We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Aquarius Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Aquarius Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Aquarius Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 220: English reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2016

If you wanna stay at Gold Coast peacefully, I recommend here to you definitely. Staffs are very kind, room, kitchen and others' facilities are really clean and tidy. Great atmosphere to be relaxed, Wifi is not strong thought. Plus, it's quite near to the tram station (Southport South). Grocery store, Shopping centre as well. It's located in convenient place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Takamune
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Takamune, Thank you for taking the time to review Aquarius. We hope you enjoy your travels around Australia and hope to see you again one day. Thanks Management

Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Came here with my friend to take part in the GCAM 16 and Aquarius Backpackers is the nearest to the starting point. We booked a private room thus have not much contact with the rest of the people. Location was superb as it is near to Southport South tram station and bus number 704 could also take us to Sea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine L
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Catherine, Thank you for taking the time to review Aquarius. We have over 1200 liters of hot water at any moment. So not sure about the cold showers? but to let you know we had an electrician check it out and all the heat pumps are working. So sorry not sure. Thanks Management

Reviewed 4 July 2016

room is good, but too close to the street. At night, the sound of car is quite clear to be heard. G:Link (southport south station) is just in front of the hotel so it is very convenient for you to come and go to the transfer to Gold coast airport. If you bring any heavy luggage, you need to carry...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malinda W
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Malinda, Thank you for taking the time to review Aquarius. We hope you enjoy your travels around Australia and hope to see you again one day. Thanks Management

Warwick, Australia
Reviewed 4 July 2016

After years of travelling in hostels and staying in dorms, it is my preference these days to choose a private room and on this occasion, I shared it for a couple of days with a friend. Up to one friend is allowed to stay free of charge and they made sure there was enough bedding for both of us. Evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank El_MacDonald
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear El, Dear Lisa, Thank you for taking the time to review Aquarius. We hope you enjoy your travels around Australia and hope to see you again one day. Good luck with your endeavors. Thanks Management

Kirrawee, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Not only is the accommodation clean and comfortable, it's close to public transport and shops, and very affordable. The staff are very nice and helpful, and there's free wifi & very cheap (/free) entertainment like Foxtel, snooker, a pool, darts, movies, an on-site bar and all-round fun. Very good value and rooms are comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank danielwallace
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Daniel, Thank you for taking the time to review Aquarius. We hope you enjoy your travels around Australia and hope to see you again one day. Thanks Management

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Just don't stay here if you want to have a fun time in the GC (its like a 10 min bus ride and way out from the beaches). The manager was awful. Made two of my friends cry and the whole experience overshadowed the rest of our holiday backpacking. It's stricter than a private boarding school.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelling35496
Backpackinggoldcoast, Owner at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Anonymous. Your review is not accurate and unfounded and none of the staff or management have made anyone cry!!! Your assertions are not positive travel experiences. Next time you decide to write a review please tell the truth. Thanks Management

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

Fantastic hostel, well managed by a lovely owner. Truly felt like we were at home on the large sofa with a tv and lots of films. Probably the cleanest place we have ever stayed. Fully stocked kitchen which was a pleasure to cook in. We were only supposed to stay for 1 night and ended up extending our stay to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisab5678
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Lisa, Thank you for taking the time to review Aquarius. We hope you enjoy your travels around Australia and hope to see you again one day. Thanks Management

Reviewed 4 June 2016

We stayed in a private room and thoroughly enjoyed it, it has a very welcoming touch to it and all the staff are so helpful! It is very cheap to stay there and every night the management puts on different activities for everyone to do, special thanks to Jo for helping us with our travels and organizing tickets for us,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ash T
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Ash, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your break away and hope to see you again soon. Take care and we wish you and the family well. Thanks Management. xx

Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

One of the best hostels I've been in Australia. The rooms are clean, small but tidy kitchen(they even change the tea towels every few hours), pool outside, different activities every night, nice staff and super helpful manager. It's a bit far from Surfers center, but there's trasport from the hostel and tram just in front. Very recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan T
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We wish for you a safe and happy travel and hope to see you again soon. Take care. Thanks Management

Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

It's close to public transport and shopping, only 10 to 15 minutes surfers paradise, I didn't like the settings of the bed it was blocking the mirror in our room, Money wise its fare. The stuffs are friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ariam k
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Ariam, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Thanks Management

43 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
3.5 km away
Backpackers In Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise
#16 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
387 reviews
2.7 km away
Budds in Surfers
Budds in Surfers
#53 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
285 reviews
3.6 km away
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
#18 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach
Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Bea...
#92 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
97 reviews
5.0 km away
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Res...
#29 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
164 reviews
3.6 km away
Down Under Hostels Surfers Paradise
Down Under Hostels Surfers Parad...
#57 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surf, sand, nature, adventure, shopping, nightlife, theme parks, FUN... it's here and waiting for you!Aquarius Backpackers is a BaseMates hostel located in Southport Surfers Paradise is a lovely boutique hostel that caters for all those who share a love of travel. Situated on the famous Gold Coast, we offer a very friendly home away from home experience. Here you will find clean, modern, safe and friendly accommodation. We are closely situated to all your needs - shopping centres - banks - post offices - pubs, and above all, our world-famous beaches and lush green Hinterland.We offer dormitory style accommodation with either 4 or 6 share as well as private queens and twins. We also cater for all female & male rooms. With a fully equipped kitchen, you’ll be cooking up a feast in no time. Why not take a dip in our beautiful outdoor pool and spa or sit back in our big comfy leather couches, relax & watch a DVD from our 500+ library. Rates also include linen & FREE wireless internet. Join the crew and meet people from all around the world! Have a drink and a boogie at our licensed bar - Jacks Spot. It’s open seven days/nightly from 7am – midnight. Check out our fantastic hostel today and see for yourself what your missing out on! Recommended by Lonely Planet!“ In an area where backpackers are a dime a dozen there’s always the danger that budget accommodation just won’t make an effort. Not so for this colourful Hostel where cleanliness is as important as having a good time - and that’s considered very important”. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aquarius Backpackers

Address: 44 Queen St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range: €35 - €115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aquarius Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Aquarius Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Backpackers Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aquarius Backpackers staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Aquarius Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beautiful people”
 of 5 bubbles deni647, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask them not to give any room near the street”
 of 5 bubbles 366malindaw, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Make sure the room is secure (or the staff offer somewhere to lock possessions), kitchen and bathrooms and rooms are not grimy.”
 of 5 bubbles El_MacDonald, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Bring your own pillow”
 of 5 bubbles danielwallace, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The cheap dorms are nearer the bathroom & toilet, which is great.”
 of 5 bubbles Z9167UWianw, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay