We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Summit Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Summit Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Summit Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 76: English reviews
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2015

we stopped just one night whilst enroute up the coast road. it is about a 15 minute walk down to the Esplanade which is not too bad. The hotel offers breakfast and dinner which was well presented, good portions and really friendly service from the chef's son. The room offers fridge, kettle, tv etc and all you need for really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hillbilly125
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Large clean room with fridge, microwave, tea/coffee, and bowls etc for a do it yourself light breakfast. Shower, toilet and basin in the bathroom. About a ten minute walk down to The Strand in one direction and Flinders Street in the other. A bit longer to walk back up the hill. Nice outlook from rooms on the southern side. There...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank macca46
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 29 July 2015

This motel was impeccably clean, comfortable, close to everything in inner city Townsville and the friendly staff too. Walking distance to the Strand and to restaurants in Flinders Street. Would highly recommend to others.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karen G
Bowen Qld Au
Reviewed 12 July 2015

We found ourselves in Townsville on business and we chose the Summit Motel by its trip advisor score. Our work did not go well and it would have been even more difficult but for the help that we received from the motel owners. The high speed internet and comfortable surroundings made for a very pleasant stay. The trip spanned a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 188Kimbo
Reviewed 4 July 2015 via mobile

People booking here on weekends should be aware that this hotel backs on to a wedding venue. The music is quite loud and is making it impossible for the kids to get to sleep. I know this isn't the hotels fault but I'm not happy to pay to get no sleep.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Renee W
Allan s, Owner at Summit Motel, responded to this review

Hi Rena. Thankyou for taking the time to review our Motel and we are very sorry that you found it hard to sleep (so did we ). It isn't a wedding venue just a private home holding a wedding in their back yard. We were not informed by the neighbours at all. Thank you again for your feed back. Regards...

Havelock North, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 June 2015

The second floor had a good view, and caught the breeze. We were surprised that there was only a microwave and no actual kitchen. We were allowed to use the commercial kitchen to cook our main meals. Very helpfull and obliging staff.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TykeHBNewZealand
Reviewed 16 May 2015 via mobile

Very comfortable beds, great location, excellent WiFi, fantastic facilities all round. We came for the Cowboys game, we'll be back again next year! Nice view of Castle Hill and the city. Clean and tidy and friendly fast check in.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Michelle H
Reviewed 19 April 2015 via mobile

Lovely clean rooms, air conditioning was amazing! The bed was so comfy that we had to strip the bed for staff and write down the brand of the mattress so we can buy one for ourselves. Had the most amazing sleep and didn't want to wake up for the generous check out time! The staff were so friendly and helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jacinta H
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 28 March 2015

Can't say enough, Al and Jeannene make you welcome from the moment you arrive. The rooms are clean and fresh, the food is excellent, this place is warm and inviting, a very relaxed and quiet atmosphere. I know where I will be staying next time I am in Townsville.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave W
Laidley, Australia
Reviewed 9 March 2015

We walk in off the street late on a Wednesday avo. Great reception, service and help. Could not ask for more then breakfast the next day was wonderful. Will stay again when we are next up in Townsville.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian C

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
#19 of 41 in Townsville
74 reviews
0.2 km away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#8 of 41 in Townsville
289 reviews
0.6 km away
Chifley Plaza Townsville
Chifley Plaza Townsville
#11 of 41 in Townsville
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
3.3 km away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#10 of 41 in Townsville
847 reviews
1.6 km away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#7 of 41 in Townsville
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This highly rated Motel offers clean, quiet and comfortable rooms to all guests either for business, pleasure or long term stays, perfectly located within walking distance to The Strand, City, Castle Hill, Palmer Street and Queens Gardens. All rooms offer free high-speed WiFi (NBN), Split A/C, Fridge, Toaster, Microwave and Comfortable beds. The Motel also offers free parking for cars and larger vehicles, pool and BBQ. Smart people stay at the Summit Motel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Summit Motel

Address: 6 Victoria St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Price Range: €54 - €82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summit Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Summit Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Hotel Townsville
Summit Townsville
Townsville Summit
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Townsville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Townsville
#2 Best Value Hotel in Townsville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Summit Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Summit Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 23 have microwave hair dryer coffee ect”
sslv, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try and get an upstairs room. With vehicles parked outside the downstairs rooms doors, the early departures may interrupt your sleep in. ”
968shanet, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Best views of the sunsets from upstairs room”
carolep640, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms have a balcony with shaded tables for sitting at with pleasant views of Castle Hill”
814roseo, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“they are all good, pending on each individual selection”
993roman, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5