We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rydges Southbank Townsville

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Southbank Townsville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

444 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Rydges Southbank Townsville
See the most recent reviews
Showing 441: English reviews
Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

Good location, good staff, the room we were in was very pleasant, comfortable bed, good TV, everything worked. The bathroom was showing it's age, a little overdue for a refit, but I would definitely stay at this hotel again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pete B
Rydges T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Hi Pete B, Thank you for the wonderful review! Our rooms are a little tired however they are clean. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Southbank Townsville on your next visit! Regards, Trish- RDM

North Tamborine, Australia
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here after a four week camping trip to Cape York. Service is fantastic, comfortable bed, 24 hour desk service, close to restaurants and the aquarium, and they have a free laundry =D we really needed a peaceful couple of nights sleep after roughing it for so long and we left well rested. Shame that Bidvest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bianca Y
Rydges T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear that you felt well rested after your amazing trip up North! I will have a think about a solution for noisy trucks. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Regards, Trish- RDM

Melbourne
Reviewed 21 June 2015

Overnight again at Rydges. Whilst an older hotel, rooms very clean, great bed, good tv and channel selection. First time I've used the complimentary gym access, its a 10 minute walk or 5 minute drive, but good gym and equipment. Overall another good experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
Rydges T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Thanks for the great feedback! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Townsville. Regards, Trish- RDM

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 21 June 2015

Hotel is in a good location and for the most part good quality. Room service meal was average; part of the meal was not delivered but this was soon rectified. The air conditioning controller was broken and appeared to have been like that for a long time so was either off or in freeze mode; couldn't open window to let...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
Rydges T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Hi Chris R, Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at Rydges Southbank Townsville. I am glad to hear that they were able to fix the error with your room service meal quickly for you. Our air-conditioning system is certainly old however all rooms do have levered panels which can be opened if you...

Reviewed 19 June 2015 via mobile

This hotel may be slightly dated in parts but Rydges is a solid professional chain. Things are done well and the travellers comfort is anticipated with all the services. A great breakfast is served each day in the attached restaurant. You can't go wrong and there are some great bars and restaurants right on the doorstep.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Winonablack
Rydges T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments! We do pride ourselves on being professional accross all areas of the hotel. The RISE breakfast certainly is worth checking out in the Southbank Grill. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Townsville. Regards, Trish- RDM

Reviewed 15 June 2015 via mobile

The beds & pillows were amazing would definately return for that reason alone .. Staff were nice and friendly. Easy parking. Property was clean & tidy. Room Service requests arrived promptly. Would definately return to this Hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicki R
Rydges T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic review! It is great to hear that you enjoyed the Rydges Dreambeds and Jason feather pillows. They make it feel like you are sleeping on a cloud! We look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Townsville on your next visit. Regards, Trish- RDM

Reviewed 8 June 2015 via mobile

We were advised on checkin that there was no wifi in Apartment 2 due to an issue. I recall there were similar comments on Trip Advisor when I booked the apartment 2 months ago. Could be a coincidence or could be false advertising. Otherwise the apartment was as described. A little dated and some furniture was damaged (lounges, blinds) but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LexusAussie
Rydges T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay at the Townsville Southbank Apartments. We had approximately a week of interuptions to the wifi service due to a fault. This has since been corrected. This is the second time it has happened funnily enough it appears to be when you have stayed with us! I will certainly investigate the...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 28 May 2015

Stayed here for one night last week as it was cheaper than the Casino. The room was clean and tidy, bit on the small side, but was fine for one person. The room looked like it had a makeover, but as soon as you entered the bathroom, you were disappointed, cracked tiles, door would not shut firmly (rattled in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ByronWallace
Rydges T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Thank you for your reveiw of Rydges Southbank Townsville. As I have mentioned in previous reviews, our bathrooms are dated but clean. We are hoping to have them upgraded in the near future. It great to hear that you enjoyed the RISE breakfast in the Southbank Grill. I have passed your kind words regarding the wait staff to the F&B...

Mount Cotton, Australia
Reviewed 28 May 2015

The staff at Rydges are professional, polite and particularly helpful. My recent stay saw a very smooth booking and check-in. When i opened the door to my room i was greeted by a waterfall; water was pouring (i mean pouring) through the ceiling at a rate that meant i couldn't even enter the room. The reception staff were very apologetic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
Rydges T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Hi Jim H, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We certainly don't advertise our rooms as having a waterfall feature so I am sure you were surprised! I am glad our friendly staff were able to sort this out for you. It is unusual that you rooms was not cleaned to the standard that we...

Coopers Plains, New York
Reviewed 27 May 2015

The service in the restaurant was outstanding, friendly and welcoming. I regularly stay and eat there and the restaurant staff are exceptional. The location is good with some of the best restaurants within walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gordo100
Rydges T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Southbank Grill. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to seeing you back on your next visit. Don't forget to like us on our Southbank Grill Facebook page too for updates on our new menu items! Regards, Trish- RDM

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.1 km away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.2 km away
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
#11 of 41 in Townsville
353 reviews
0.1 km away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.5 km away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#6 of 41 in Townsville
435 reviews
0.1 km away
Townsville Central Hotel
Townsville Central Hotel
#20 of 41 in Townsville
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges Southbank Townsville sits in the heart of Townsville's foodie precinct on Palmer Street and only a short stroll to the CBD. Our hotel is the gateway to Magnetic Island & Great Barrier Reef. Business and leisure travellers alike will appreciate our central business district location near all the premier shopping, dining and entertainment areas ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Southbank Townsville

Address: 23 Palmer St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Price Range: €55 - €96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Southbank Townsville 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Rydges Southbank Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Southbank Hotel Townsville
Townsville Rydges Southbank Hotel
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Southbank Townsville staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Brisbane, Qld
28 days ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Southbank Townsville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on the Palmer Street side. Great views of the city.”
 of 5 bubbles 45robk, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The higher floors are quieter,less road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 223vickis, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Have a look at other hotels in the area.”
 of 5 bubbles DennisJA, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Apparently they are in the process of upgrading their rooms. I would request a room that has been upgraded.”
 of 5 bubbles 540kevinh, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Helpful tip - stay somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles leos639, 22 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay