We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dorchester on the Beach

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dorchester on the Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Dorchester on the Beach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 102: English reviews
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

A solid 4.5 out of 5 Pros Michael and Karen are a great team and certainly add the personal touch that is appreciated The view is stunning and location cannot get better if you like the beach and do not need the noise of surfers Size of the apartment is great and with only 2 apartments per floor there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 77rahulb
Karen C, Owner at Dorchester on the Beach, responded to this review

Hi 77rahulb, It was great to welcome you to Dorchester on the Beach. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for bringing your family up to share this wonderful location with them. Kind regards, Karen & Michael Cross,s Managers

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Soon after we booked we were contacted by the friendly proprietors, Karen & Michael, to welcome us and ensure we had all the local knowledge we needed to make our stay great. We had high expectations and were not disappointed. When Karen said you can see dolphins and whales from the balcony at times I was skeptical, but I shouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
Karen C, Owner at Dorchester on the Beach, responded to this review

Hi Tom M Thank you for your super review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Dorchester on the Beach and look forward to welcoming you back another time. Kind regards, Karen & Michael Cross, Managers

Redcliffe, Australia
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Called to booked my 23rd birthday with a few friends, I was told I couldn't book due to my age and that I would be to noisy to other guests, even though I mentioned we wouldn't be and you can discriminate against my age. I found it unfair that you refuse to let younger adults stay at your apartments, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank enyacunningham
Karen C, Owner at Dorchester on the Beach, responded to this review

It is unfortunate that you feel discriminated against Enya, we can assure you that was not our intention. However, we have to abide by the strict Body Corporate By-Laws that govern the holiday letting at the Dorchester. One of these By-Laws is a strict no party policy and we are very open about this. You were not refused a booking...

Hope Island, Australia
Reviewed 29 August 2016

What an amazing location, great people, great service, great apartment. For anybody who wants to have a great location with all the services and facilities on the Gold Coast, this is the only place to consider. We are already looking forward to our next trip back. Thanks Again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lukepatching
Karen C, Owner at Dorchester on the Beach, responded to this review

Hi Luke Wow, thank you for your super review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. It is a brilliant location right on the beach. Thank you once again. Kind regards, Karen & Michael Cross

Armadale
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Lovely place great views and Karen look after us and was wonderful. Rooms were nice and clean and very handy to both surfer's and boardbeach. Also close to the surf club which had great meals and also great views. Will be coming back to stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leigh C
Karen C, Owner at Dorchester on the Beach, responded to this review

Hi Leigh C, thank you for choosing to come and stay at Dorchester on the Beach. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and also enjoyed all there is to do down here. We look forward to spoiling you and your family again. Kind regards, Karen & Michael Cross

Montville, Australia
Reviewed 7 August 2016

From the moment we arrived we felt we had made a perfect choice for our short stay at the Gold Coast. The location is perfect, right on the beach, with unbeatable views. The service was second to none. Karen and Michael were so welcoming, and they made the stay even more special with their friendliness and eagerness to provide information...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo_Narrows
Karen C, Owner at Dorchester on the Beach, responded to this review

Hi Jo, thank you for your fantastic review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay on the Gold Coast. The views and location really are fantastic. We are very humble by your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back another time. Perfect guests make it easy to be perfect hosts. Kind regards, Karen & Michael Cross

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 7 August 2016

My husband and I stayed here on our wedding night and the resort is absolutely stunning. It's very well located, central to everything and literally right on the beach. We stayed in one of the renovated apartments and it was fantastic, very spacious, well laid out and everything you need is provided. Michael and Karen are great hosts. They are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stef_C16
Karen C, Owner at Dorchester on the Beach, responded to this review

Hi Stef_C16 Thank you for your wonderful review and congratulations once again! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back another time. Wishing you great happiness in your new life together! Kind regards, Karen & Michael Cross

Reviewed 30 July 2016

We had a great apartment on the 8th floor with fantastic beach views. It contained everything we needed and was clean and well presented. It slept us 5 ladies comfortably. Hosts Michael & Karen were super friendly and were very helpful with local information and helped with booking taxis etc. Being onsite managers, they were always there if needed. I'd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
Karen C, Owner at Dorchester on the Beach, responded to this review

Hi Julie M We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed staying in apartment 16. We know you had a great time visiting all the Gold Coast's best attractions and dinner spots. We look forward to welcoming you back another time. Thank you for the awesome review. Kind regards, Karen & Michael Cross, Managers

Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

We have just had a week staying at the Dorchester in room 21 on the 10 floor and found this apartment excellent, views were brilliant from every window , it was spotless when we arrived , it was very spacious and very nicely renovated , and extremely comfortable and perfectly placed on the beach , just as it says it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
Karen C, Owner at Dorchester on the Beach, responded to this review

Hi Greg M and family Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very grateful to have families like yours come and stay and delighted to hear you enjoyed all the activities on the Gold Coast. Thank you for your very kind words. Michael and I love serving our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back another time. Kind...

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 11 July 2016

An amazing place to stay on the coast. Can not beat the unblocked view of the ocean, Karen and Michael were very helpful and friendly. Can not wait to stay again! Located essentially between surfers and broadbeach, easy walk to both.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlee Y
Karen C, Owner at Dorchester on the Beach, responded to this review

Hi Carlee Y, thank you for your awesome review. It was great to have you stay and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Karen & Michael Cross, Managers

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.3 km away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,880 reviews
0.4 km away
The Breakers
The Breakers
#6 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
277 reviews
1.2 km away
Paradise Centre Apartments
Paradise Centre Apartments
#4 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Berkeley on the Beach
Berkeley on the Beach
#16 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
88 reviews
0.5 km away
Artique Surfers Paradise
Artique Surfers Paradise
#1 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
1,322 reviews
0.2 km away
Mantra Wings
Mantra Wings
#3 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dorchester on the Beach is a perfect location for a 4 1/2 star family holiday. Absolute beach front Surfers Paradise, no roads to cross, spacious three bedroom deluxe or standard apartments and only two apartments per floor. Enjoy stunning beach and Gold Coast views, heated swimming pool, free Foxtel, free WiFi, lift, tour desk and secure undercover parking for one car. Apartments are self catered and close to all amenities. The Dorchester is a family hi-rise and does not cater for groups of singles. No Parties Policy! Open your own private secure beach front gate and feel the sand between your toes on Surfers Paradise beach. No roads to cross! 100 metres north is Northcliffe Surf Club and their patrolled swim/surf area. A leisurely 10 minute walk north brings you to Cavil Avenue, the heart of Surfers Paradise. Walk 15 minutes south and you are in trendy Broadbeach with a great selection of restaurants, Jupiters Casino, Pacific Fair Shopping Centre and the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre. Dorchester on the Beach is close to all transportation with direct pick up and drop off for Gold Coast and Brisbane Airport transfers, taxis, tours and other activities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dorchester on the Beach

Address: Dorchester 3-7 Garfield Tce, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Price Range: €117 - €311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorchester on the Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorchester on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorchester On The Beach Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dorchester on the Beach staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Dorchester on the Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Aware the headroom of carpark. Hyundai Imax is unwelcome coz its too high.”
大飛哥, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Call Karen or Mike directly if you have any questions. Apartments range from high end to some less updated. Call for details”
jeffreysP1061BS, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get one of the apartments that have been done up if you can”
D5626ETjohnw, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The higher the floor the better”
Tom_Masters, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 16 on 8th floor - great beach/sea views looking up to Surfers Paradise...”
C7627NEjuliem, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5