We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 70: English reviews
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in early October 2013. First night, we had a 3-bed dorm. Didn't like it at all... Was kind of creepy, us two girls sharing with one guy! The rest of our stay, we changed to a twin. The beds were obviously old. They sagged in the middle, had broken bits of metal sticking out and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pinkgem_gem
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The rooms themselves have nothing spectacular, except that most of them are ensuites and I particularly love anyplace that allow me to walk from bath to bed in pijamas. It is very clean and the mattress are great! Just a little tiny, but it is all right. What really made me love this hostel so much was their recepcionist darling-honey...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ana3Flavia
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Room was of a good size bathroom was small but good and the shower was amazing. The owners were really nice every time we saw them and always had a chat with guests which was great. The only real let down was the cleanliness of the room, Which I will not go into much detail about. But they were always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tahmic
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I stayed for 3 nights in late March 2014. Run by Jo and Raj who bought it in January. New carpet, freshly painted, crisp clean shets, well looked after and friendly. I am an older traveller and was impressed. The recreation area is large with a pool table, plenty of outdoor seating and large lounge. It is situated near the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AngelaJaay
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is a small family run backpackers hostel which is under new management. I never stayed at the place before Jo and Raj bought it out but it has been amazing while I have been here (This is my second time staying here). Every time you walk by they know your name and will chat with you and ask you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George H
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is an amazing hostel in Surfers Paradise! It has been recently taken over this year in January, the new owners are so generous and kind. They have really whipped this place into shape, they have redecorated rooms, new carpets, new pool table equipment and the kitchen has been updated! The owners Raj and Jo are so nice to talk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This is the worst accommodation I have ever stayed in. I created my account on trip advisor just to warn other travellers about this place. We were 'upgraded' to a private room but it was filthy. Dust and balls of hair like I've never seen before. Holes in the walls and stains on the walls, and the bathroom had dried...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jodie S
Jokalsi, Owner at Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

This revive is not current as no person with the name Sophie has stayed in the hostel for 5 weeks. We took over the hostel and it was run down, since then we have upgraded every room with new carpets, new paint work along with patching up every crack in the wall, each room has new bunk beds and mattress...

Hervey Bay, Australia
Reviewed 2 March 2014

From the moment we called to book they were so friendly. When we arrived they gave us all the info we needed for our stay. We stayed in a 4bed dorm which was very clean with own bathroom. Nice atmosphere around it at night, not crazy partying. Would very highly recommend this hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ECtraveller2014
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We checked into our 3 bed dorm to find our room mate stuck in the bathroom as the door was broken - she had been in there for 15 minutes and was quite distressed. The walls and floors were dirty. There were no stairs to get onto the bunk bed and I had no pillow for the first night. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Charlojh
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We arrived here during the month of august after having booked in to stay 3 nights. The reception area was clean and well presented, with free wifi after obtaining a code. We also managed to get a triple room which was ideal for us. The guy behind the desk was clearly heavily dosed up on drugs and the actual checking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Poppy2605
Jokalsi, Manager at Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

Hi I am really Sorry for your bad experiences at Gold Coast International Backpackers. The Hostel is now under new management and has been cleaned up. Proud to say that very soon every room will host private lockers for customers. Each room boosts new beds, new mattresses, carpets, curtains and the rooms have been given a new lease of life...

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 km away
Surfers International
Surfers International
#75 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
136 reviews
0.0 km away
Copacabana Apartments Gold Coast
Copacabana Apartments Gold Coast
#92 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
83 reviews
4.0 km away
Aquarius Backpackers
Aquarius Backpackers
#39 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Backpackers In Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise
#17 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
449 reviews
0.2 km away
Durham Court Holiday Apartments
Durham Court Holiday Apartments
#62 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
121 reviews
0.4 km away
Down Under Hostels Surfers Paradise
Down Under Hostels Surfers Parad...
#68 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Relax, have a beer and play a friendly game of pool, watch the game on our large plasma TV or party it up with other backpackers in our fully licensed bar. Our friendly and fun staff will make sure you enjoy your stay on the Gold Coast with special activity nights, such as bbq's, pool competitions, drink specials and more. At Gold Coast International Backpackers it's Happy Hour every night so you can make new friends and save some money before going out to the clubs!!On site we have a fully licensed bar, secure underground parking, a fully equipped self-serve kitchen,self serve laundry facilities, a large bbq area, free pool, a comfy lounge area, darts, cheap internet, free Wi-Fi, and a free booking service for all the major theme parks.ALSO the bonus of having YOUR OWN PRIVATE ENSUITES AND BALCONY in every room with a max per room of only 4 people. Very female friendly!Accommodation InformationIf you are looking to meet great people and create great memories then this is the place to be! At the Gold Coast International Backpackers we will make your stay one to remember!Amenities:Free Wi-Fi no limitsTowels for Hire / SaleFree Pool TableBBQFully Equipped kitchenLinen IncludedCommon RoomFree ParkingTours/Travel deskLicensed BarOutdoor TerraceEvent NightsReception Open from 7:00am to 10:30pm*ALL GUESTS MUST BE 18 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER**At time of check-in all guests must present an International Passport and a valid credit card.***Please note we do not accept schoolies, any schoolies bookings made will not be honoured and may not be subject to a refund.**We will be closed on Christmas day and New Years Day therefore will not be able to accept any check-ins / outs on these days. Please do not book these days as we will not be able to honour them.WE HOPE TO SEE YOU SOON!LIKE US ON FACEBOOK! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort

Address: 28 Hamilton Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range: €22 - €76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Coast International Backpacker Hotel Surfers Paradise
Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort Surfers Paradise, Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“27 is quiet and got a balcony.”
empaemp, 18 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Stayed in a room with three beds. Rooms also had lockers.”
livriz, 1 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Personally i didn't spend much time in the rooms as i was always meeting and talking to new people in the main common area which is spacious, comfortable and fairly big!”
toml978, 7 Mar 2014 | Read review
“dont stay here!!”
emmajane6, 29 Nov 2012 | Read review
“Some rooms seem to have a larger balcony (double the size), if that's important.”
jaybD8012ZT, 22 Apr 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
Hotels.com
Hostelworld.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates