We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Southbank Townsville

Hotels.comUS$77*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$227*
US$77*
US$227*
US$77*
US$96*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Southbank Townsville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

476 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Rydges Southbank Townsville
See the most recent reviews
Showing 473: English reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2015

Portside conference room was perfect for the workshop being held in there. The hotel room itself was nice with a pleasant view of the marina, however the bathroom was dated and appeared in need of a good clean/replacement. Comfy bed and pillows. Staff very friendly, breakfast buffet very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcelle J
Rydges T, Front Office Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Dear Marcelle J, Thank you for your most recent review of Rydges Southbank Townsville, its pleasing to read that the hotel did not disappoint. As mentioned in previous reviews our bathrooms are showing some signs of age but we strive for the best possible cleanliness for them. Warm Regards Shane Howard Front Office Manger

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 30 August 2015

I stayed here as we are hosting a function here later in the year and I wanted to see if we should stay onsite. This won't be my first choice for hotels in the area in future. Most likely I will go back to my usual hotel. The lift is slow and there is only one. The carpet in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catti41
Rydges T, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest and frank feedback - i certainly appreciate all forms of feedback from our guests as it assists and highlights the areas we need to improve on. We do have two lifts in our hotel and i have spoken to our front office team to ensure they let all guests know of this as during high...

Brisbane
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

Good value for money and handy spot. Head to jam corner if you want a lovely breakfast. Room was functional but this hotel is really ready for a renovation. Excellent customer service. Reasonably priced mini bar but didn't eat in onsite restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alibarfoot
Rydges T, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and comments pertaining to our hotel and its service...we do pride ourselves on good customer service and i will pass on your comments to our staff - much appreciated. Im glad you enjoyed one of the many restaurant along Palmer Street - being in such a great location allows all our guests to stroll out...

Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

Yes it's got a little age about it now and the amenities are a little snug but all in all this Rydges establishment does the job you need for the price that works. Very nice place to eat just off the reception area for both Dinner and breakfast, if your tastes are more adventurous you are in the right place....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wokers78
Rydges T, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your feedback and comments - very much appreciated! Our restaurant has the new Rise Breakfast which is a great way to start your day and we have just introduced our new dinner menu which is a delight. Our postion on Palmer Street does allow our guests to enjoy many other wonderful restaurants just on our doorstep...

Aussie
Reviewed 19 August 2015

Room 405. Not a bad room but in all just a typical motel room, no big difference to any motel room I have stayed in. Would I stay here again? I guess so! Would i recommend it? Well it wouldn't be my number one pick.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DownunderGAV
Rydges T, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment and rate our hotel - we are very appreciative of your comments and will certainly use them to enhance our hotel - our free wifi service is normally runing at a good speed but i have logged your concern with our IT Dept to run some checks on it to...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 19 August 2015

Well located close to some museums and a short walk to the Strand. Room was comfortable, good wifi (free) in room, good TV reception and quality. Room was a decent size. Bathroom ok, despite age: clean and everything worked. Staff exceptionally nice and helpful. Very slow lifts were rather irritating. Breakfast buffet was ok, although irritating to pay extra for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kissane
Rydges T, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on our hotel - very much appreciate your comments pertaining to our rooms and free wifi does make a difference! I have passed on your comments regarding our staff service - its always good to hear positive comments on the work that they do and i know they appreciate it as well. Unfortunately our lifts...

Reviewed 12 August 2015

The rooms (ours and our friends') were pretty dirty, like mouldy showers, thick dust on chairs and in the air vents, dirty floors under the desk. Beds were big and comfortable. the breakfast was amazing. Huge selection. The pool was ok although we didn't spend much time there because it was in the shade much of the day and therefore...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charlotte and m... P
Rydges T, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Hi Charlotte - thank you for your feedback pertaining to your stay with us...we appreciate all feedback as it assists us to ensure any areas of our hotel that are not up to our guests satifaction can be rectified. I have spoken to our housekeeping team about your comments and ensure that their level of cleanliness is not normally like...

Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

This hotel was terrible. Being Rydges I wasn't expecting 5 star luxury but I was expecting at the very least a clean and comfortable room. How wrong was I! This hotel may have been nice in 1991 but it is in urgent need of a decent refurbishment. Paint was peeling, the bathroom was disgusting. Quite frankly, it has put me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dean C
Rydges T, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Hi Dean - Thank you for your honest comments and overview of our hotel. It is extremely unfortunate that your room was well below the level you expected from our Rydges brand. The hotel did have a minor upgrade a few years back and we are now looking at the items you mentioned throughout the hotel to upgrade as well....

Australia
Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

Clean, great facilities, strong wifi, off street parking, friendly staff, bit aged but close to lots of great eating places. The hotel is situated close enough that you can walk into the city - about a 10 min walk to the Perc Tucker Regional Gallery. Great value!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bluedog908
Rydges T, General Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to let us know kow your stay was with us....our hotel sits in the heart of Townsville's foodie precint on Palmer Street and only a short stroll to the CBD, glad that you enjoyed it!

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 August 2015

My room was a good size, clean and well appointed, on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool and palm trees. The hotel offers online check-in the day before your arrival, which doesn't save all that much time, but they text you to tell you what time your room will be ready, which is a useful touch. Free parking and free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobgeddes
Rydges T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments & feedback from your recent stay with us! It is great to hear that you took advantage of our checkmate system however I am sorry you didn't feel that it was quicker. We look forward to seeing you agian soon. Regards, Trish- RDM

83 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.2 km away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.1 km away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
386 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
#15 of 41 in Townsville
389 reviews
0.7 km away
Clarion Hotel Townsville
Clarion Hotel Townsville
#13 of 41 in Townsville
80 reviews
0.5 km away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#9 of 41 in Townsville
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges Southbank Townsville sits in the heart of Townsville's foodie precinct on Palmer Street and only a short stroll to the CBD. Our hotel is the gateway to Magnetic Island & Great Barrier Reef. Business and leisure travellers alike will appreciate our central business district location near all the premier shopping, dining and entertainment areas ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Southbank Townsville

Address: 23 Palmer St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Price Range: €64 - €657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Southbank Townsville 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Rydges Southbank Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Southbank Hotel Townsville
Townsville Rydges Southbank Hotel
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Southbank Townsville staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Brisbane, Qld
6 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Southbank Townsville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for high floors for views - very quiet rooms despite a huge influx of young people for a "musicfest" in the town”
DavidandLynL, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“There are no good rooms”
794troys, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The higher the room the better the view!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
holidaytime2222, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for one with a view”
725terryl, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the pool are usually good.”
jennytalbot, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$77* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$77
Booking.comUS$96
AMOMAUS$227
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates