We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 70: English reviews
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Would recommend if you don´t have anywhere to sleep or if you don´t care where you sleep. Might have been a nice hostel/hotel once upon a time but now it´s not even a half decent hostel. Bathroom smell mold and you could see that the end of the drapes was just covered by mold. Sink in the bathroom is smaller...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
Greater Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 May 2015 via mobile

Good location(near tram station) We three stay in a 4bed dorm with a discount price. The Room is a bit small But suitable for 3 people If 4 people there will be very crowd… Everyroom contain a bathroom and toilet. Except the room is small, everything is good~! Staff are very nice and kind :) And there is a free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oliver_yuen
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 18 March 2015

Perfect location in the middle of Surfers Paradise, 30 meters from Q1 and 200-300 meters from the beach. Free wifi and pool in the reception. The staff is super friendly, at least the lady that might be from India. Free parking under the backpackers as well. Never visited the kitchen but the rooms have new keys that you just have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank empaemp
Reviewed 18 March 2015

the service was excellent, the room were very clean and well organised, it was a great value, so we booked again for April, the location it is great close to everything, the beds were very comfortable and the room was very well designed. thank you

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chriscara
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 February 2015

Literally 2 minutes from the beach!! If your going to Surfers to do the beach and nightlife thing, this is the place to stay. Rooms/bedding were kept clean, Large kitchen facility, really great outdoor area, free pool table, free wifi in the lobby, and the bar is reasonably priced - great for a few pre drinks before heading out to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank livriz
Reviewed 22 December 2014

The location is very good. The room not bad but the kitchen is very dirty and smelly. The bathroom is very small and not clean. I would not recommend it to any one.? . The staff would ask for key deposit, you better make your deposit with credit card.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Adil1980
Jokalsi, Owner at Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort, responded to this review

Dear Adil Thank you for your review. Firstly when you sign in at the hostel it is stated everywhere that if you don't check out at 10am you will lose your key deposit. And honestly I have never kept anyone's key deposit in the past 11 months I have operated the business but you left your helpless father here to...

Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here on our way to Brisbane. Enjoyed our stay, staff were lovely and really helpful. Location was good and everything was really close. Very chilled atmosphere in communal areas and clean too. One of the better hostels we have stayed at so far.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tiddles333
Reviewed 17 November 2014 via mobile

Very nice stay in this hostel. Very friendly from the moment we walked in. We stayed in very clean double bunk bed private room. Great facilities and extremely helpful and friendly staff. Would def stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SueyIre
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 15 November 2014

Staying here at the moment and it's worth a visit just to meet the staff! So friendly, take you to your room, tell you the names of the other guys in your room! Nice relaxed vibe n decent kitchen if ur looking to save money n 5 min walk to cbd. Lockers in rooms n free wifi!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBruno0
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The hostel was taken over by new management at the start of the year and is now called Gold Coast Backpackers (no 'International'). The owners are extremely friendly and helpful and from the reveiws I've read about the hostel before they took it over, must have done a great job renovating the place. The location is excellent, right in the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank eastcoastbutterfly

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 km away
Surfers International
Surfers International
#72 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
136 reviews
0.0 km away
Copacabana Apartments Gold Coast
Copacabana Apartments Gold Coast
#92 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
83 reviews
4.0 km away
Aquarius Backpackers
Aquarius Backpackers
#40 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Backpackers In Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise
#16 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
449 reviews
0.2 km away
Durham Court Holiday Apartments
Durham Court Holiday Apartments
#58 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
121 reviews
0.4 km away
Down Under Hostels Surfers Paradise
Down Under Hostels Surfers Parad...
#68 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Relax, have a beer and play a friendly game of pool, watch the game on our large plasma TV or party it up with other backpackers in our fully licensed bar. Our friendly and fun staff will make sure you enjoy your stay on the Gold Coast with special activity nights, such as bbq's, pool competitions, drink specials and more. At Gold Coast International Backpackers it's Happy Hour every night so you can make new friends and save some money before going out to the clubs!!On site we have a fully licensed bar, secure underground parking, a fully equipped self-serve kitchen,self serve laundry facilities, a large bbq area, free pool, a comfy lounge area, darts, cheap internet, free Wi-Fi, and a free booking service for all the major theme parks.ALSO the bonus of having YOUR OWN PRIVATE ENSUITES AND BALCONY in every room with a max per room of only 4 people. Very female friendly!Accommodation InformationIf you are looking to meet great people and create great memories then this is the place to be! At the Gold Coast International Backpackers we will make your stay one to remember!Amenities:Free Wi-Fi no limitsTowels for Hire / SaleFree Pool TableBBQFully Equipped kitchenLinen IncludedCommon RoomFree ParkingTours/Travel deskLicensed BarOutdoor TerraceEvent NightsReception Open from 7:00am to 10:30pm*ALL GUESTS MUST BE 18 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER**At time of check-in all guests must present an International Passport and a valid credit card.***Please note we do not accept schoolies, any schoolies bookings made will not be honoured and may not be subject to a refund.**We will be closed on Christmas day and New Years Day therefore will not be able to accept any check-ins / outs on these days. Please do not book these days as we will not be able to honour them.WE HOPE TO SEE YOU SOON!LIKE US ON FACEBOOK! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort

Address: 28 Hamilton Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range: €22 - €77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Coast International Backpacker Hotel Surfers Paradise
Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort Surfers Paradise, Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gold Coast International Backpacker Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“27 is quiet and got a balcony.”
empaemp, 18 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Stayed in a room with three beds. Rooms also had lockers.”
livriz, 1 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Personally i didn't spend much time in the rooms as i was always meeting and talking to new people in the main common area which is spacious, comfortable and fairly big!”
toml978, 7 Mar 2014 | Read review
“dont stay here!!”
emmajane6, 29 Nov 2012 | Read review
“Some rooms seem to have a larger balcony (double the size), if that's important.”
jaybD8012ZT, 22 Apr 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Expedia.com
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Hotwire.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates