We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 218: English reviews
Start your review of BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I usually only go to Coober Pedy for one reason, to leave early the next morning. But this time we stayed here. Sure the place is being renovated so you have to keep an open mind about camping in a construction site, but the staff were fantastic, young girl that worked in the restaurant was lovely. Place seemed clean to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daffy D
StuartRange, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this review

Hi Daffy and thank you for your kind words about your stay with us at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort and your pizzas from Nostimo pizza. Thank you for stopping over with us and for your understanding, while we undertake renovations in the park. We appreciate your feedback about our staff, the cleanliness and atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming...

Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We paid $30 for a powered site for 1 night. The facilities and amenities were average, but they do actually charge you to use the shower. This seems pretty unreasonable to me, most campsites just limit the duration of the shower in order to conserve water. As we were leaving, I asked a member of staff at Reception if it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geonbae
StuartRange, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this review

Hi Geonbae, Thanks for letting us know your thoughts and we are very sorry that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. We were very sorry to learn that on your departure, our usual friendly and helpful team attitude wasn’t extended to you and we apologise. Unfortunately the coffee machine in Reception does not dispense hot water without having...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff friendly, we were told about the renovations that was going on , but there was dug outs everywhere around the amenities blocks , very dangerous. We where one of the lucky ones , we had a drive through shadecloth park . There 2 days , amenities had not been cleaned in that time , very poor . Then we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kate T
StuartRange, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this review

Hi Kate and thank you for your review. We are glad that you found our staff to be friendly and that you were able to get one of the drive-through shadecloth sites. With major renovations in the park, we have been giving guest the option of staying in our smaller park near the apartments, or using the big park with...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well I was really lucky to stay here for work and I got a double room with a spa. It was very generously proportioned with double glass doors overlooking the sunrise. It was perfect for photo opportunities of the stunning sunsets in the outback. Beds were comfortable and pillows fluffy✔️ Loads of people could fit in the kitchen/dining/lounge area ✔️...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
StuartRange, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review and so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Superior Two Bedroom apartment and that you found the bed comfortable and all the other areas very spacious. Thank you for your comments about the carpet and coffee machine, we will certainly take that onboard. We apologise if the construction affected your stay at...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When we booked we still had the great impressions of a previous stay some years ago. Upon arrival we were directed to the old 'overflow' part of the park having been told the other area was undergoing re-construction (not told this when booked). This area was extremely dirty and a dust bowl and it didn't help that the next two...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Robert S
StuartRange, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this review

Hi Robert and thank you for letting us know your thoughts on your recent stay with us. It was good that you came to us with great impressions from your last visit, but we are very sorry that your recent visit did not live up to those memories. We have utilized the recent low season to do some major upgrades...

Melton, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Park is nice and I can certainly see the potential in a few months once all the renovations are finished. The pool isn't working which I new I was just hoping that it would up and running. It would be good to have something for the teenagers a half court would of been fantastic. The amenities are spotless. I can't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nataliedanton
StuartRange, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this review

Hi Natalie and thank you for your lovely review. Yes we are undergoing major refurbishment in the park, but unfortunately the pool is still closed due to major engineering issues. We are having to replace it altogether and a resort style pool is planned for 2018 . We will certainly take your suggestions onboard regarding something like a half-court for...

Denman, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We too were sent to the shabby carpark with ripped shade cloth and dirty pigeons everywhere. The toilet block was reasonable but there was a broken toilet and the males urinal was out of action. I believe low season means poor standards, very disappointed, nowhere near Big 4 standards.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hugo S
StuartRange, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this review

Hi Hugo, We appreciate you taking the time to let us know your feedback. During the low season, we normally use the smaller park adjacent to the apartments which has its own amenities block. We are working on replacing the shade cloth in this area and the toilets have both now been repaired. Unfortunately a large flock of wild pigeons...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Sites weren't amazing, gravel and small. It's a large area however you have to camp around the perimeter as that's where the power is. The place is not secure, I was told this when booking in, "secure your vehicle". The camp kitchen is not Big4 standard, far from it. Bathrooms were clean however 20c for a shower? Why can't this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Evan D
StuartRange, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this review

Hi Evan and thank you for taking the time to share your review. Normally you can choose any site within the park, however as we are currently doing park upgrades, some of the sites were closed off. Unfortunately Coober Pedy does experience some petty theft and we are doing our best to prevent our guests from being affected, which includes...

melbourne
Reviewed 19 March 2017

After being booked in by a very pleasant lady and taking our money we were then informed the main campsite was closed and we were then directed to what I can only call an overflow site behind the motel. Nearly all the shade clothes were ripped and in a terrible state. In the female toilets one toilet was broken, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dianne W
StuartRange, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this review

Hi Dianne, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are glad you were greeted with a warm welcome, but very sorry to read of your experience after that. During the low season, we normally use the smaller park adjacent to the apartments which has its own amenities block. We are working on replacing...

Cowra, Australia
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Stopped here on our from Port Augusta to Alice Springs. A nice spot to stop and break up the trip. We got to choose our powered motor home sight as we were the only ones here when we arrived. Another motor home showed up later but stayed on the opposite side so it was like we were still alone. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alohataj
StuartRange, Guest Relations Manager at BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed and insightful review Alohataj! I'm sure other travelers will really appreciate the finer points you have mentioned and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and for your recommendation. We are working on the pool situation, so be sure to stop in next time you pass through Coober Pedy!

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coober Pedy hotels
2.1 km away
Desert View Apartments
Desert View Apartments
#5 of 7 in Coober Pedy
175 reviews
1.4 km away
Comfort Inn CooberPedy Experience
1.3 km away
Desert Cave Hotel
Desert Cave Hotel
#6 of 7 in Coober Pedy
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Lookout Cave Underground Motel
1.0 km away
Mud Hut Motel
Mud Hut Motel
#2 of 7 in Coober Pedy
239 reviews
1.2 km away
Radeka Downunder Underground Motel & Backpacker Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort is a 4 star park located just off the Stuart highway on Hutchison Street in Coober Pedy, a unique Opal mining town in the Far North of South Australia. Once here visitors can expect a variety of accommodation including powered and unpowered camping and caravan sites, 4.5 star Superior 1 & 2 bedroom apartments constructed using red Cedar joinery and all fitted with modern fixtures and stainless steel kitchen appliances. Our Standard rooms (soon to be renovated) are basic motel rooms that are most popular as an overnight stay. We have a camp kitchen, laundry and amenity block and offer guided bus Tours of the town, magnificent Breakaways, underground attractions and surrounding areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort

Address: Hutchison Street (Just off the Stuart Highway) | P.O. Box 345, Coober Pedy, South Australia 5723, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Coober Pedy
Price Range: €103 - €118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BIG4 Stuart Range Outback Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“as mentioned aboved”
rayd764, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“For those wanting shade (there are no trees), sites are available under a shade cloth structure.”
ChrisG20162016, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Lounge area had TV but not in bedroom, we had the apartment which was long and narrow”
1234Col, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you lock every thing”
lisam504, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“book early as a very popular place to stay.”
helend571, 7 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5