We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Prince of Wales Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
Prince of Wales Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 73: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staff were so friendly. I can't tell you the last time I've been shown around all the way to my room by the hotel staff. Very helpful all round. Thank You Wouldn't call it cheap accom, just inexpensive. Convenient to train station :)

Helpful?
Thank Angela H
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stay here a lot for work. The rooms are simple but very clean and comfortable. The staff and locals are always friendly and it is an easy 5 min walk to the Salamanca precinct. The Pizza shop next door is really nice too.

Helpful?
Thank kane42
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Close to Salamanca, but a little bit noisy at night. Overall, you get what you pay for. Incredibly affordable accommodation that puts you in the city centre and provides free parking. Would stay at this hotel again. Do bear in mind that this hotel is above a pub so probably not 100% suited towards families with young children.

Helpful?
Thank Rowena A
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We were a bunch of mates from interstate looking for somewhere to watch the footy and although the staff made us feel very welcome, the locals did not. Service was ok but we were pretty glad when the match finished and we safely left the premises.

Helpful?
Thank bbsydney96
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Great location in Battery point, with a good bar and restaurant downstairs. Rooms are basic but do the job. Staff on the premises are very friendly. Free parking out the back and close to great restaurants like Da Angelos next door and Salamanca is a 5 min walk down the road. I paid about $100 a night which included a... More 

Helpful?
Thank PJG33
POWManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back if you venture to Hobart again. Kind regards, Megan More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Have stayed here a few times. This is in a great location at the top of the stairs to Salamanca Place. Very convenient to get to the Market and Constitution Dock. Walking distance to Muirs, The Drunken Admiral and numerous restaurants and seafood outlets. The accommodation is old and needs a spruce up but the bed was comfortable and portable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue J
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

Thx Aaron for the great beer in the best glasses, friendly pub that made us welcome . Great staff. Fantastic position close to everything and live music on the weekends. Good feeds at a great price and beers went down nice. Weekend stop over in Hobart. Thx POW

Helpful?
Thank Yaapeet
POWManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for the kind words! So glad you enjoyed your time at The Prince. The staff here are our biggest asset. Hope to see you back. Megan Childress More 

Bendigo
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Service fantastic as is food AND price. $10 for T-bone steak chips and salad! No room in bar for counter meal so we were allowed to dine in the restaurant for the same price. Lovely waitress, nothing too much trouble. Live band, nice atmosphere. Will definitely go there again and will probably stay there next time.

Helpful?
Thank Mary H
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2016

We didn't stay there but had a great meal there, staff were very friendly,meals were well priced , within walking distance to Salamanca and CBD would eat there again! great little hotel with a great atmosphere

Helpful?
Thank marie t
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

The worst hotel in Hobart. The rooms are stuffy with central aircon not working. Even though it was cold outside, the room waz quite hot and stuffy. The entire hotel smells of stale alcohol including the carpets and the linen. The toilet was so smelly like it had never been cleaned and we were expected to get drinking water from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Reshma N
POWManagement, Manager at Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Reshma, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Unfortunately, if you would have mentioned any of this while you were here, we could have offered solutions. If the room was stuffy with it being cold outside, I'd recommend opening the windows or using the fan that is located in the cupboard. Also, it is a bar/hotel, which... More 

Travellers are raving about these Hobart hotels

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
1.6 km away
Mayfair on Cavell
Mayfair on Cavell
#32 of 45 in Hobart
115 reviews
0.2 km away
Shipwright's Arms Hotel
Shipwright's Arms Hotel
#34 of 45 in Hobart
68 reviews
0.7 km away
Macquarie Manor
Macquarie Manor
#29 of 45 in Hobart
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#8 of 45 in Hobart
438 reviews
1.2 km away
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
1.3 km away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#4 of 45 in Hobart
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Food & drink at the hotel
Prince of Wales Hotel Restaurant
Prince of Wales Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of Hobart's historic Battery Point, The Prince of Wales Hotel has twelve 3 star en-suite rooms, an 80 seat restaurant and a modern popular bar. Suitable for all travelers wanting a central location within easy walking distance of Hobart's main attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: 55 Hampden Rd | Battery Point, Hobart, Tasmania 7004, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Price Range: €80 - €203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prince of Wales Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Of Wales Hobart
Prince Of Wales Hotel Hobart, Tasmania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Prince of Wales Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Brisbane, Australia
11 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Prince of Wales Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The east facing rooms have access to balconies.”
 of 5 bubbles kane42, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I was in room 21 and its cool at night if you open the window, but it may be noisy since there are tables outside downstairs”
 of 5 bubbles 216shuyiw, 11 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Any room not facing the street outside the pub unless you don't mind noise.”
 of 5 bubbles meghnag2014, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room or the bar noise will intrude on the weekends.”
 of 5 bubbles BL1947, 20 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Farthest from the bar might reduce noise from bar and cars a little.”
 of 5 bubbles MOUMAR09, 31 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay