We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rydges Southbank Townsville

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Southbank Townsville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

444 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 441: English reviews
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Rydges Southbank is well located near restuarants and a short walk to the main street. Facilities are well maintained with a great pool area. The rooms are also well appointed and maintained. Rydges beds are always welcome after a hard days work. The staff are friendly and helpful. I'd definately stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tashemtravellin
Rydges T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Dear tashemtravellin, Thank-you for such a great review of our hotel! Our Rydges dreams are amazing, you always have a great night sleep. I have shared your feedback with our entire team, providing a friendly and personable service is something that we do pride ourselves on. We hope to see you again soon. Warm Regards, Shane Howard Rooms Division Manager

Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

We spent 2 nights in a King Executive room for my birthday. We found everything to be great from the staff to our hotel room. Would highly recommend staying here. Only suggestion i would add is to have the bar area in the restaurant open through out the day. Would of been nice to have a few drinks in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShereeH08
Rydges T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Dear ShereeH08, Thank you kindly for your review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your great review. I have forwarded your feedback about our restaurant and bar operating times to our food and beverage team to see if our operation hours can be altered in the new year. Warm Regards, Shane Howard Rooms Division Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staff are amazing. Checkin, fantastic professional service. Restaurant/bar, remembered my drink from last night, 10points! Phone going flat so called for wake up call- Jim brings me a charger for my phone- omg this is by far the best service ever! I want Jim from reception to work in my company! This is remarkable! I will be back 😀

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirstie P
Rydges T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Dear Kirstie P, Thank-you for such a great review of out hotel! I have shared your feedback with our entire team and Jim in particular who was delighted for the great review. We hope to see you again soon. Warm Regards, Shane Howard Rooms Division Manager

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I certainly hope my room wasn't a 'renovated' room because it felt like a step back in time to the 1980s! The bed itself is comfy but everything is extremely dated and old, despite being clean the bathroom just felt dirty the whole time with its outdated hairdryer and poor excuse for a shower. Icing on the cake was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank austraveller90
Rydges T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Dear austraveller90, Thank you kindly for your review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments regarding our amazing Rydges dream beds. I'm very sorry to hear that the room was not up to Rydges standard, all of our hotel rooms did undergo a soft refurbishment 5 years ago, I empathize with your comments regarding a room...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is my third stay, the staff are great, polite and friendly, any issue is addressed asap. The rooms are clean and the beds very comfortable, they are not as modern as you would expect, they are in the process of updating them. They buffet breakfast is great and well priced, the Restaurant for dinner is a dearer than I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony L
Rydges T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Dear Anthony L, Thank-you for such a great review of out hotel! The team and myself are very pleased that we did not disappoint, providing a friendly and personable service is something that we all pride our selves on here at the hotel. I am very pleased to read that our offerings fro breakfast and dinner in the Southbank Grill...

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My company was a gold sponsor for this event and two days of presentations were held in the ballroom. The room was clean and well set up. The meals were well catered (coffee/tea, morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea) The bathrooms are good sizes for the number of people attending.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaymieOK
Rydges T, Rooms Division Manger at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Dear JaymieOK, Thank-you for your feedback abut your most recent conference with us. I am pleased to read that our conference spaces are well appointed and you enjoyed our conference meals. I have passed on your feedback to our events team. I hope to welcome you back in the near future. Warm Regards, Shane Howard Rooms Division Manager

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Cost was pretty cheap when we asked for a good rate including breakfast. Dinner in restaurant was expensive which evened things up. Meal was good albeit false advertising in lift of a huge rib on special was not on the menu and left a disappointing taste.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K4kev
Rydges T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Dear K4kev, Thank-you for your of our hotel it is greatly appreciated, we certainly do have some great promotions on at the moment. It is disappointing to read that we failed to deliver a great meal in southbank grill, I have advised our food and beverage manager and executive chef of your feedback regarding the misleading advertising and I have...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

The rooms were very clean just not as modern as we were expecting however the service was very good and the staff friendly and pleasant and good central location. We were quiet comfortable and happy to stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ausnomadman
Rydges T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Dear ausnomadman, Thank-you for such a great review of out hotel! The team and myself are very pleased that we did not disappoint! We hope to see you again soon. Warm Regards, Shane Howard Rooms Division Manager

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

We paid just over $100 for 2 adults & 2 kids including a beautiful buffet breakfast. Bed super comfy air con worked good once we turned it on. Room was clean. Yes rooms are dated and need updating but the hotel acknowledges this and price certainly reflects this how can you complain for $100 inc breakfast for 4. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KKEA16
Rydges T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Dear KKEA16, Thank-you for such a great review of out hotel! The team and myself are very pleased that we did not disappoint. We hope to see you again soon. Warm Regards, Shane Howard Rooms Division Manager

Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

We have been coming to Rydges Southbank Townsville for 7 years and over time the menu have been fantastic to mediocre, we came back on Wednesday after a couple of months being away and the menu had changed and for a long time. The menu was fantastic, the chicken to die for and hubby had the sausages and tonight the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
Rydges T, Rooms Division Manager at Rydges Southbank Townsville, responded to this review

Dear Susan T, Thank-you for such a great review of the Southbank Grill, our chefs do produce some amazing dishes! I have also passed on your kind feedback to Cirstyn We hope to see you again soon. Warm Regards, Shane Howard Rooms Division Manager

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.1 km away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.2 km away
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
#12 of 41 in Townsville
353 reviews
0.1 km away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.5 km away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#6 of 41 in Townsville
435 reviews
0.1 km away
Townsville Central Hotel
Townsville Central Hotel
#20 of 41 in Townsville
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges Southbank Townsville sits in the heart of Townsville's foodie precinct on Palmer Street and only a short stroll to the CBD. Our hotel is the gateway to Magnetic Island & Great Barrier Reef. Business and leisure travellers alike will appreciate our central business district location near all the premier shopping, dining and entertainment areas ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Southbank Townsville

Address: 23 Palmer St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Price Range: €55 - €96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Southbank Townsville 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Rydges Southbank Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Southbank Hotel Townsville
Townsville Rydges Southbank Hotel
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Southbank Townsville staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Brisbane, Qld
27 days ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Southbank Townsville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room on the Palmer Street side. Great views of the city.”
 of 5 bubbles 45robk, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The higher floors are quieter,less road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 223vickis, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Have a look at other hotels in the area.”
 of 5 bubbles DennisJA, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Apparently they are in the process of upgrading their rooms. I would request a room that has been upgraded.”
 of 5 bubbles 540kevinh, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Helpful tip - stay somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles leos639, 22 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay