We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a natural disaster.

One&Only Hayman Island

Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
One&Only Hayman Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

928 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 840: English reviews
Start your review of One&Only Hayman Island
 Click to rate
Weston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a week during their winter, but the weather was lovely. We thoroughly enjoyed the snorkeling and diving opportunities. We also enjoyed a fabulous day trip to the reef and to Whitehaven beach. Amazing! The accommodations were lovely. The food was quite good and the service was quite good. It's a long way from home, but we'd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chestnut1221
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful place to come and unwind. Loved the fireworks on New Years Eve. Leon the assistant General Manager is fabulous, ask for him if you need assistance. Must go to White Haven beach when visiting.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank foodie_lovergirl
Scott_Williams_the, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to One&Only Hayman Island. We are thrilled you enjoyed your visit for the New Year. It is heartwarming to know you experienced exceptional service from Leon and the rest of our team. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the future. Warm Regards, Scott Williams

San Luis Obispo, California, USA
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful location and very private! We came over Christmas vacation and we were told the whole resort was booked but it seemed like no one was there. The only problem coming over the holidays were a lot of new hires (students working over the summer) and they were not well informed on many things....especially the activities/tours but they were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rodessa N
Scott_Williams_the, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Dear Rodessa, We appreciate the time you have taken to share your kind review. It was an honour to welcome you for the holidays, and we are thrilled you enjoyed a five-star experience. We regret any lapses in service you may have encountered, but we are please these did not too greatly detract from the overall quality of your visit....

nyc
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here on a "Luxury Escapes" deal and it really was great value. No complaints at all. The rooms are enormous and and the bathrooms luxurious. We went for 5 nights and that was the perfect length of time. I think we would have started to get bored after that - not really the resorts fault per se- but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angelainnewyork
Scott_Williams_the, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

We appreciate the moment you have taken to review your visit to One&Only Hayman Island. It is lovely to know you were able to take advantage of our resort with the help of a Luxury Escapes deal. We were honoured to welcome you and are delighted to hear our relaxing atmosphere and luxurious guest rooms exceeded your expectations. We are...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic relaxing getaway! From the moment you get on the Hayman Island boat at Hamilton Island airport to take you across to the island the relaxation and pampering begins. They have champagne and canapés awaiting for you for the short scenic boat trip across to the island. Rooms are stunning and a lot nicer than the pictures online look. Pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank readreads
Scott_Williams_the, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your time at One&Only Hayman Island. We are elated to hear you enjoyed a five-star visit thanks in part to our unbeatable location, exceptional dining options and relaxing spa facilities. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our piece of paradise, and we are delighted you enjoyed each...

Hunters Hill, Australia
Reviewed 22 April 2017

This is still my favourite place to go even though it is very expensive. I love that it's isolated and enjoy just lazing by the pool, appreciating the scenery and wild life. It's sad to see so many people writing such terrible reviews as when I travelled in Decmeber, although the service was not perfect, it was certainly better than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robbietion
Scott_Williams_the, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

We appreciate your kind review as well as your loyalty to One&Only Hayman Island. It is heartwarming to discover that you consider our resort to be your favorite in the world. We have enjoyed welcoming you for each of your five memorable visits, and we are honoured to know you plan to return for a sixth once we fully reopen....

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We spent two weeks over Christmas at One & Only and had an incredibly memorable, happy, delightful stay. The entire experience of arrival is fabulous - it leads up to an incredible welcome on the island itself. From the helicopter and yacht awaiting guests, to the manicured property and vivacious well groomed staff waiting on your every need and want,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CTreviewers
Scott_Williams_the, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your time at One&Only Hayman Island. It was an honour to welcome you during the holiday season, and we are elated to hear you enjoyed your experience. We are delighted you enjoyed our unique amenities and special Christmas celebrations. It is always our priority to provide comfortable accommodations, numerous...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 12 April 2017

We were excited to visit - but it was obvious from the moment you step on the island that the resort will not be living up to your expectations. The pools are dirty, balconies and bathroom not cleaned properly and nothing at all to do if it is raining because even the restaurants and cocktails are awful. The food is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Celia M
Scott_Williams_the, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Dear Celia, Thank you for taking a moment to detail your experience at One&Only Hayman Island. It is deeply troubling to know your expectations were not met during your time with us. We are concerned by your description of our facilities, service and food, and we would greatly appreciate the chance to learn more about any challenges you faced. At...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Obviously this is a one of a kind location, and for this purpose, the location and environment are irreplaceable. Our room was updated and was beautifully appointed and was exceptionally comfortable. The rest of the grounds were "OK". The hallways and some of the pool areas were not up to the standards that the renovated rooms were. The main issue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LAX_DEN_RON
Scott_Williams_the, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

We are grateful for your honest review and your choice to stay with us at One&Only Hayman Island. While we are thrilled you enjoyed your upgraded room as well as our beautiful location, we are troubled to know there were any areas in which your expectations were not met. We are proud to provide impeccable service, and we regret any...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 April 2017

My partner and I initially had heard mixed reviews, however we both prefer Hayman Island over Hamilton and certainly the other more commercial islands. We have a few friends who have stayed at this resort and loved it and some with high profiles who even got married here which says a lot. No one would choose to hold their wedding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JDBSYD
Scott_Williams_the, General Manager at One&Only Hayman Island, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing the details of your visit to One&Only Hayman Island. We are delighted to hear you expectations were met from the moment you arrived by seaplane. It is our pleasure to provide whatever amenities you may need to make your experience as perfect as possible. It brings us great joy to know you were pleased with each...

796 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (787)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (118)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (97)
Viewed
View from Room (51)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (428)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayman Island
32.1 km away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
244 reviews
33.1 km away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,293 reviews
32.9 km away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#3 of 5 in Hamilton Island
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.2 km away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
27.7 km away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
57 reviews
30.2 km away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This place is temporarily closed due to a cyclone. It will reopen once repairs are complete in mid-2018. One&Only Hayman Island, in the heart of the Great Barrier Reef presents astonishing natural beauty, restorative peace, indulgence and adventure. Australia's iconic private island resort is located off the coast of Queensland, nestled at the northernmost point of the Whitsunday archipelago, beyond verdant cliffs reaching into endless sky. Within this private island resort, stylish elegance reflects the harmony of nature with beautifully appointed accommodation set against the backdrop of the Coral Sea. Discover endless opportunities to delight the senses in a place where the beauty of nature inspires each day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about One&Only Hayman Island

Address: | Hayman Island Great Barrier Reef, 4801, Australia (Formerly Hayman Great Barrier Reef)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Hayman Island
Price Range: €540 - €2,763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — One&Only Hayman Island 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your One&Only Hayman Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hayman Great Barrier Reef Hotel Hayman Island
Hayman Island Hotel
One&Only Hayman Island Great Barrier Reef
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from One&Only Hayman Island staff and other travellers.
45 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (45)

Questions? Get answers from One&Only Hayman Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We enjoyed our room that was not one of the pool suites. It was on the ground floor so had great access to beach and pool.”
Chestnut1221, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“We had a view overlooking the Lagoon and pool with a peak of the Ocean in the background. It was very nice!”
  • Private Helicopter tour to Whitehaven Beach
sl0girln, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Large suite, close to the lagoon.”
CTreviewers, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The Poolside suites are great. Ask for the rooms at the end of the building. You won't hear anything except the wind and the birds.”
JDBSYD, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have sea views”
Sandy56Melbourne, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Hotwire.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates