute from our accommodation venue. Stay, Play at Urban Central! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Urban Central

Address: 334 City Road Southbank, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Price Range: €64 - €164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Urban Central 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Urban Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Central Hotel Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Urban Central staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Urban Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room away from City Rd and the freeway if road noise bothers you.”
 of 5 bubbles Ozbob101, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“maybe ask for a room not facing the busy motorway outside as sometimes the motorbikes were a little loud.”
 of 5 bubbles P1743DSisabelleg, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I'm sure all rooms are comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles nelsonjacobo11, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“If you are three people or more make sure to get a family room, it's cheaper and has it's own TV and bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles LinaM1997, 21 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Book direct with hotel to ensure you get the room you want.”
 of 5 bubbles J3043UDkaties, 13 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay