We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 184: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
 Click to rate
Ingham
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Room very clean, neat & tidy Staff were lovely Parking a disaster. I don't leave my vehicle on the street. In the past we have taken advantage of the valet parking - it is very disappointing to find out that it is no longer available. We were told that we could purchase a voucher for the Parking facility that we...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank C3813SVjennyl
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear C3818SVjennyl, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you found our rooms clean and team friendly during your visit. However I am disappointed to hear that we were not able to exceed your expectations in regards to our parking arrangements. We hope this did not...

HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Service was great from the moment we checked in. Staff were really friendly from the reception to the restaurant and bar staff. The room was large, clean and comfortable and the pillows were really good! Our room overlooked the river and Castle Hill. We got a special locals rate which made the stay really great value for money! This is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niki I
About Hotel's Favourite Review
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear Niki I, Thanks so much for your 5 star review. I'm so pleased that enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our team friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Townsville. Kind regards, Peter Yared, Area General Manager - QLD

Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The staff were great, meeting our every need. The rooms were comfortable and suitable. The breakfast is excellent value. The only downsides were the lack of parking onsite and the indigenous vagrants outside the hotel constantly harassing us for money and cigarettes.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank geofft993
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear geofft993, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you found our team friendly during your visit. However I am disappointed to hear that we were not able to exceed your expectations in regards to our parking arrangements. We hope this did not inconvenience you too...

Melbourne
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed in December for work, this time on holidays, was one night on my way to Mission Beach. Greeted by the same person who checked me in in December. She was friendly and happy then, she still is. She also gave me a tip to visit Cardwell spa pools on the way to mission beach...great tip by the way. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jayjay41
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear Jayjay41, Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your continued loyalty. It was fantastic to read that on your last visit the team were still able to exceed your expectations. In this industry, consistency is the key to success so it is so pleasing to see that we are maintaining our high standards. We...

Proserpine, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Friendly staff making check in a breeze. Excellent location, close to Cowboys Leagues Club. Easy access to shopping, buses, markets on the weekend. Facilities clean and comfortable. We didn't require internet or restaurant this trip, but have had no complaints from our previous stays. Food plentiful in the past and staff more than obliging. Thanks and see you next time.😃

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank C8854UBjanp
HGCTSV, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear C8854UBjanp, Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your continued loyalty. It was fantastic to read that on your last visit the team were still able to exceed your expectations. In this industry, consistency is the key to success so it is so pleasing to see that we are maintaining our high standards. We...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

this iconic venue is a favorite with locals. Very excited to see what changes would be made with the new Grand Chancellor taking over. This was my fourth visit, consecutively, since the new takeover, as I believe always to give another chance, however, again, disappointed. Although the bar staff and restaurant staff(the same person from what we could see) were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clare N
Cairns
Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff were friendly and helpful...very approachable with a smile. We had a few issues with the booking of movies but was all sorted out swiftly. Thank you for the customer service and welcoming stay. Awesome!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank corrinen287
Peter Y, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear corrinen287, Thanks so much for your 5 star review. I'm so pleased that enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our team friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Townsville. Kind regards, Peter Yared, Area General Manager - QLD

Tully
Reviewed 1 week ago

Happy with the stay at hotel grand chancellor. Everything was perfect . I recommend to the people's to enjoy ur stay at hotel grand chancellor . You will be disappointed by the service and the facilities

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gurjinderk2017
Peter Y, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear gurjinderk2017, Thanks so much for your 5 star review. I'm so pleased that enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our team friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Townsville. Kind regards, Peter Yared, Area General Manager - QLD

Bowen, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a wonderful stay, we originally booked in for 1 night and ended up staying for 2. We were very impressed with the customer service and also were happy with the room itself. We will definitely be returning in the future.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jakin2017
Peter Y, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear jakin2017, Thank you for taking the time to write your very complimentary review. It was so nice to read all the lovely things you experienced during your stay, especially the customer service, something that we pride ourselves on. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Peter Yared, Area General Manager - QLD

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed here many times before. Great location, good rooms and most importantly fantastic staff. Julian on reception deserves special mention, so helpful and exceptionally pleasant to deal with.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank fays706
Peter Y, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville, responded to this review

Dear fays706, Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your continued loyalty. It was fantastic to read that on your last visit the team were still able to exceed your expectations. In this industry, consistency is the key to success so it is so pleasing to see that we are maintaining our high standards. We...

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.4 km away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 42 in Townsville
347 reviews
0.3 km away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
1.3 km away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#7 of 42 in Townsville
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#4 of 42 in Townsville
426 reviews
3.6 km away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#10 of 42 in Townsville
833 reviews
0.5 km away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#8 of 42 in Townsville
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville is located in the heart of the CBD and shopping district and just a short walk from Townsville's major tourist attractions, including Reef HQ Aquarium and The Strand. Enjoy panoramic views of Magnetic Island, Castle Hill and the city from a variety of contemporary room types. Facilities include restaurant, bar, rooftop pool, gym and meeting facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville

Address: 334 Flinders St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia (Formerly Holiday Inn Townsville)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Price Range: €76 - €144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Townsville Hotel Townsville
Townsville Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#8 Business Hotel in Townsville
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 1005 has a nice view over the creek”
 of 5 bubbles MozBru, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room as high as you can and overlooking Castle Hill - you won't be sorry!”
 of 5 bubbles 801staceyr, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms that face Ross creek.”
 of 5 bubbles johncW7161YO, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I think from floors 9 above, it includes a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles Cats_Travel_Cowboys, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors have great views and seem quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 580StefanB, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5